We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 46: English reviews
Duluth, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend & thought it was a nice little hotel. Desk staff were courteous and helpful. Bed was comfortable & breakfast was good. Good location for exploring events and restaurants in the area. I'd happily stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annmarie G
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Hi Annmarie, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your weekend with us! I will pass along your compliments to the desk staff that you worked with. If you are looking for events to attend in town, perhaps you would enjoy attending Polar Fest, which will be happening in February! We hope to see you again soon to explore...

Reviewed 16 September 2016

Very nice service, but insistently mentioned the no smoking policy several times, while peering at us as if to be certain we were telling the truth. My husband and I deplore smoking, so this was amusing...until we got to our room. It absolutely reeked of old cigarettes, and something else I couldn't quite identify. Too chilly out to open a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Hi Karen, Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback. I apologize for the odor you experienced in your room – we do our best to eliminate any odors that we come across upon cleaning a room, but unfortunately they are not always easy to get rid of. Additionally, I am truly sorry if we mentioned the...

Gilbert Plains
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here just overnight, the place was clean and we felt very safe. There was myself, hubby and two kids. Breakfast was good and the breakfast room was immaculate. You got quite a few options for breakfast. However it was a little pricey coming in at 135.00 for the night.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TCX51114
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your recent stay with us at Americas Best Value Inn Detroit Lakes! Our goal is to provide the best stay for our guests. We’re especially glad that you liked the breakfast – it’s the most important meal of the day, and we want you to enjoy it! We do...

Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

I'm a travel nurse from out of town and this is where I've been staying the last 2 months. I can honestly say that I don't have a single complaint about this place at all. The manager/owners are absolutely wonderful and go above and beyond to accommodate and are quick to address any complaints one may have. VERY clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stefanie W
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Hi Stefanie, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We always hope to provide our guests with the best experience possible, and we are very happy that you have enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again the next time you are in town!

Brainerd, Minnesota
Reviewed 20 June 2016

My husband and I stayed at this motel for two nights, we have a motorcycle and it was rainy. The owner offered to take us wherever needed and check in was honestly the friendliest check in we have ever experienced. Breakfast had a nice selection and was well supplied. Room was clean and beds were comfortable, but what sold us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shelly L
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Shelly, We appreciate the time you took to write a review about your recent stay with us at Americas Best Value Inn Detroit Lakes. We understand that excellent customer service can take a great trip and make it even better - that is what we try to do with every guest who walks through our doors. Take care, and...

Ely, Minnesota
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Stayed here twice in the last month. Price is really good for the area. Rooms are clean and bed is comfortable. We did the breakfast once and it is on the slim side. However if watching your budget it serves the purpose. There is a Perkins next door if you want a full breakfast. We would stay here again. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elyquilter
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear elyquilter Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your stay at Americas Best Value Inn Detroit Lakes. We truly appreciate your open and honest feedback about your experience we strive to provide value with clean, affordable rooms. We look forward to your next stay.

North Dakota
Reviewed 14 February 2016

This is an old style motel that they've tried to update. It also has smoking rooms which nearly sent us over the edge at 10:00 when someone nearby was smoking. The breakfast is weak and poor selections. They do have a waffle maker but it was so crusted with the last person's waffle we didn't want to try to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NDakGirl
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear NDakGirl, Thank you very much for your sincere review of your recent stay at Americas Best Value Inn Detroit Lakes. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us, as we strive to improve with each and every stay. I greatly appreciate your feedback about our breakfast and the hotels smoking rooms. I will take your comments into consideration for improving...

Cloquet, Minnesota
Reviewed 16 January 2016

I never saw the room but my daughter stayed there. She was working at Wee Fest when she came down with the flu. She and 3 girlfriends were working and the festival and camping in a tent. I talked to her on the phone around 7 PM. She became so ill, she just laid in the tent and made multiple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Robin J, Thank you for choosing Americas Best Value Inn in Detroit Lakes and taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm glad to hear that your daughter enjoyed her stay and that we could help we take pride in catering to our guests needs. Take care and we hope to see you again soon.

Cloquet, Minnesota
Reviewed 22 December 2015 via mobile

First of all the hotel was very clean and came with all the amenities! Plus it was cheap. I got everything I needed and more. But more than that the management was incredible. They go above and beyond for customers. I would recommend a stay here for anyone! Would gladly return. The manager personally picked me up, brought me things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank akjohnson123
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Akjohnson123 Thank you for taking the time to write a review your delightful comments and compliments are well appreciated. We strive to go above and beyond to provide clean room, affordable price, and supreme customer service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay.

Willmar, Minnesota
Reviewed 9 November 2015

This Inn is under new ownership since December, 2014. My wife and I stayed here Labor Day weekend, September, 2015 and had a very nice stay. The Inn has new carpeting throughout and recent redecorating. Our room was very clean, quiet and very comfortable. We were totally satisfied with every aspect of our stay here! I returned to stay for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dincau
Paul C, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Dear Dincau, We always appreciate encouraging comments left by our guests the most important people in our world as hoteliers. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be warm and accommodating. We strive to make every stay memorable and look forward to seeing you...

21 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Detroit Lakes
4.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Detroit Lakes
4.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER The Lodge on Lake Detroit
2.8 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Detroit Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Budget Host Inn
Budget Host Inn
#6 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
20 reviews
3.7 km away
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
Holiday Inn Detroit Lakes
#4 of 9 in Detroit Lakes
171 reviews
36.3 km away
AmericInn Hotel & Suites Hawley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 400 Morrow Ave, Hwy 10 & US 59, Detroit Lakes, MN 56501-2212
Region: United States > Minnesota > Detroit Lakes
Price Range: €55 - €105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Americas Best Value Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“May wish to look at offered room before settling in, ours reeked of smoke”
 of 5 bubbles karenjT5827YO, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Owner will go out of his way to accommodate any special requests.”
 of 5 bubbles ShellyL719, 20 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Paul and his wife will give you great advice. We had a corner room and would recommend it.”
 of 5 bubbles beckyl756, 13 Oct 2015 | Read review
“We had the room at the top of the stairs - very convenient.”
 of 5 bubbles paulacU4037MU, 17 Aug 2015 | Read review
“resturant and gas right next door”
 of 5 bubbles margaretw422, 29 May 2012 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay