We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
Sale Way Sale Way, Leigh WN7 4JY England
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
US$97
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/12/22
HIExpress.com
US$83
View deal
TravelocityUS$97
PricelineUS$96
AlgotelsUS$100
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (104)
Room & Suite (26)
Dining (24)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 2 hotels in Leigh
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Vending machine
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Safe
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English, Polish
465Reviews6Q+A60Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 198
  • 169
  • 57
  • 24
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Paul M wrote a review Nov 2022
2 contributions
I have stayed in many holiday inns before and every time I had an amazing experience,this evening the food was horrible.I complained to the duty manager and was told because we where on a coach trip of 45 people the budget didn’t cover better quality food and he’d pass my concern on to management.I would of thought the fact we where a coach trip and taking 25 bedrooms that we may of been treated better not good enough IAG.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Hotel Management Representative, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Hi Paul M Thank you for your feedback We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the 3 course, 2 choice menu offered to you at your recent stay at the Holiday Inn EXPRESS. Out of the 48 persons dining that evening with the group that you were part of, there was only you that complained, we understand that not everybody has the same tastes in food, hence why try to give a varied offering. A full investigation into what was allegedly said by the Duty Manager is underway, as our produce is bought from the same companies/suppliers, whether that is for groups or individual guests and is of high quality. Everybody that enters our hotel is met with the same polite, friendly and courteous welcome and all of our staff members strive to give all of our guests a great guest experience, so to suggest that you were not treated better as you were part of a group is quite hurtful, disrespectful and untrue.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Gary M wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions7 helpful votes
Stayed here a couple of times over covid, I don't know if I missed it, or it has been changed, but a truly top quality shower. Also an excellent check in by Matthew. Tried the gym this trip. Apart from the water dispenser being empty, an acceptable hotel gym, for cardio anyway. Can hotels please put towels in the gym,?
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Hotel Management Representative, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Sep 2022
Hi GaryM2082 Many thanks for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed multiple stays with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Leigh and appreciate your loyalty. Towels are provided in the changing rooms of the gym, however thanks to your feedback we have now started placing smaller hand towels within the gym. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Many Thanks
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CleethorpesGtfcfan wrote a review Aug 2022
Grimsby, United Kingdom505 contributions202 helpful votes
Best holiday inn express stayed in very good room air conditioning is working again now Breakfast much better than ordinary expresses proper fruit juice and filter coffee out of a flask and not machine hot items better than usual and good choice of baps and bread staff very friendly My late father came from Leigh and he would be proud to know that a local facility conveys such a positive impression of his home town
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Hotel Management Representative, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel
Responded 19 Aug 2022
Hi CleethorpesGtcfan Thank you so much for your amazing feedback, we are delighted to hear that you rate us as the best Holiday Inn Express and it so so nice to know that all of our hard work has been recognises. We hope we have the opportunity in welcoming you back the next time you are in the area. Many Thanks Heather Hotel Management Representative
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sarah S wrote a review Aug 2022
Plymouth, United Kingdom28 contributions31 helpful votes
Hotel was in a good location and good road access to Manchester and the M6. It is situated next to rugby ground, leisure centre and Morrisons so a very noisy area. Particularly at night, lots of teenagers riding bikes and shouting in the car park, the second night the police were called due to a fight in the car park. The breakfast was lovely and lots of choice. The staff were great and really friendly. There is a lack of plug sockets in the rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking if you can. It may be a quieter stay!
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Hotel Management Representative, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Hi 377SarahS377 Thank you for your feedback, we are happy to see that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and the hotels location. There are 4 plug sockets in the room, 2 located at the desk, 1 located under the bedside shelf and 1 on the wall next to the full length mirror. Apologies for the noise disruption, this is not a regular occurrence and hope this will not deter you from staying with us again, should you be in the area. Many Thanks Heather Hotel Management Representative
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Geoff H wrote a review Jul 2022
19 contributions17 helpful votes
Stayed two nights (25/26th July). We have stayed here on numerous occasions in the past and will do again. The staff are always pleasant and helpful. There was a good choice of hot and cold food for breakfast, which was all self-service. Breakfast room was clean with staff clearing and cleaning tables quickly. We didn’t eat here in the evening this time, but have in the past. Food was always good, but choice is limited, but this has never been a problem for us. The room was clean, and spacious with a shower over the bath, and shower gel/shampoo. I’m sure they have rooms with a walk-in shower as well. Our room was on the front of the hotel overlooking the car park, which is our usual choice. We think it is good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Hotel Management Representative, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Aug 2022
Hi GeoffMH Many thanks for taking the time to leave your lovely feedback. We always strive to give our guests the best guest experience possible, it is so nice to see that all the training and hard work of the team members have been recognised. We look forward to seeing you again soon Kindest Regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Miss Fellows F wrote a review Jul 2022
Redcar, United Kingdom1 contribution
Traveling with my mum on a coach trip. Hotel was modern and spotless. Very friendly staff, nothing was too much trouble. Beds were very comfy and en suites with powerful drencher shower. Will stay again if in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Hotel Management Representative, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Hi Scoresby1974 Many thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and your wonderful comments, i will be sure to pass them on to all of our team members within the hotel. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area. Many Thanks Heather Hotel Management Representative
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SquashyG wrote a review Jul 2022
Dunfermline, United Kingdom110 contributions27 helpful votes
Easy check in. Nice reception/bar and casual dining area. Room average. A/C not available, bathroom unclean. Pillow like a brick. Unable to keep window over to compensate for lack of A/C due to cars doing 'donuts' in car park. Buffet breakfast average. Overcooked sausage. Lack of usual ingredients for full breakfast.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Hotel Management Representative, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel
Responded 25 Jul 2022
Hi SquashyG Thank you for your feedback. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience, however i would just like to add that i have checked with the Accommodation Manager to see who cleaned the room and also with the supervisor that checked the room and both passed with flying colours our rigorous inspection, there is a pillow menu in every guest room, meaning there are 1 soft pillow and 1 firm pillow per guest available within the room, maybe this is just down to your personal preference. Please accept our sincere apologies for the AC not being available in your room, we are in the process of having the whole system replaced and you should have been made aware of this at check in, there are fans provided. Having viewed several hours of CCTV i am unable to see any cars Doing "donuts" in the car park so i am at a loss to understand what it is that you may of heard. As with all of the Holiday Inn EXPRESS Brands breakfast comprises of 4 hot items, generally, sausage, bacon, scrambled eggs and beans, as well as a varied continental offering this is set by our Brand Owners, again i think the colour of the sausages is a personal preference. Hopefully we will see you again soon Many Thanks Heather Hotel Management Representative
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Loz wrote a review May 2022
1 contribution
Positive feedback 1. clean rooms (apart from ear wig in bathroom) 2. Parking great 3. Friendly and helpful staff 2 Spacious rooms 3 Decent hair dryer negative feedback 1. Booked last minute standard room and selected double room but informed when arrived that only twin room available and that’s what standard room meant! Probably wouldn’t have booked if I’d known that! 2. Ear wig in bathroom 3. Door Key card didn’t work on first attempt (why does this still happen!) especially when you have loads of luggage! 4. TV a bit temperamental 5. Traffic pretty bad at rush hour Probably wouldn’t stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Hotel Management Representative, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Hi 537lorrainet Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. . Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our brand to improve the guest experience.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stemurphy wrote a review May 2022
Grantham, United Kingdom23 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Interesting location near to a football club and a Morrissons. A game was playing but the room I was in was quiet as a mouse. Good service and friendly staff. I was a bit concerned in the morning as a coach trip of people were all at breakfast, but the staff quickly turned round the tables and were also attentive to clearing away as we went a long. Room was clean quiet and a good view on to a river and woodlands at the back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Parking is good and free. Easy drive to RHS Bridgewater
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Hotel Management Representative, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 May 2022
Hi Stemurphy Thank you for taking the time to leave a wonderful review, I am so glad to hear that you had a lovely stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Express Leigh, i will ensure your comments are relayed to all of our team members. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Linda J wrote a review Apr 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom22 contributions28 helpful votes
Can't believe some of the reviews on here. We stayed for 1 night we found the staff so professional smart and polite. The whole hotel was immaculately clean including our room and bathroom. Breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection. The only problem we had was the mattress was rock hard. We were unable to sleep because we could not get comfortable. (but that may just be us) would stay again. Very good value for money. This was our first stay here and it knocks the socks of the other 2 hotels in leigh.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Heather Hotel Management Representative, Guest Services / Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel
Responded 4 May 2022
Hi Linda J Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it is nice to know that all our hard work and training to give our guests a great guest experience is working so well. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Express Leigh the next time you are in the area.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
park inn by radisson leigh hotel leigh, leigh park inn
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Park Inn by Radisson Leigh
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandGreater ManchesterLeigh
NUMBER OF ROOMS
135
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS LEIGH - SPORTS VILLAGE, AN IHG HOTEL - UPDATED 2022 Reviews & Price Comparison (England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Pennington Flash Country Park (0.2 km), Leigh Sports Village (0.3 km), and BJ's Bingo (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Perola Do Mar, The Whistling Wren, and The Robin Hood Bar & Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness centre during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn Express Leigh - Sports Village, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Polish.