We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Somerset Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Somerset Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

195 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Somerset Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 183: English reviews
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We had to book this hotel very last minute, and after staying here, I am not surprised that it was the only thing available for our family. Room was spacious, but outdated. The onsite restaurant was, I hate to say, awful - had both breakfast and dinner there. Food was greasy, overpriced and nothing special. This area north of Detroit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MomOfEMM
Helena, Montana
Reviewed 19 September 2016

I'm in the middle of a 3 day stay here, and if I weren't here with on my corporate rate, I'd probably move hotels for the price. As others have said this is an extremely out dated hotel. That aside there are many places where they could improve: 1. the current pillows are lumpy and polyester - almost impossible to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PattersonBoston
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations with regard to some of our small details, but glad to know that our staff was "professional and friendly." You’ll be happy to know that we're making some updates to the items that you had concerns with. We're changing out some of our current work-out equipment...

Merrill, Oregon
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Room was dirty, wifi is very slow. The onsite restaurant is expensive for the food quality. It is very outdated. It was probably the nicest place around in the 80's. Front desk people and hosts in restaurant are not very friendly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scott M
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. Our Front Desk Staff would have gladly moved your room had we known that you were not happy with your accommodations. We also have a "hotline" (this information is in every guestroom) that connects directly to our General Manager and had you opted to use that function, I am certain that...

Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Somerset Inn because I wanted to spend the entire day at the mall and it was great! I am extremely particular and requested a very clean and quiet room . I stayed in room 813 and next time I will request the room across the hall because the only problem was that I heard all of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 99Diane
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for this very kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location, our food and our staff are some of our biggest assets. You'll be happy to learn that we are engaging in a guest room renovation early next year. Our new guest rooms are going to match the look and feel of...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The hotel attracted us due to its proximity to Summerset Collection. It has nice lobby.The room seemed clean, but bathroom was fairly dated with sticky bathtub. The noisy/old-style air conditioning woke us up in the middle of the night. We were completely exhausted from constant noise so we packed and left at about 5 am. We just did not feel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tony f
Boynton Beach, FL
Reviewed 29 July 2016

We stayed at this property for only one night when we had to make last minute reservations to stay someplace after driving all night for a death in the family. Hotels were booked solid but we were able to get a room at Somerset. This property reminds me of old school quality. You can tell it was once a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Comitis
Adrian, Michigan
Reviewed 5 July 2016

We have been staying here for family functions the last 3 years, and the staff is on top of things all the time. We always ask for 2nd floor and usually get it, really all the time. In the last month we have stayed at least 10 days, with family in connecting rooms. I could not ask for a better...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patcooper2016
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Dear patcooper2016, Fantastic!! We appreciate your thoughtful review of our Hotel; and we especially thank you for taking your time to share your experiences at the Somerset Inn. We could not ask for a more considerate guest!! We look forward to seeing you during your next visit!! Thank you for choosing our Hotel. Kind regards, The Somerset Staff

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

I've stayed here twice for business reasons and decided I should give my take on it. The hotel is dated but clean. The rooms are a good size, clean, flat screen tv, dated otherwise. The king bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom was clean and everything worked. I ate at the restaurant and tried the salmon for dinner. It was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Biztraveler2222
Poznan, Poland
Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

For me very correct price/quality ratio. Hotel easily accessible, near to shopping mall and number of restaurants. Nice breakfast, restaurant is not spectacular but quite solid. Heating noisy but is not that strange in the US :) Rooms are clean

 Report
Helpful?
Thank miguelito1968
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Dear Miguelito1968, Thank you for taking time to write a review of your experience at the Somerset Inn. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again in the near future! Kind regards, The Somerset Staff

Reviewed 17 May 2016 via mobile

As other reviewers have said, the Somerset Inn won't win awards for fabulousness. But the staff is very helpful and accommodating and the rooms are very clean. Free parking and a good location make it a perfectly serviceable place to stay in the Detroit suburbs. Excellent shopping mall very close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
SomersetTroy, Director of Sales at Somerset Inn, responded to this review

Dear NancyM, Thank you for sharing your experience at the Somerset Inn. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay, hopefully you also liked our recent public space renovation, and our extraordinary location. Please visit us again soon. Kind regards, The Somerset Staff

102 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (49)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Troy hotels
1.7 km away
Candlewood Suites Detroit - Troy
1.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Detroit Troy
2.1 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Detroit Troy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Detroit / Troy
2.4 km away
Detroit Marriott Troy
4.4 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Detroit - Troy/Auburn Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the comfort of the fresh and stylish guest rooms equipped with high speed and wireless internet, flat screen TVs, voice mail, coffee and tea makers, hairdryers, iron and boards, large work desks, dressing and make-up mirrors, marble countertops, and modern decor. Some guest rooms over-look the picturesque garden patio or the Somerset Collection mall, and others have a panoramic view of the small, but scenic, executive golf course. The Somerset Inn's own Crumpets Restaurants is a popular local eatery where local business leaders can be seen frequently. In-room dining is also available. On-site cardio room, lobby computer and a quaint but comfy lobby Bar and Grille. Located adjacent to the magnificent Somerset Collection shopping mall. Complimentary parking. 3/4 mile west of I-75 on Big Beaver in Troy, Michigan. There is no longer the pool that TripAdvisor lists incorrectly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Somerset Inn

Address: 2601 W Big Beaver Rd, Troy, MI 48084-3390
Region: United States > Michigan > Troy
Price Range: €113 - €171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Somerset Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Troy
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Somerset Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Seattle, WA
over a year ago
Nashville, Tennessee
over a year ago
Nashville, Tennessee
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Somerset Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't think the travelers make more noise than usual, I just think the doors and walls are thin.”
 of 5 bubbles rmnpoore, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was midway in the circle and a long walk from the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles MITraveler307, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor and not beside the elevators”
 of 5 bubbles barolo20162016, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Any room would do”
 of 5 bubbles shsu517, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Bring a cooler for drinks.”
 of 5 bubbles ginneee, 18 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay