We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Graskop Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Graskop Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

494 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 286: English reviews
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

1. Friendly service- everyone greets you no matter who you are. 2. The Rooms are the highlight of the stay- Love the Artist rooms- very interesting 3. Breakfast was best- service was also very good. 4. overall my family had a great experience - the hotel resides very close to sight seeing -AWESOME

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlinf701
graskophotel, General Manager at Graskop Hotel, responded to this review

Hi carlinf701, Thank you for your review. It is always good to hear from our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back again sometime. Regards Brendan

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 1 night on our drive from Kruger to J/burg on the Panorama route. The hotel is quite old and the rooms a little small but they have done a great job with the decorating by artists in the rooms and public areas. The lounge areas are cosy with open fires and quite good wifi. The staff are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SCS62
graskophotel, General Manager at Graskop Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SCS62, Thank you for your review and kind words regarding the hotel. We look forward hopefully to welcoming you back again sometime in the future. Kind regards Brendan

New Zealand
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on our way from Joberg to Kruger National Park. Fantastic half way point. there is SO much to see around the area. The hotel it self was excellent. we stayed in one of the beautiful Garden Rooms, so very cute and tidy. had a nice little sitting area outside amongst the garden. even though its a small area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattbriar d
graskophotel, General Manager at Graskop Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mattbriar d Thanks for a great review and we are happy to hear that you had a great visit to Graskop Hotel. Not so sure about the small fridge in the bathroom? :-) We have checked all the garden rooms and have not seen a small fridge in any of the bathrooms :-) Thanks again and maybe we can...

Hoedspruit, South Africa
Reviewed 31 October 2016

This arty hotel is situated in Graskop town. The art deco interior is done in very good taste. Beautiful art and furniture is complimented by a lusg garden and lovely pool area. The garden rooms are small but comfortable. Clean and tidy. The small verandah overlooks a beautifully maintained garden

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CecileSteenberg
graskophotel, General Manager at Graskop Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Cecile Many thanks for your review and kind words. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Brendan

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Looks great on the photo's but in reality the two (artist inspired) rooms we were given were run down and shabby. The first had a broken window, that's the one with plastic plates nailed to the wall, neither had air con, both had old shabby furniture and scruffy bathroom fittings. The room we opted for had loads of artist artifacts...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peppercat33
graskophotel, General Manager at Graskop Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peppercat33 We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the artist rooms that you were allocated. Thank you for your review and comments. We will or have actioned where we feel necessary. Many thanks. Regards Brendan

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We visited GH for our team build - rooms were cosy and comfortable. Rooms didnt have aircons but there were fans - and the weather was good so it wasn't that big of a problem. The staff - Roger, Edward, Errol and Nolly - made our stay absolutely delightful. They really made us feel at home. The hotel is quaint...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melissa P
graskophotel, General Manager at Graskop Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melissa, Thank you for your review and those mentioned will definitely be told of your comments. Hope to see you guys again sometime. Regards Brendan

Begijnendijk
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Since this is the odest hotel of Graskop dating way back in time, all has to be done by stairs. So for people with a mobility problem it's not that easy. To visit the Blyde River area the location is about perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulwD6339MR
graskophotel, General Manager at Graskop Hotel, responded to this review

Dear paulwD6339MR Thank you for your review and comments. Our Wi-Fi coverage is restricted to all of our public areas on the ground floor of the main hotel. We apologise that the coverage does not reach the garden rooms. Regarding the wheelchair access - if we are asked if we are wheelchair friendly, regrettably we will inform all guests that...

Israel
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

Located on the main street. Great place to go from to the panorama route and blyde river canyon. The breakfast was really good. The staff were really kind and helpful, especially Eroll that helped us with a problem we had with our luggage. In two words- highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gal D
graskophotel, General Manager at Graskop Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gal D Many thanks for your review and kind words. We will pass your message on to Errol. We hope to see you again sometime. Kind regards Brendan

Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We stayed here on a tour group in September 2016, we were welcomed by the management with a complementary drink in the main lounge. The rooms were comfortable, a little tired but fine. We chose to eat out but others stayed in and said the meals were very good, breakfast was very good. Free Wi-Fi in the lounge area

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
graskophotel, General Manager at Graskop Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nick H It is always nice to hear from people who were part of a group. We are happy that you had a good stay with us. Maybe on your next visit, on your own, we can welcome you back. Kind regards Brendan

Fairfield, California
Reviewed 14 October 2016

The Graskop Hotel was our first stop on a 17-day trip in South Africa. We arrived there at 2:00 p.m. after traveling about 35 hours from the U.S. (flying and then driving from JNB). It appears to be the nicest place in town. A power outage was underway and was expected to be restored at 6:00. Our room was cute...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pinders
graskophotel, General Manager at Graskop Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pinders, Many thanks for your review, always good to hear from group guests. Apologies again for the power outage, but it did come back on at the time it was supposed to and you managed to have a good hot shower. I'm sure your guide was spinning you a story regarding the oranges and the elephants :-) Many thanks....

178 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (174)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Graskop
9.6 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pilgrim's Rest
293 reviews
0.0 km away
Tsanana Log Cabins & Mulberry Lane Suites
0.9 km away
Westlodge Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Zur alten Mine
Zur alten Mine
#1 of 15 in Graskop
469 reviews
0.3 km away
Autumn Breeze Manor
Autumn Breeze Manor
#7 of 15 in Graskop
124 reviews
0.3 km away
Havana Nights
Havana Nights
#4 of 15 in Graskop
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
"An art gallery you can sleep in" - Greenwood Guides - 2006. Privately owned 3 star "art" hotel. In the heart of the Panorama Route, Close to the Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, and various waterfalls. Malaria free area. 19 Artist rooms, each decorated by a different artist, and 15 Garden suites, all with en suite facilities. Bed and breakfast at very reasonable prices. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Graskop Hotel

Address: Main Street, Graskop 1270, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Graskop
Price Range: €70 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Graskop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Graskop Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Graskop Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Garden Room 5 Private”
 of 5 bubbles CecileSteenberg, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room with balcony and avoid artist rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Peppercat33, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Garden cottages may suit families better”
 of 5 bubbles G9102GMmelissap, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Would suggest a room in the main hotel - especially in winter!”
 of 5 bubbles ProjectOverland, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms facing the road is very noisy !!”
 of 5 bubbles Boschie, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay