We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Te Mahia Bay Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Te Mahia Bay Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

126 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 118: English reviews
Start your review of Te Mahia Bay Resort
 Click to rate
Sausalito, California
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Loved it for the waterside location, link to water taxi and amazing hikes. The rooms are outdated but I would imagine great for large families. For couples you pay for more than you get in terms of rooms but if you want to spend all day outside it's perfect. We had a several hour hike (with amazing vistas throughout) to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sausalito123
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for four days with some work colleagues. The weather held out, luckily, so were able to travel around the area a little. We had a wonderful time and the hosts were superb. I've been lucky to have dropped in a few times since this trip, and the staff have always been welcoming and remembered me- service truly exceeds expectations.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew O
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

Thank you Andrew for your lovely comments, we are thrilled with all the repeat business that we have from clients like yourselves. We look forward to your return and finding some new adventures to see and do in the region.

Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night at Te Mahia while walking the Queen Charlotte Track. We decided to make a break here and enjoy the walk over 5 days rather than the typical 4 days. I booked a Waterfront Motel Unit at a rate of $NZ188. Te Mahia was frankly very disappointing. The location on Te Mahia Bay is scenic enough,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeremyPaul99
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

In our 25 years of fantastic experiences and thousands of awesome guests staying here at the resort with us who love Te Mahia and keep on returning, all we can say is... there are some people in life you just can't please and we certainly have absolutely no control over the weather.

Taranaki
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Without doubt this has to be the best equipped place us world travellers have ever stayed it. The absolute peace and quiet apart from the beautiful bellbirds was worth the drive to the resort. The road in is sealed with beautiful vistas around every corner. The hosts, Jann and Trevor Hook were most welcoming. Self catering wasnt a problem as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vomo2i
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

That is such awesome news that you rate us as the best equipped place that you have ever stayed. We try hard to make all our accommodation styles like home away from home with lots of personal touches and accessories in the self catering kitchens. We do hope you can visit us again soon, as it was such a pleasure...

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

We arrived from the UK here, so felt a bit jaded!!! ( We have been to NZ before, so, did stock up with grocery shopping in Nelson). The room was great, it had a lovely sea view, and the ability to cook is wonderful!!. Very well set out rooms. The Owners are very helpful with what to do and where...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 782DebbieW782
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

Yes that UK trip is always a long haul, but we are so glad that you were able to relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings at Te Mahia Bay Resort for a few days. We look forward to your return visit so we can share the many more wonderful things that the Kenepuru Sound has to offer.

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

What a lovely accomodation after days and days on the QCT! We started with rainy weather and freezing temperatures but this gem in the Malborough Sounds made up for everything! Staff was super friendly, rooms very clean and the view amazing! We went for a swim to cool off. Highly recommend it and it is worth every penny!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 March 2017

We wish we could have stayed longer. The Queen Charlotte drive of the Marlborough Sound suggested we were in for something special and we were not disappointed. Charming, secluded tranquility with stunning views from the bed of our spacious room with all necessary BnB amenities. You can leave your car parked and find plenty to do here; on land, with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ritajeff
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

We wished you could have stayed longer too, as you were delightful clients and a pleasure to have at the resort. The Kenepuru Sound has so much to offer, both on and off the water and we are happy to assist with any plans and bookings to help our clients get out and enjoy these experiences. We hope on your...

Stuttgart, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Reviewed 14 March 2017

It takes a while to get there but it is worth it. Book the Seaview Apartment and enjoy a spacious and comfortable accomodation with a perfect view of the bay. You will even have a complete kitchen, a BBQ and your own washing machine and tumble dryer. The hosts are very friendly and provide you with detailed information regarding options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Friedemann S
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are so glad the scenic route led you to our magical spot at Te Mahia. We take pride in our beautiful apartments and their location so close to the waters edge and all the conveniences like a home away from home. Safe travels for the rest of your journey and we look forward to hosting you again some time...

Blenheim
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

We had visited for a wedding and even though the weather was terrible Te Mahia is a beautiful bay for relaxing and getting away from the city. Since arriving on Friday we were welcome by Jann and Trevor the owners and shown to our room. What a view from the room! Our room is in need of a renovation however...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xlaurzx
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased that your stay at Te Mahia was wonderful and yes the views are still amazing even with the inclement weather. They say rain on a wedding day is supposed to bring you good luck! We do hope you can come back and visit again soon.

Fayetteville, Arkansas
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We were delighted with the one bedroom cottage at Te Mahia. We had sea views from our bedroom and living area, and tropical forest views from the kitchen. The full kitchen was fully-equipped -- everything we needed for three wonderful nights of cooking in after hiking. The shower was large, the toiletries very nice, and we had a washer and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophia818
Trevorhook, Owner at Te Mahia Bay Resort, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful stay at Te Mahia, we do hope that you will be able to visit us again at some stage in the future. We like to think that our well equipped kitchens make you feel as though it is a home away from home, so thank you for your lovely comments.

69 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Mahia
5.8 km away
The Portage Resort Hotel
2.5 km away
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
15.4 km away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
8.7 km away
Picton Beachcomber Inn
Picton Beachcomber Inn
#6 of 16 in Picton
242 reviews
4.4 km away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#5 of 82 in Marlborough Region
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Te Mahia Bay Resort- …” The Place of a Special Happening”… Take the time to savour those special moments that only happen at Te Mahia. Naturally Beautiful…Te Mahia is nestled in the most picturesque secluded bay in the Marlborough Sounds. The perfect place for swimming and other water based activities which include boat launching and moorings as well as kayak hire for our guests.Jann & Trevor offer you a choice of Luxury Seaview Apartments, Spacious Waterfront Motels or Gracious Heritage Units. All of our accommodation styles are fully self catering, specializing in those added personal touches which make us truly unique.We have the pleasure of offering you: A small store for your grocery needs, an on-license for your beverage requirements, a selection of Delectable Frozen Gourmet Meals,Stone Grilled Pizzas,a selection of wonderful coffees and cakes and a delightful array of gift items.Easy access to the Queen Charlotte Track and other scenic bush walks, allow yourself the luxury of time to drift off to sleep with the lapping of the waves and then wake up to the magical call of our resident native birds. Traveling is a breeze… only one hours drive from Picton or 1 1/2 hours from Blenheim, or a convenient 15 mins by water taxi from Picton.Relax in the beautiful peaceful atmosphere at Te Mahia, where we have established beautiful gardens and quaint outdoor barbeque areas for your convenience. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Te Mahia Bay Resort

Address: Marlborough Sounds | Kenepuru Sound, Te Mahia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Te Mahia
Price Range: €106 - €132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Te Mahia Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Te Mahia Bay Hotel Picton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Te Mahia Bay Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any, they are all fabulous!”
vomo2i, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask the Owners, as rooms were built at different times. Having a view was great!”
782DebbieW782, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“all rooms have equally fantastic views!”
ritajeff, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The Seaview Apartments are fantatastic”
FriedemannS_13, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Seaview apartments for really modern facilities and oceanfront rooms for bay views.”
GrantP869, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5