We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

University Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
University Inn
University Inn
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 254: English reviews
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I recently moved to the city and needed a place to stay while waiting for my goods to arrive. The room was perfect with an in-unit kitchen. The price was definitely right and even though it was full of college kids on NYE it was quiet. Free parking is also a great perk as is a free printer which was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 235jennifer
Management response:

Jennifer it is always great to hear how guests feel about our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the extra perks like free parking, I know that is a huge plus for me when I go on a trip. We are happy that you enjoyed your room and your in-unit kitchen and we hope that you go a lot...

Reviewed 29 December 2016

This was are first trip of many to come to the University of Minnesota Medical Center. The manage, she was so very accommodating with an early check in for my husband had tests starting at 6:00 a.m. and lasting through out the day. Staff.... everyone we met were beyond helpful, genuinely kind and they made us feel at home. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary D
Management response:

We are so happy to hear that everyone was very accommodating and kind to you both. We hope that everything went will with all of the tests and we cannot wait to see you again!! Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to give us your feedback, we really appreciate it!

Watertown, South Dakota
Reviewed 18 December 2016

Nice place. Parking was a little off, but it was a snow emergency. Clean rooms, everything i needed, plus Harry Potter was on. Wish it was a little closer to what i needed, but that's more of my mistake, not theirs. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zragefyre
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Zragefyre, I really appreciate your honest feedback! Even though we weren't as close to your desired location as you would have liked, I love hearing that you were impressed by our clean, comfortable accommodations. We can't wait to see you next time your travels bring you back to Minneapolis! Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator

Weyerhaeuser, Wisconsin
Reviewed 9 December 2016

We stayed at the University Inn while we were in town for a medical appointment at U of MN Clinics. The hotel was extremely accommodating with providing transportation to and from the clinic as well as allowing for a late check out to accommodate our schedule. Rooms were very clean and well equipped. I would definitely stay again and highly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 556deb
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Hi 556deb, Thank you for such a thoughtful review of your recent stay with us at the University Inn! I am pleased to hear that we were able to enhance your stay with the use of our complimentary shuttle service, as well as our clean and well-equipped rooms. There truly is no greater compliment. Thank you for recommending our hotel,...

Pristina, Kosovo
Reviewed 5 December 2016

I enjoyed the peace and quiet I needed, offered in all the facilities of your hotel. I want to express my gratitude that you have excellent staff who made our stay secure, good and comforting. I will definitely recommend your hotel to friends and family.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alltanekryeziu
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

alltanekryeziu, Thank you for such kind words! I truly appreciate hearing feedback about our fantastic staff, and I will make sure that they get the recognition that is due as a result of your review. A secure, comforting stay is a goal we have for each and every guest experience - we are so pleased to have been able to...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 November 2016

This was a really lovely place to stay. Rooms are simple but clean and have everything you need: toiletries, cable TV, coffee, full kitchen, wifi, hair dryer, iron and ironing board. Free 24-hour coffee in the lobby. Friendly staff. Would definitely stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amberrose83
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Hi Amberrose83, I am so pleased to hear that the University Inn was able to provide everything that you needed during your time in Minneapolis! We would love to host your next trip to the Twin Cities in order to provide you with another clean, comfortable, convenient trip. Sincerely, Stephanie Lundeen Customer Care Coordinator

Burlington, Vermont
Reviewed 14 November 2016

This is a comfortable, small, independent, non-chain lodging in a helpful location. I like that the furnishings and decor reflect and fit with the structure's mid-century origin. It's not too fancy and doesn't pretend to be something it's not, but I found the University Inn to be spotlessly clean, thoughtfully outfitted, comfortable, friendly, and a very good value. Loved having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 19Alan65
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

19Alan65 - Thank you so much for the great feedback. Not only does your review favor the essence that we hope to project as a hotel, but it also gives great detail as to why you had such a positive experience. I love that you enjoyed the location, cleanliness, value, and service at the University Inn. I will pass on...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 9 November 2016

While this is a great location if you have plans near U of M (I did), it is a bit overpriced for the quality of the accommodations. The room was clean but uninspiring with a distinct "this was once an apartment" feel. Cinder-block walls, old appliances, and windows that were not meant to really block out street noise led me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank knappjerome
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Hi knappjerome, Thank you for your candid review. I am sad to hear that you were not satisfied with our nightly rates. We consistently work to ensure that they are fair within our market, taking into consideration the value we place on our rooms due to recent renovations, our service level, and the location of our hotel. While the assumption...

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We stayed at the University Inn for one night while visiting U of M. Nice location, but the accommodations were very basic. Cinder block walls, small lobby, and not very friendly. No elevator. For the price we thought it was a bit disappointing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leon421
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations Leon421. While we are a basic hotel, we find that our high standards regarding customer service and cleanliness lay the groundwork for a positive experience for each of our guests. However, it sounds like we failed to do so for your visit. If there are any specific improvements...

Sioux City, Iowa
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We chose the University Inn for its proximity to campus as we were in town for a concert at Northrop Auditorium. The location was great for that. Our room was clean, and the staff was friendly. The bathroom and bed were both perfect for our needs. The only drawback was that we were on the basement level, and there was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly W
Stephanie L, Customer Care Coordinator at University Inn, responded to this review

Hi Kimberly W, I am so glad that you enjoyed your trip to Minneapolis and the Northrop Auditorium! Our location in proximity to the University of Minnesota and the U of M campus is one of our best features, so I am happy that you took advantage of that for your trip. I also love hearing that the "bathroom and...

176 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (123)
Viewed
Amenities (18)
Viewed
Studio Kitchenette Room with One Bed (33)
Viewed
Studio Kitchenette Room with Two Beds (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Minneapolis hotels
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites Minneapolis/Downtown
Downtown
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Normandy Inn & Suites
University / Dinkytown
Hampton Inn and Suites Minneapolis University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Grand Hotel Minneapolis
Millennium Hotel Minneapolis
#11 of 49 in Minneapolis
658 reviews
Downtown
Radisson Blu Minneapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly renovated hotel just 4 blocks from the University of Minnesota. All rooms feature kitchenettes and are ideal for both longer-term overnight stays. Free parking for hotel guests. ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Inn

Address: 925 4th St SE, Minneapolis, MN 55414-1944
Region: United States > Minnesota > Minneapolis > University / Dinkytown
Price Range: €108 - €158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — University Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Minneapolis
#5 Family Hotel in Minneapolis
#14 Business Hotel in Minneapolis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from University Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Sleepy Eye, Minnesota
over a year ago
Cambridge, Minnesota
over a year ago
over a year ago
Lakeland, FL
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from University Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for higher floors if you care about light, because basement rooms have small windows.”
 of 5 bubbles Amberrose83, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room that does not face the back parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles knappjerome, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay on the lower floors, as this hotel does not have a lift (it doesn't need to).”
 of 5 bubbles bangaloreabhijit, 17 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors have a/c noise when it rains!!!”
 of 5 bubbles X5701ZQvalerieh, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Call ahead to insure they have a open room”
 of 5 bubbles brads20160805, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5