We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

417 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 417: English reviews
Start your review of Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel
 Click to rate
Bemidji,MN
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in a suite with 2 beds and a couch. We reserved a suite so we had to stay in the old part of the hotel wich meant the room needed new carpet. The wifi in our room was very poor. I called the front desk to ask where I should go for a better signal but the gentleman...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickey915
ELKO, MN
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here in December. We love this place as far as the casino and restaurant. The pool area is a little dark and dingy but the kids didn't mind. The room was pretty bad. The carpet had stains all over that we started giving each spot a name. I wouldn't touch that carpet with my bear feet or even socks....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank unteymed
Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

I had so much fun! The casino is awesome...the breakfast buffet is unbelievable....so many different varieties! The only thing was the toilet was a little dirty in our room. But everyone has off days.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SuiteTravels
Management response:

Hello, and thank you for the feedback. We're glad that you had a nice time, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Maple Grove, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

We have a baby shower in Duluth so my Mom, sisters and I decide to take advantage of the time away to spend the weekend in the area. Mom chose Black Bear because she has been here before and could get a free room. Strike 1: I've always said "nothing is free" and my point was proven. As we check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean9216
Management response:

Hello Jean, We are terribly sorry to hear about your experience with us. We are currently in the process of purchasing new lobby furniture, which we are very excited about. We also have refrigerators and microwaves available upon request at the Front Desk for your convenience. If you are staying here and playing here, we will make sure that you...

Silver Bay, Mn
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Our room is always so clean. We love the glass tile in the bathrooms and the beds are so comfortable. This last time there were many new slot machines. We did find a few we really enjoyed and will try again next time, but still have a place for the old ones like Zeus II. Prices seem to be going...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gary S
Management response:

Hello Gary, Thank you so much for your positive feedback regarding your experience with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice time, and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 19 January 2017

Just spent 3 days at christmas with family enjoyed free rooms and food Won money even Then comes january no free rooms on weekends only do weekends one buffet was going to book weekend in jan. rooms are priced to demand since travelling from canada another 45 min. to hinckley for free room is no big deal which we did

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank judytienhaara
Management response:

Hello Judy, We are disappointed to hear that we lost your business. These changes were made with our guests in mind, and comps are simply based off of your current gaming activity. In turn, we have added new activities such as: The Dr. Rock Variety Show in the Cobalt on Thursdays, and new promotions such as: Match for Cash, Cruise...

Cloquet, Minnesota
Reviewed 18 January 2017

I have stayed here many times, always in the Tower. I found the rooms to be very clean and quiet. I was surprised that the TV's seem a bit small considering the size of the room and the fact there is not an ice machine on every floor. They have a great breakfast buffet, although starting January 1st the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sherryprovine
Management response:

Hello Sherry, thank you for the compliments regarding your room cleanliness (we work very hard to provide you with the best stay). We appreciate your notes on the television size and the ice machine locations as well, as it is important to that we hear these complaints so we can take them into consideration. Regarding the buffet, please note that...

Prairie du Chien, Wisconsin
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Ate at the buffet maybe three different times. The quality of the food is just okay. Long wait times if you hit it around six pm. I thought for the price that the food items would have been higher quality. Had the roast beef one night and it was rather tough. I would still eat there only because there aren't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank seedanny1
Management response:

Hello, we appreciate your feedback regarding your experience here, and we value your opinion. In comparison to other buffets, we are very competitive and average in pricing, and we pride ourselves in offering the best buffet in the state, with our daily themes (Gourmet Chefs Choice, Northland Fare, Asian, Italian, Mexican, and Seafood Thursdays and Fridays). We hope that you...

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewed 15 January 2017

We only stay here when it fits our driving itinerary for travel to the Minnesota north woods. Typical smokey Casino hotel. The rooms are supposed to be non- smoking but still have a hint of cig. Smoke. The restraunt and buffet is nothing special and lacks detail cleanliness. Staff is under trained and sometimes rude! So if you have to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keithscars
Management response:

Hello Keith, thank you for your input on your experience here. We pride ourselves on deep cleaning these hotel rooms at least twice every year, and we do our absolute best to assure that our non-smoking units remain as smoke free as possible. We are also very pleased with the fact that the buffet has been a non-smoking space for...

Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in a jacuzzi suite in the old part of the hotel. The old part is pretty, well, old. The bed is extremely hard, the sheets/pillowcases are extremely rough. The comforter was really really soft, oddly. The room was quiet, for the most part. There wasn't WiFi in our room. We could connect to it, but couldn't load anything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly B

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (11)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
0.6 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Carlton
31.9 km away
Park Point Marina Inn
Park Point Marina Inn
#2 of 33 in Duluth
455 reviews
28.7 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Duluth North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Comfort Inn West
Comfort Inn West
#11 of 33 in Duluth
338 reviews
29.0 km away
Days Inn Duluth/By Miller Hill Mall
20.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Spirit Mountain Duluth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf course
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel has your comfort in mind. Our Tower has 250 stylish rooms with all the amenities you would expect from a 1st class hotel; 32" flat screen TVs, high-speed internet access, and more. All hotel guests will enjoy our popular pool complex and arcade! Plus FREE wireless internet! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel

Address: 1785 Highway 210, Carlton, MN 55718-8161
Region: United States > Minnesota > Carlton
Price Range: €41 - €139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 408
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Carlton
Black Bear Casino Mn
Black Bear Carlton
Black Bear Casino Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
Saint Cloud, Minnesota, United States
Northern MN
over a year ago
Fergus Falls, Minnesota
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Black Bear Casino Resort Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay in the tower it's newer”
mickey915, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Reserve a room that has been remodeled.”
unteymed, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“pool rooms noisy”
judytienhaara, 19 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Tower rooms are best, ask for a floor that has an ice machine”
sherryprovine, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ALWAYS ask for a room in the tower, they are all smoke free.”
Linenminnesota, 8 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5