We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Surfside on Lake Superior

Show Prices
#3 of 4 Hotels in Tofte
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Surfside on Lake Superior
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

109 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Surfside on Lake Superior
See the most recent reviews
Showing 109: English reviews
Chanhassen, Minnesota
Reviewed 8 April 2016 via mobile

We had a great time staying at Surfside so much so my wife is looking into purchasing. The accommodations exceeded expectations. Expecting my in laws to join us we decided to try Surfside for a bit more room versus our mainstay Bluefin Bay when visiting the north shore. Surfside offered 3 levels of living space all with fantastic views of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PJ W
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 March 2016

We love going up to the north shore and unwinding and relaxing and Surfside is the perfect destination. The warm and inviting fireplace, vaulted ceilings with great lake views. Relaxing in the jacuzzi tub listening to water hitting the rocks. Just a very relaxing place to spend some down time.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mnwild2015
Cold Spring, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 February 2016

This was a perfect destination to gather with our family and celebrate Valentine's Day and Presidents day long weekend, celebrate a family member's birthday, along with having friends enjoy their first experience at Surfside on Superior. Our friends ended up booking a stay later in the year. The accommodations were exceptional and we experienced the spa one morning. After several...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emk401
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Another wonderful stay at Surfside- this is our 4th stay and we have never been disappointed. From check-in, to the property itself, to the wonderful views- our stays have always been a wonderful peaceful, quiet retreat. The Surfside townhomes are spacious 3 level retreats- the top level 2 bedroom unit has wonderful vaulted ceilings with lakeside breathtaking views that allow...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grch
toledo
Reviewed 12 November 2015

This was our first time at Surfside, though we have been visiting the North Shore in early November for several years. Our past accommodations have always been very nice, but the Surfside upper unit A definitely had the most and the best views of the lake and shore that I've seen. The living room windows are huge, the dining room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ToledoMisspeaches
Spirit Lake, Iowa
Reviewed 29 October 2015

The Surfside property itself was wonderful however our reservation was inaccurate. On the website they list a three night minimum stay. Unfortunately, I called to make the reservation as I specifically wanted an end unit. I requested a three night stay and was given a confirmation number. On our third day there we drove several hours South and received a...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank TheSchnells
BluefinGM, Manager at Surfside on Lake Superior, responded to this review

This reservation was made for two nights, even though there was a 3 night minimum that weekend, because there was only an opening for two nights available in that unit. An e-mail confirmation was sent confirming the same. We contacted the guest via cell phone while they were hiking and told them that we had no choice, but to move...

Savage, Minnesota
Reviewed 27 October 2015

My family has taken several trips to Surfside over the past several years as it's our favorite place on the north shore. We stayed in Unit 9 which has beautiful views of the bay and rocky shoreline. We had amazing weather for October. The one day it rained for a few minutes was followed by a brilliant rainbow stretching across...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
Reviewed 11 October 2015 via mobile

We celebrated our anniversary over the first weekend in October. We love Surfside, and the fall foliage on the North Shore made it even better. To top it off, it was windy, so we we got to see some really good waves! Sunday brunch at the Waves of Superior Cafe was excellent. We're already looking forward to our next visit!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank usable_stuff
Rochester, Minnesota
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We arrived for our fifth stay at Surfside on 9/27/15. To our disappointment when we got to our condo the floors had food, dirt, sand and white lint everywhere. We promptly went back to the check in desk and told Dan what we found, explaining that we had the same thing when we stayed in Sept. of 2014. After waiting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lori H
BluefinGM, Guest Relations Manager at Surfside on Lake Superior, responded to this review

Thank you for your review alerting us to the issues you have experienced during your recent stay with us at Surfside on Lake Superior. We pride ourselves on responding to customers' concerns very quickly, so what you have experienced is inexcusable. Recently our summer staff, consisting of about 25 International Students, left to go back home to attend school or...

New Brighton, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We arrived in the rain last Thursday and were able to check in early so that was a plus. We stayed three nights and didn't see the sun at the lake but hiking inland brought some sunshine. The Fall colors were slower this year so we weren't there at peak as in years past. The room was nice and food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cindy6074

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (77)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tofte
0.0 km away
Lutsen Resort on Lake Superior
0.0 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Tofte - Lake Superior
0.0 km away
Cove Point Lodge
Cove Point Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Bay
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Plus Superior Inn & Suites
0.0 km away
Grand Superior Lodge
Grand Superior Lodge
#3 of 6 in Two Harbors
442 reviews
0.0 km away
Superior Shores Resort
Superior Shores Resort
#4 of 6 in Two Harbors
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the Lutsen/Tofte area, just a three-and-a-half-hour drive from the Twin Cities. Surfside on Lake Superior™ is set against the backdrop of the Sawtooth Mountains, surrounded by Lake Superior and the magnificent Superior National Forest. Surfside combines all the comforts of a luxury vacation on the North Shore, with the rewards and benefits of owning a second home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Surfside on Lake Superior

Address: Highway 61, Tofte, MN 55615
Region: United States > Minnesota > Tofte
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfside on Lake Superior 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Surfside on Lake Superior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside On Lake Superior Hotel Tofte
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Surfside on Lake Superior staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Surfside on Lake Superior staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Be sure to find the trail to lead you to the beach!”
  • Giant tub and comfy chairs in Master Suite
  • Master Suite bed and kitchenette
 of 5 bubbles Simbet, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Can't go wrong: they're all ON the lake.”
 of 5 bubbles F2552GMbrianm, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for end units for quiet seclusion and privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles 385chrissys, 17 Aug 2016 | Read review
“end rooms seem to have better views & south side is newer”
 of 5 bubbles sparky157, 5 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are overlooking the lake. However there is no beach.”
 of 5 bubbles 144jerryf, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay