We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

299 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 296: English reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a must if you are going to attend any event at the excel energy center, the River center, the science museum, or any other place downtown St. Paul. Just park your car in the convenient parking garage, and you can walk anywhere you need to go! Great in house full service tavern that serves breakfast also. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott N
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

We really can't hear "this hotel is a must" often enough, so thank you very much for your kind compliments, Scott N! We're thrilled to hear that you had a great stay, and we'll be looking forward to having you back sooner than later. Happy travels until then!

Thunder Bay, Ontario
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I would like to let everyone that this is a great hotel to say at. The staff and workers are very friendly and very helpful. We went down for an nhl hockey game and we're travelling with are 4 year old son. We asked the hotel if they could move one of the bed up against the wall so are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Travelling_Buddies
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you so much, Travelling_Buddies! We always like to hear when we're able to meet our goal of providing a great guest experience. It's our pleasure to have been able to help make your and your child's stay as comfortable as possible! We hope that you had a great time at the Wild game, and we will hope to have...

guthrie center
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We have been staying here for several years, 2 or 3 times each year. Its easy to get to from I35East. The staff at the front desk is always friendly no matter what hour of day or night that we arrive at the hotel. They have a ramp for parking for their customers, with a nominal charge. Parking in downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave l
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you, dave l! We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stays with us in the past, and we will be thrilled to have you back again in the future! We really appreciate your kind compliments about our clean and comfortable guestrooms, convenient parking and location, and friendly and helpful staff. It'll be our pleasure to see...

Reviewed 19 October 2016

Awesome location, good food, friendly service! The pool was clean. Jacuzzi was great! Relatively quiet for such a busy area! We would definitely stay here again! Close to a beautiful river walk! Lots f bars and restaurants within walking distance.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynn L
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you very much, Lynn! We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn St. Paul Downtown! We do our best to provide an exceptional experience, and we really appreciate hearing that we succeeded! We will look forward to seeing you again the next time you're staying in town!

Madison
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

When we visit the twin cities we like to find a hotel near our event that includes parking. This hotel charges you for parking in a ramp that appears to be part of the hotel. Our car was broke into during the night and completely ransacked. Hotel response: sorry but it's not our ramp. I dread going to the cities...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherri F
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Sherri F, Thank you for letting us know about your stay. I'm very sorry to hear about your vehicle and apologize if we did not assist you adequately with this. While we do not own the adjacent parking ramp, we are more than happy to help guests with anything we are able. Please feel free to call us at...

Wahpeton, North Dakota, United States
Reviewed 13 October 2016

I stayed at this hotel while in town for the Twin Cities Marathon and this location was amazing. It is close to various bars and restaurants as well as having an Irish pub right in the lobby area. The room was clean and update. The service was great. The hot tub was large and clean. I would stay here again...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracy Olson B
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of our property here at the Holiday Inn St. Paul Downtown! We're thrilled to hear that you found a lot to love while you were with us, including an "amazing" location, great service, and other excellent amenities! We hope you had a wonderful time at the marathon, and we will hope to see you again...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Having never been to St. Paul, we chose this hotel due to proximity to the RiverCentre. Quiet location, easy access to arena and restaurants. Rooms and amenities were comparable to most HI. Pool was very small, but clean. The onsite restaurant, which is an Irish Pub was probably our biggest disappointment. Especially since we were there for an Irish Dance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tanya4
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi tanya4, Thank you for your review of our property! We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location near a variety of St. Paul destinations, attractions, and restaurants. We're also happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our on-site pool area and generally clean hotel. We hope that you will try The Liffey again during your...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Stayed here while the Ryder Cup was on. St Paul fairly quiet after Chicago but the hotel shuttle really useful, took us shopping in Grand Avenue and to the paddle boat ride, and picked us up again.the beds here are fab, not too hard. Rooms are large, bathrooms too. Only criticism is that the decor is a drab brown, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate A
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Kate A, Thank you so much for reviewing our property! We are very appreciative of you letting us know all about your stay with us, including such positives as our convenient shuttle service, lovely attached bar and restaurant, and comfortable beds and rooms. We hope that you had a truly spectacular times at the Ryder Cup and will hope...

San Diego, California
Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stayed at the HI Downtown St. Paul for three nights in September, 2016 when we attended a wedding. The hotel is across the street from the Xcel Energy Centre, and very close to restaurants, the River Centre, St. Paul's Cathedral, and the downtown business area. The hotel itself could be described as an older building, and the rooms reflect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathleenhoverter
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi KathleenSanDiego, Thank you for your review, and we're delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us! We really appreciate that you found this to be a "nice place" complete with clean, quiet, and comfortable guestrooms, beautiful views, delicious in-house restaurant, and a nice and friendly staff. We will hope to have you back the next time...

Ciudad Mazatlán, Sinaloa, Mexico
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The nutshell: sufficient accommodations in a great location for a steep price. This was a $154 per night (excluding taxes) off-season, late September 2-night stay. Hubs and I were there for a concert in St. Paul proper, and got in late that night and had both breakfasts and one supper at the adjunct Liffey's Irish pub (see review). I expect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tamara B
spapacek, General Manager at Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown, responded to this review

Hi Tamara B, Thank you for providing such an in-depth review of our property! We really appreciate the attention to detail and the time you took in letting us know about your stay. To start off, we're very pleased to hear that you found so much to like about our property: a friendly staff, comfortable bed, "great wifi," a super...

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Paul hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Downtown St. Paul
0.9 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel St Paul Downtown
1.3 km away
Hyatt Place St Paul / Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Saint Paul Hotel
The Saint Paul Hotel
#2 of 16 in Saint Paul
694 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel 340
Hotel 340
#3 of 16 in Saint Paul
365 reviews
0.8 km away
InterContinental Saint Paul Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover all that downtown St. Paul has to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). You are in the heart of everything, business, entertainment, dining, and the arts. If you are attending a hockey game, concert or convention, you are across the street from Xcel Energy Center and The RiverCentre Convention Center. If you are visiting St. Paul on business, then you will appreciate staying within 4 blocks of Travelers, Lawson Software, Ecolab, Qwest and many more companies. Minneapolis/St. Paul International Airport, 3M's World Headquarters and the Mall of America are only minutes away. . If you are planning a family vacation, then you should stay just steps from the Science Museum of Minnesota and a short walk to the Minnesota History Center, Minnesota Children s Museum and the Ordway Center for the Performing Arts.If you want friendly, responsive service from people who care about you and appreciate your business, then you need to stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel St. Paul-Downtown (RiverCentre). And while you re here be sure to visit St. Paul s only authentic Irish Pub, The Liffey located in our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown

Address: 175 W 7th St, Saint Paul, MN 55102
Region: United States > Minnesota > Saint Paul
Price Range: €141 - €255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown Hotel Saint Paul
Holiday Inn Saint Paul
Saint Paul Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn St Paul Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Upper floors, 5+ have better views if room on the north”
 of 5 bubbles 815maryi, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“the upper floors are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles davel216, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Had a room that had a view of the parking lot. Not the best but not horrible.”
 of 5 bubbles TracyOlsonB, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Close to the Xcel Energy Centre in St. Paul.”
 of 5 bubbles kathleenhoverter, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't get a room close to the elevators. We found this noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles TamaraB307, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5