We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Castaways Moreton Island

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bulwer
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Castaways Moreton Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Castaways Moreton Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Woolgoolga, Australia
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 in the glamping tents. We arrived early and was greeted with a smile and taken straight to our tent spacious large tents with comfy beds and a bathroom, only downfall was very dim light hard for reading, well equipped camp kitchen with everything you would need for cooking close to the tents. All...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelmummi
Reviewed 24 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great time glamping here over the weekend. Tents are clean and spacious. Love that there is an ensuite. The tents are surrounded by beautiful well manicured gardens. Big trampoline for the kids to play on. The food was delicious and the serves are generous. All the staff are so warm and welcoming. Would recommend staying here to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kingmika
Reviewed 9 July 2016

We stayed two nights without a car on the Island (car would be much better to have) - We loved the location, the safe beach for the kids to spend hours playing, fishing and just being kids. The accommodation was good and comfortable - to avoid being disappointed think of it as a permanent tented camp, rather than glamping (glamour-camping)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frenchie T
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Our family of 4 tried glamping for the first time at Castaways in Bulwer Moreton island for 2 nights. First night and we're already wishing we should havr booked our stay a bit longer. True to what their website says, it's an experience like no other. Comfy and spacious accommodation for the four of us, tidy and functional bathroom and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Felix V
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your wonderful review Felix, we're so glad you enjoyed your stay. That is a great tip for young families, the tents you're referring to would be tents 1 and 2, although tent 7 is also close to the other carpark (outside the Castaways Store). We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 1 July 2016

To be honest we weren't expecting much and Brisbane was going through a cold patch so we were anticipating a miserable time. Couldn't be more wrong. Although there isn't a lot of signage on the island generally we had no problems finding Castaways and the drive in wasn't a big challenge except for some cut-ins off the beach where a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ken a
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Hi Ken, Thanks so much for giving us your feedback on your recent Glamping experience! Sounds like you had a great Winter getaway and you managed to keep yourself warm! We look forward to seeing you again next year when you do it all again. The Moreton Island Escape Team.

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

we stayed at the glamping site. it's nice enough. bed was comfy, nice ensuite, staff are nice and helpful. it is an island, so remember that island time does apply. prices quite reasonable in the shop and cafe, considering the location. the eggs bene....excellent. due to the island being a national park , there is a serious lack of signage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brad H
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Hi Brad, Thanks so much for your review! Glamping on Moreton is a glamorous style of camping so if you're after a more resort style of accommodation it might not be for you. We like to keep it basic and encourage people to have a relaxing getaway away from the hustle and bustle. Great to hear you enjoyed the island...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 30 April 2016

Stayed here over the Labour day long weekend. The tents were good,the bed was comfortable, The food at Castaways was excellent and the prices were reasonable.Lee the cook and all the staff there were friendly and helpful. You wont get better food for the prices they have anywhere else on the island. The beach was a short walk away.There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gavinross10
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Hi Gavin, Thanks so much for your great review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and the staff were all very accommodating! We hope you come visit us again soon. The Moreton Island Escape Team

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We stayed here over Easter very well run good camp kitchen. Tents were comfortable. Great for families. Peaceful. Would go back. The only negative I would say is that it is not very well sign posted if you were a first timer like us. There is a shop close by. No power only in the camp kitchen. I would highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thank you Karen for your feedback on your recent stay. We are glad you had a peaceful and relaxing getaway as that's what Glamping is all about! It truly is the place to escape and disconnect from city life. Sorry to hear you couldn't find Castaways very easily, it can be a little tricky if you haven't visited before. I...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 March 2016 via mobile

After spending 24 days camping on morton, the staff at castaways general store put the finishing touch on the best holiday. We knew the remoteness and actually called the store prior to going over, so we knew what they had and what they could get. The staff were tremendous. The store and its supplies were perfect. The prices were perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne R
Moreton Island ... M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thank you so much Wayne for your great feedback. We are glad to hear you had such a great time Glamping at Castaways! Moreton Island is truly the place to escape the hustle and bustle of city life and as we like to call it - a digital detox! The crew at Castaways do a great job at accommodating our...

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Not great tents clean but not great, 10 min walk to the beach, kitchen area not good with very poor cooking utensil We will go to Moreton island again but will not stay here. A house across the way has just sold and there was a party there every night till 4am Thanks guys!!!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank s_hillier77
Marketing M, Guest Relations Manager at Castaways Moreton Island, responded to this review

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I'm disappointed to hear that you didn't quite enjoy your stay as we generally receive great feedback from our guests. The crew at Castaways work hard to maintain the Glamping site and facilities and it's disappointing to hear that the kitchen area wasn't kept to a high standard. We have passed on...

114 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (56)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bulwer
11.8 km away
Tangalooma Island Resort
Tangalooma Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Moreton Island
1,310 reviews
28.9 km away
Scarborough Beach Resort
Scarborough Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Scarborough
139 reviews
22.5 km away
The Gums Anchorage
The Gums Anchorage
#7 of 9 in Bribie Island
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 km away
On the Beach Resort
On the Beach Resort
#1 of 3 in Bribie Island
78 reviews
16.5 km away
Fairways Golf & Beach Retreat
36.5 km away
Sea Shanties
Sea Shanties
#1 of 1 in Amity
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
If you love the idea of getting out into the great outdoors but can't stand the creepy crawlies, sandy bed or thought of needing a shovel to go to the toilet, glamping's probably the answer! We've got 9 beautifully furnished tents, complete with a queen size bed, private ensuite and veranda overlooking the giant Moreton Melaleuca trees. When you're glamping, there's no tent to pitch, no sleeping bag to unroll, no fire to build! Glamping is a way to experience the great outdoors without sacrificing luxury. The beach is just a short stroll from your front door (well, tent flap), you can grab a meal at the on-site cafe, cook on the communal barbie in the camp kitchen or just put your feet up and enjoy a glass of wine knowing you're not facing another night of sleeping on a half inflated blow-up! We have a mixture of 2 person and 4 person tents nestled amongst the giant Melaleuca trees of Moreton Island, with pristine beaches 100 metres from your door. A Glamp kitchen is also available for our guests to use, including tea & coffee making facilities & Barbeques. If you are bringing your own 4WD vehicle, Bulwer is a short drive to the Cape Moreton Lighthouse (see the whales in season)Champagne Rock Pools and Honeymoon Bay, which are some of the most spectacular sights on the Island. No 4wd? No problem, we can arrange on Island tours that include snorkelling amongst amazing amounts of beautiful fish at the wrecks and sandboarding down massive sand dunes. Castaways has an on-site restaurant so you'll never go hungry as well as a convenience store for all your holiday essentials. Moreton Island is a secret holiday paradise! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castaways Moreton Island

Address: 100 Moreton St, Bulwer, Moreton Island, Queensland 4025, Australia (Formerly Moreton Island Eco Lodge)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Moreton Island > Bulwer
Price Range: €24 - €179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Castaways Moreton Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“as it is glamping it is tent accommadation with ensuite. We had tent 3 which we found to be in a good spot.”
 of 5 bubbles kerryn56, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Tent #1 is near the trampoline, so if you want to be close to the kids this is a good option.”
 of 5 bubbles don11Brisbane, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Bring own water, food and games/ball for the kids”
 of 5 bubbles frenchiet2014, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Tent 6 was probably the most private. We were in Tent 5 and it was fine. Probably avoid the tent facing the firepit.”
 of 5 bubbles 164kena, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Too hard to upload photos.”
 of 5 bubbles gavinross10, 29 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5