We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Econo Lodge Lakeside

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Econo Lodge Lakeside
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

112 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 109: English reviews
Pontiac, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

I was a little concerned when I pulled up and one vehicle was in the parking lot and the buildings looked old. Check-in was fast and friendly. I got up to the room and one of the hooks on curtain was off so you couldn't close drapes all the way. I checked the bedding and found small woodchip and what... More 

Review collected in partnership with Windows 10 app

Helpful?
Thank Tisha B
Tatamagouche, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Our drive-up room was spacious and clean and well furnished with a comfortable chair (unlike many hotels in this price range). Bathroom was clean and there was an extra/exterior sink. Lots of restaurants within easy driving distance. Only negative comment is that the exterior door of our unit could use a good sandblasting to improve its appearance before being repainted.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mcbrule
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We stay at this Econolodge every time we visit Marquette where our daughter is a student at Northern Michigan University. It is clean affordable and faces Lake Superior. The staff is always friendly and they have make your own waffles with the breakfast. Everything we could want.

Helpful?
Thank JulietheCruiseDir
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Worst room we have ever stayed in in our lives. My bed was dirty, The shower went from cold to scalding and back again, walls are paper thin, and when we checked in the young girl basically told me that because they are so busy they're going to screw us and charge $160. Never ever again.

Helpful?
Thank Brenda J
Management response:

Brenda J, I am sorry to hear you did not have a nice stay while you were here at our property. It is our goal to make sure everyone has a great time and had you told us you had an issue rather than get angry at our Front Desk Agent in the morning, we could have assisted in making... More 

Travellers are raving about these Marquette hotels

Iron River, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Not a bad stop for the price. Great view of Lake Superior sunrise. Breakfast - average but appreciated. Not so great coffee. Clean rooms and friendly, friendly staff. Pet friendly! We will utilize this establishment soon again!

Helpful?
1 Thank H P
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
236 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I wanted a hotel in town for a festival, but everything in downtown was already booked up. This Econo Lodge is two miles south of downtown Marquette so it isn't very far and a little bit less expensive than the downtown hotels. I arrived about 4 hours later than I had wanted to, but the check-in process was quick. I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank BrianD317
Hebron, Illinois
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

I visited Marquette for a weekend and stayed at the Econolodge. My room was small but nice, even though I was near the highway I was not bothered by road noise. All of the staff were very nice and willing to chat and provide information. As others have mentioned, the breakfast is no feast, but for free, it was not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hillrm
Flat rock,mi
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

The hotel need a up grade the rooms are worn but clean. No clocks in room. The door had about 12 inch rise hard to get in and out of. The breakfast was OK but the room smelled like mildew. Which is Stanger for a hotel that is open all year.

Helpful?
Thank Jim J
Bayfield, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2016

In the increasingly expensive Marquette market, this is probably the best value. Basic, well maintained rooms at a fair price. It is on US 2, but set well back so that noise is minimal. Extremely friendly and accommodating staff..

Helpful?
Thank James B
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2016

We stayed one night, had a first floor room. Room was very dated and dark, but serviceable for one night. We were initially concerned about traffic noise, but it was not an issue. Although it is directly across the highway from the lake, could not enjoy any view due to fog.

Helpful?
1 Thank travlr

52 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
6.6 km away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 18 in Marquette
714 reviews
6.6 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 18 in Marquette
454 reviews
3.5 km away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
3.3 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 18 in Marquette
208 reviews
4.0 km away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 18 in Marquette
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This wonderful location on Lake Superior shoreline is enjoyed by travelers from all over the world. You will wake up to a beautiful sunrise and be able to enjoy the pristine waters of Lake Superior and the serene location of our property. Our staff is the absolute best. Accommodating every simple, yet important aspect of your stay with us is the utmost priority of our team. Our property is three miles from Northern Michigan University, home of the NMU Wildcats. You can take in one of the many college sporting events in the Berry Events Center or the Superior Dome. Marquette Mountain Ski Hill is less than four miles from the hotel. We have snowmobile access directly across the street on trail 417 where you can stay with us -park and ride directly from the property. We have plenty of truck and trailer parking. You may wish to utilize our many impressive biking, hiking or cross country ski trails in the area including the Noquemenon Trails, Blueberry Ridge or Presque Isle. Our downtown area is a short two miles from us. You will find it to be rich with impressive and delicious restaurants and shopping. The bike path is directly across the street from us so you may enjoy a nice cruise, catch the mountain bike trails or early a leisurely morning stroll while taking in some of the most amazing scenery. Enjoy your stay as you watch the sunrise and sunsets over the Marquette Harbor, summer or winter. Each of our rooms have a refrigerator and most of them have microwaves. We have a nice channel line up as well as complimentary Wi-Fi in all of our rooms. We have a very nice complimentary hot breakfast every morning to get your day off to the right start! Don't hesitate to contact us for any specific accommodations, we will be sure to do our best to make your stay very memorable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Lakeside

Address: 2050 US Highway 41 S, Marquette, MI 49855-9117
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Price Range: €82 - €129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Lakeside 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Choice Hotels so you can book your Econo Lodge Lakeside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Marquette
Marquette Econo Lodge
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Econo Lodge Lakeside staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Econo Lodge Lakeside staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for the second floor lake view!”
 of 5 bubbles 53hp, 18 Sep 2016 | Read review
“A must stop Huron Bakery, right on Highway 41, open from 05:00 AM to 11:00 PM. Our room faced the woods, nice and peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles 73michael2z, 8 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Asl for a room toward the back, the road is busy.”
 of 5 bubbles 336laureng, 5 Oct 2015 | Read review
“So not stay here...there are none!”
 of 5 bubbles 887jodig, 16 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Do not stay here!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles jllajoie1, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay