We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee\/Minneapolis
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis
See the most recent reviews
Showing 172: English reviews
Stewartville, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2016

Booked 3 rooms for our family and friends. Each room was disgusting (dirt, bugs, blood?) Not to mention the pool area and pools with hair floating in them. My 6 year old feel through the pull out bed and bumped his head. Tried for 1 week to contact the hotel manager. They said this did not warrant any refund of... More 

Helpful?
Thank ryaneastman
Rich A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review

I am sorry your expeariance was less than desirable here at america s best value inn and suites , we are renovating the property and hope your next experiance is more enjoyable , agin thank you for your review More 

Montevideo, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2016

The pictures and descriptions are not quite accurate. We had to change rooms because our first on smelled. The .2 mile walk to Canterbury Downs is more like a mile without a sidewalk. The staff was not very knowledgeable about the area either.

Helpful?
Thank mmstueck
Rich A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review

Thank you for your review , I hope we can make your next stay with us more enjoyable . More 

Travellers are raving about these Shakopee hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016

This hotel looks nothing like the pictures on the site. It is VERY run down and in need of a major overhaul. In our room the wallpaper was peeling, the floors were stained and dirty, and it had a musty, wet smell. The floor lamp and the alarm clock in our room did not work at all. The air unit... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy N
Rich A, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis, responded to this review

We hope that you stay agin at america s best value in the next time your in a need of a nights lodging in shakopee mn , our keys are only jacketed not activated untill check in ,hopethis relieves some of your concerns of security . Renovations to come . More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016

Booked 2 rooms, a suite and a regular room. The suite had 2 phones which neither worked. Used my cell phone to contact the front desk. Indifferent. Air conditioner didn't work, reported 3 times, was told they would come check it. Never did. Sleep sofa was awful. The whole room was a big disappointment.

Helpful?
Thank Larie W
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

When I checked in I was overcharged $30. I went back to the front desk with my email confirmation of what I was quoted (including taxes & fees). The first receptionist said sorry but this is what the computer says so that is our price. After stating that it wasn't right another desk clerk credited me the difference. Long wait... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer R
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2016

For the price I paid at this hotel, I would've expected much more. I've paid half as much and stayed in nicer places. Pullout mattress was really bad, didn't provide sheets or a blanket for it. No light above the bathroom mirror, so I had to shave in the dark. The soda machine on 2nd floor was missing. The one... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

The front desk could care less about trying to accommodate us on July 29th. The bathroom in 246 had mold on the wall and the tub was flithy. Not one of my party would take a shower or bath in the tub. When we told the front desk about it , it was met with indifference. They knew the condition... More 

Helpful?
Thank JOE E
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel may be worth it for around $50. I paid $122 for a room. The room was outdated and not as pictured online. My room stated I would have a balcony but instead I had a window with a tree blocking the entire window. The room was 50 degrees when we arrived. I went down to the front desk... More 

Helpful?
Thank Felicia G
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Way a nice place to stay. Pool is awesome! Breakfast was a great variety. Our room had sleep number beds. Very nice. Affordable place to stay in a great central location. We are staying agai. On a month.

Helpful?
Thank Anna S
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed there in June and accidently left my jewelry in the room. I've been calling for weeks trying to get ahold of housekeeping. Left voice-mails, emails, spoke to the front desk and I'm always promised a call back. Not one call. It's my fault for leaving it, but I just wish someone would at least answer one of my calls... More 

Helpful?
Thank Crystal A

66 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shakopee
0.2 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Shakopee - Canterbury Park
2.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Minneapolis/Shakopee
0.5 km away
Hampton Inn Minneapolis/Shakopee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minneapolis SW - Shakopee
3.6 km away
Valley Inn Shakopee
Valley Inn Shakopee
#6 of 12 in Shakopee
25 reviews
14.5 km away
LivINN Hotel Minneapolis South / Burnsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis

Address: 1244 Canterbury Road, Shakopee, MN 55379 (Formerly Lexington Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis)
Region: United States > Minnesota > Shakopee
Price Range: €72 - €114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Hotel Shakopee
Americas Best Value Inn And Suites
Canterbury Hotel Shakopee
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Minneapolis, Minnesota

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Shakopee/Minneapolis staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Clarify your room location as we had an "interior suite"...meaning no windows....like a prison.”
 of 5 bubbles 217kerris, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Our room's A/C unit did not cool the room down very well.”
 of 5 bubbles N3149UOjimh, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jlttks111, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are supposed to be all non-smoking, could definitely smell smoke in the rooms and the hallways.”
 of 5 bubbles klemetson, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose rooms by the swimming pool, the second floor rooms were not too bad.”
 of 5 bubbles Jennyvanburik, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay