We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Driftwood Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint Ignace
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Driftwood Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 115: English reviews
Ronceverte, West Virginia
Reviewed 6 August 2016

Wonderful location in St Ignace -- so glad I found it on the internet. Log cabin feel with wide covered porch in a one-level structure. Our queen bed room was huge. In addition to the room where the bed, table & chairs, TV, etc were, we also had a huge walk-in closet which was more than ample space to put...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cvqwv
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your comments and hope that you can return very soon. Thank you for your patronage!

Belleville, Michigan
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We have stayed at this facility before, and have had consistently pleasant stays. Not so this time. We had booked our reservation in advance and arrived after 5pm; all the rooms were occupied, save for ours. The area has been experiencing higher than normal temperatures, and we unfortunately had a room without a working air conditioner. I will say the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review

This is an unfortunate misunderstanding. I do apologize for your inconvenience and am sorry for your unsatisfactory stay. As I stated in my previous email to you I was under the impression that you were on vacation for another week and wanted to be contacted when you returned to your home, apparently this was not the case. I value all...

Reviewed 2 August 2016

Driftwood Motel was fairly easy to find. It's directly across from the ferries, so very convenient when going to Mackinac Island! Driftwood is pet friendly. We brought our 2 dogs with us for the weekend. The room was nice and the price was great! Having the restaurant right across the parking lot was nice, too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maria M
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments and for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your patronage and hope that you can visit us again soon!

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

I wasn't expecting much when my husband booked this motel for our trip to Mackinac because of the price. Boy, was I wrong! This motel exceeded my expectations. It was very clean and extremely dog friendly. My dog even got a goody bag at the beginning of our stay, which included treats, a ball and info for the nearest veterinary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stacy R
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great comments. We are always so pleased to hear from satisfied guests. Please visit again soon!

Ohio
Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

This is a real great bargain, restaurant, sports bar, and directly across from the ferry to the island. We spent two nights here and enjoyed really good meals and service at the Sports Bar. My suggestion would be to move the table and chairs outside the rooms (corner patio) to the grassy area. There are several rooms affected by late...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gmookie
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We take all of our guests suggestions seriously and have since switched to a different pillow manufacturer, so I'm hoping the next time you visit you enjoy the softer pillows! Thank you for appreciating our "real great bargain" we offer and also our "clean, convenient, and friendly staff". Please visit again soon!

Downing
Reviewed 4 July 2016

Spent a night their w/friends on a motorcycle adventure. Nice people, clean rooms and good food at the restaurant. What else could a guy ask for. Would definitely stay their again. Only thing was their were no oriental restaurants in the area so I could get my food fix.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 90hotrod
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review

We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit! " Nice people, clean rooms, and good food at the restaurant" is your comment and that is just what we are striving for! Please visit us again soon.

Lowell, Michigan
Reviewed 13 June 2016 via mobile

First time I stayed and I will definitely be back. The room had a comfortable bed, nice little table and fridge. It was a spacious room probably could have used another piece of furniture. Very clean....Had a problem with TV getting stations but would not discourage from retuning. The price was phenomenal. ...Staff friendly. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherbear6000
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your nice compliments and hope that you can visit again soon. Thank you for your patronage!

Reviewed 8 June 2016 via mobile

The entire establishment is literally gleaming, it is so clean! We stayed in a "fancy" hotel the night before last, and the Driftwood blew them away! The service, the food and convenient location to great stuff to do made our trip amazing!

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Julie D
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are so glad that your time here was satisfactory,and we hope you return!

Midland, Michigan
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We've stayed here several times over the last 5 years. It's cheap and clean. The bathroom in our room was updated which was nice. Large bathroom and closet/changing area which is good for shedding clothes especially if you're on a motorcycle (which we were) or snowmobile. Deck out front of our room with a bench so we could sit out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank labsonhurley
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased that you were happy with the cleanliness and price of our rooms and enjoyed the amenities. Thank you for your past patronage. We hope that you are able to return again soon!

Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Very much enjoyed the entire stay at the Driftwood Motel. Some friends and I were on a motorcycle trip around Lake Michigan and our last night was in St. Ignace. The Driftwood looked like the perfect place to stop for food, "beverages" and some shut-eye. Staff was excellent! Will definitely stay here again. Thank you for being so accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michiganwanderer2016
hannah2-7, Owner at Driftwood Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are always happy to hear from satisfied guests. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to be your host again in the future! Thank you for your patronage!

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint Ignace hotels
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
1.8 km away
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
Voyager Inn of Saint Ignace
#23 of 30 in Saint Ignace
104 reviews
0.3 km away
Budget Host Inn & Suites
Budget Host Inn & Suites
#2 of 30 in Saint Ignace
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Cedar Hill Lodge
Cedar Hill Lodge
#8 of 30 in Saint Ignace
199 reviews
1.9 km away
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
Quality Inn Saint Ignace
#16 of 30 in Saint Ignace
97 reviews
1.6 km away
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
Bavarian Haus Lakefront Inn
#5 of 30 in Saint Ignace
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Open year around. Directly across from ferries to Mackinac Island on Bus. Loop I-75. Our exceptionally clean, comfortable non-smoking rooms offer cable TV w/remotes, in-room refrigerators and coffeemakers, phones, all ground floor rooms, some with lake views. Pets welcome w/approval. Restaurant and Sports Bar adjacent serving breakfast, lunch, dinner, and cocktails. Come dine on our new covered patio overlooking the Straits of Mackinac and Mackinac Island. Complimentary casino shuttle and tokens. Game room and ATM on site. Located within a block of shopping district, sandy beach with picnic area, and museum. On snowmobile/ATV trails, close to ski trails and Little Bear East Ice Arena and Convention Center. NEWLY UPGRADED WIFI--STATE OF THE ART ... more   less 

Additional Information about Driftwood Motel

Address: 590 N State St, Saint Ignace, MI 49781-1458
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Saint Ignace
Price Range: €33 - €66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Saint Ignace
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Driftwood Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a waterfront room! And ask for extra pillows :)”
 of 5 bubbles lild0g, 13 Oct 2016 | Read review
“if you are coming to Trek the Mac this hotel is right by the arena where the ride ends easy access to trails for riding later”
 of 5 bubbles S9224PNmichelles, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the waterfront.”
 of 5 bubbles cvqwv, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“stood right outside our door and watched fireworks, short walk to parks & shops”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“All rooms have a view of the harbor and are large and delightful with good beds and cedar log furniture - stay here if you possibly can”
 of 5 bubbles 839iram, 11 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5