We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Quality Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 165: English reviews
Olney, Illinois
Reviewed 2 October 2016

The Newberry Quality Inn is nice little hotel in the UP of michigan. It is an older hotel but the rooms were nice and the beds were very comfortable. Interesting that they only had a hot tub and sauna and no regular pool. It was a little pricey but would stay here again while in the area.

Thank chuckie_css
Sam K, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review. We are pleased to heat that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Shelby Township
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Central for all travel in UP. Nice breakfast. Comfortable beds. Friendly staff. Rooms are clean. What more could you ask for. Parking lot is well lit making hotel easy to find if you are traveling late at night.

Thank Glamgirls123
Sam K, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for the review. We value our guest feedback and greatly appreciate your business. We hope that your travel experience was pleasant and that you will be back to our area again soon.

LaPorte, Indiana, United States
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

The owners are very friendly, take good care of the property and made our stay very comfortable. Will stay there again in future. The room were very clean and updated and felt like home for the night we stayed.

1Thank Stephanie H
Sam K, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words and the valued review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We work hard to provide a comfortable stay and pleasant experience for all of our guests. The owners are kind, compassionate, and dedicated people who take pride in their business. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and choosing to...

Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This is now a Quality Inn & Suites property and is still very nice. They have almost finished the extensive renovations that were started when we were here last year and we were very pleased with our room. The people here are always friendly and the breakfast is very good. We especially like walking across the street to the country...

Thank CalifKidRetired
Sam K, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you kindly for the great review! We are thrilled to hear that you had a comfortable & pleasant stay with us. We have been working hard on all of our renovations & upgrades and are pleased to hear that you noticed and enjoy them. We look forward to your next visit to the U.P.!

Sanford, Michigan
Reviewed 12 September 2016

It's our place to go every time we are in the UP. Nice town to visit. Room is clean comfortable and nicely decorated. Staff are friendly and helpful. It is conveniently located. We will be sure to stay here again.

Thank Dawn M
Sam K, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for being a loyal visitor to our lodging facility. We appreciate your business and are thrilled to hear you are pleased with the accommodations. We look forward to your next northern vacation!

Marysville, Michigan
Reviewed 7 September 2016

the hotel was clean and quiet,breakfast was good, there is no elevator so keep in mind if you have a 2nd floor room, hot tub was ok, there is no pool. rooms prices are a little high. overall it was a nice hotel.

Thank seeyoulater10
Sam K, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review. We greatly appreciate your business and feedback.

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We only stayed 1 night it was quite and clean. Nice to have a great breakfast. Very nice and quiet. Clean..We were there to see family. 😊 I have said enough the only complaint that they continue to ask for a more review when I feel that I wrote about it enough.

Thank Elaine B
Sam K, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying a night with us and for taking the time to leave us positive feedback. We greatly appreciate and value your comments. I hope that you also had a pleasant time visiting family and that you will be back to stay with us again real soon.

Reviewed 4 September 2016

We had a very good stay at this Inn, after finding it. The address was not in our GPS. Also, the hot tub, which we were very anxious to use at the end of a long day of traveling, was not working. This said, the inn had the conveniences we usually like, and the staff recommended a restaurant at the...

Thank JudyLitchfield
Sam K, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I am very sorry about the issue with the hot tub during your visit. We were waiting for a new boiler which has since arrived and been installed. Again I am very sorry for the inconvenience. We appreciate your business and value your feedback. Thank you kindly. We hope to see you again in...

Smoky Mountain, Tennessee
Reviewed 28 August 2016

We were so looking forward to soaking in the hot tub after a long day of driving. Got changed and went down to it and there was a sign posted on the door it wasn't working. They didn't mention that when we checked in, nor adjusted our room price. Rooms were a good size and clean. Had a couple of...

Thank Krr1975
Sam K, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

I am very sorry about the hot tub being out of order during your stay with us. The front desk staff should have made you aware of this upon checking in. We have been diligently working to fix the issue with the hot tub. Our remote location makes getting parts difficult but we intend to have the hot tub running...

Harrison Township, Michigan
Reviewed 25 August 2016

This was our first stop when we got to the U.P. We had a very nice room with a king size bed. It was very clean too! You can tell it is very well maintained. The location is perfect. They also provided us with discount coupons for appetizers at the golf club right across the street which had very good...

Thank peaccce3
Sam K, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Thanks for stopping by on your tour through the U.P.! We are overjoyed to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and great a meal at the Newberry Country Club. We value your feedback and enjoy your company. Hope to see you again soon!

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (19)
Bathroom (2)
Room/Suite (2)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Dining (1)
View from Room (1)
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (15)
Room/Suite (4)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Dining (1)
Bathroom (1)
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
23.8 km away
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
Adoba Hotel Naubinway
#1 of 2 in Naubinway
36 reviews
4.1 km away
Zellar's Village Inn
Zellar's Village Inn
#8 of 8 in Newberry
63 reviews
1.6 km away
Americas Best Value Inn - Tahquamenon Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Formerly the Comfort Inn. Now Quality Inn & Suites with the same friendly owners. Come in and check out our renovations. Stay with us and enjoy a deluxe breakfast and a relaxing soak in our large hot tub. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 13954 State Highway M28, Newberry, MI 49868-7971 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Newberry
Price Range: €86 - €126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Expedia so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Newberry
Newberry Comfort Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
East Lansing, Michigan
9 months ago
Howell, Michigan
10 months ago
Dundee, Michigan
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't forget to take your swimming wear for relax yourself in the hot tub.”
 of 5 bubbles xinghuam, 25 Oct 2016 | Read review
“No elevators, so if stairs are an issue, request a room on the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles JudyLitchfield, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Think twice”
 of 5 bubbles margieh536, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The King Suite served my family of 4 well.”
 of 5 bubbles RRM45, 7 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were on the first floor and found it to be quiet, a nice handicapped room compared to other places we stayed.”
 of 5 bubbles kathyg511, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5