We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Econo Lodge

Hotels.comUS$78*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$94*
US$78*
US$79*
US$94*
US$78*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 91: English reviews
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2015

Worn out and dirty fleabag hotel, in desperate need of a makeover....... Beds were old, base of bed was so broken they had to call someone in to fix it, tub was dirty from weak scrubbing, torn wallpaper, strange smells, green pool, filthy carpet. desperately trying to find something good to say except stay away...... Okay girl at front counter...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RichHaynes
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your two night stay. Although maintenance was called in at the guest's request for the bed, the only thing found wrong was caused by bouncing children. The beds themselves in this room were replaced just over a year ago. We will be replacing more beds in the upcoming months as...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2015

This hotel room smelled of smoke. The hotel needs many repairs, Service at check in was friendly and efficient. Do not recommend this hotel. The location is convenient for Traverse City attractions. Ll

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with our staff. As an older property, we are continuously implementing upgrades and improvements. We have several projects in the works for the upcoming months, after the wear and tear of the busy summer season.

Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

This inn was a little hard to find. Our Garmin took us into town when it was about 7 mi. outside. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was well stocked and clean. Our continental breakfast was good and included great danish. Would return here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia N
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving the staff of the Traverse City Econo Lodge an opportunity to serve you. We are pleased to hear that you were happy with your stay. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope that you will return to see us. Unfortunately because of our "M-37" address, some GPS units do have trouble locating us. One...

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 14 September 2015

It was the only available hotel that wasn't booked or way overpriced due to the wine touring events going on over the weekend. Just outside of TC so not far to get anywhere. Hotel needed updated, breakfast was just 'ok' - was told when booking they would have eggs/sausage but they did not have either. Seemed to be fairly clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K G
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. In an effort to speed up the check in process and to ensure validity, it is our policy to run credit cards the morning of arrival. The method of payment may be changed at check in....

Reviewed 31 July 2015

Advertised as an airport hotel in Traverse City, No airport shuttle, $26.00 taxi ride to the airport. Miles away from anything. No elevator, rooms and bed decent, but overpriced for the location. A couple in their 90's had requested a ground floor room only to find they had been booked on the second floor. I had to carry their bags...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron G
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay. Although I cannot determine which website the guest used, we do not advertise ourselves as an airport hotel on any site in which we control the content. We are approximately 7 miles from the airport, which is comparable to most of the other hotels in Traverse City. We monitor rates on...

La Canada Flintridge, California
Reviewed 24 July 2015 via mobile

Riding our Harley Davidson around the perimeter of the "Mitten" and the hotels in downtown Travis City were $300 and up for a Holiday Inn, so we stayed inland at an overpriced Econolodge instead. What can I say...it was an Econolodge. Room was well worn but clean and had everything we needed. It served it's purpose.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank trailbiter
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. Our desire is to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable room at an affordable price. We monitor rates on a regular basis and make an effort to keep ours among the lowest in the area. Harley riders are always welcome and we hope to see you again! We are an...

Sunrise, Florida
Reviewed 13 July 2015

It was a good price, location, and breakfast. The location was decent as well. We would go again, especially considering how good the price was along with amenities. We honestly had no complaints, everything was as it should be.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MalloryKienzle
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving the Traverse City Econo Lodge the opportunity to serve you. We are pleased that you enjoyed our breakfast and other accommodations. We hope you will be back so that we can continue to provide you with a great guest experience.

Arlington
Reviewed 11 July 2015

Shocked by the prices downtown motels were asking during the cherry festival, we resorted to an Econolodge 7 miles south of town. Not cheap, but less outrageous. Our accesible king bed room was not large ( the large bathroom took up much space) but it had fridge, microwave, and safe. Breakfast included eggs and sausage as well as the usual...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arlingtonfoodie31
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing the Traverse City Econo Lodge. We were pleased to have you as our guest. We monitor rates throughout the Grand Traverse area on a regular basis and make an effort to keep our rates among the lowest. We aim to provide our guests with a clean, comfortable room at an affordable rate. We hope to see...

Alpena, Michigan
Reviewed 26 May 2015

The price was reasonable, as Traverse City is a rather expensive tourist/vacation area. The staff was friendly, the room was clean. We did not check out the continental breakfast, but did take advantage of the pool and hot tub. We were there to be with a family member who was hospitalized at Munson Medical Center. Overall stay was satisfactory, would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Doughlady
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for giving the Traverse City Econo Lodge the opportunity to serve you during your time of distress. I am pleased to hear that you found our staff to be pleasant and our rooms to be cleaned. We feel that those are two of our top priorities. We hope that your next visit will be for fun and that...

Rudyard, Michigan
Reviewed 10 May 2015

i was told one price and was charged a different price to my card front desk lady told me that the lady that checked me in made a mistake but was not told if i did not ask for a recite i would not of known

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brian m
TCEcono, General Manager at Econo Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. The rate discrepancy involved a pet fee. As a note to future guests bringing pets, although we gladly welcome you and your dog, please contact us prior to arrival regarding your furry family member to ensure the availability of designated pet rooms and so that their fee can be properly...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (25)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Traverse City hotels
12.2 km away
Quality Inn By the Bay
Quality Inn By the Bay
#33 of 40 in Traverse City
199 reviews
5.7 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Traverse City
12.5 km away
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
Days Inn & Suites Traverse City
#34 of 40 in Traverse City
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 km away
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
Howard Johnson of Traverse City
#15 of 40 in Traverse City
768 reviews
11.7 km away
Knights Inn Traverse City
Knights Inn Traverse City
#28 of 40 in Traverse City
313 reviews
12.2 km away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Traverse City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family owned and operated. Located seven miles south of downtown Traverse City, near Interlochen, Buckley and Kingsley. Recent upgrades include: new carpet, new wallpaper, in-room coffee makers, expanded wif-fi service throughout the building, flat screen TV's in most guest rooms. All rooms are now equipped with microwaves and refrigerators. Other amenities include: free continental breakfast, indoor pool and hot tub, in-room hair dryers. Dogs accepted with permission. We have parking available for trucks, trailers, motor coaches and other large vehicles. We offer wine tour packages in cooperation with the Leelanau Peninsula Vintner's Association several times throughout the year. If you have a special need/request, please contact the hotel directly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge

Address: 1065 S M 37, Traverse City, MI 49685-8508
Region: United States > Michigan > Grand Traverse County > Traverse City
Price Range: €56 - €178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Traverse City
Traverse City Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for second floor room.”
Wanda1973, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere!”
MrWizard54, 21 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you are looking for vacation, this is not it. We left and were not sorry.”
EJJourney, 20 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a first floor room if you have mobility issues. No elevators.”
JaniceG254, 18 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Pet Friendly, Large Vehicle Area, out of town but next to some food/gas.”
harvshoney, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$78* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$79
Hotwire.comUS$78
HotelQuicklyUS$94
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates