We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cedar Motor Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cedar Motor Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

167 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 166: English reviews
Start your review of Cedar Motor Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

The staff was very accommodating with me. I was in town for a funeral and offered to reduce the rate for me, which helped tremendously. The spa and sauna (I miss that a lot), helped me relax. Just wished the weather was more cooperative during my stay. Definitely would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank okyooper1
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for commenting on your recent stay. We're glad to have been of service in your stressful time. Out-of-town emergencies can take their toll and it's nice to know we were able to help. Perhaps next time you stay it could be under circumstances where you can enjoy some of the great things Marquette has to offer.

Reviewed 4 January 2017

Stayed here in December 2016. Nine below zero outside, nice and warm inside, Has a indoor pool and Jacuzzi with a good breakfast. Very nice staff. Marquette is a cool college town with lots to do in town and around the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank clarenceville61
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after a recent stay. We appreciate that you enjoyed staying with our Cedar family. Yes, there is always something going on in Marquette with a wide variety of options for everyone. Perhaps next time you can come up in the summer and see how beautiful the area really is.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 January 2017

My Wife loves the included BF as I suppose it gives her the real break , but the one here was Basic with a capital B !! The woman at check in was lovely, friendly & helpful, the room was huge as was the bathroom ! Real cosy & while old was clean, neat & a quiet nights sleep ensued...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Skeney57
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. Yes, it's nice to stroll down in your pajamas to have a cup of coffee, danish, fruit, cereal, etc. without having to go out. For those who prefer a hot breakfast, Marquette has awesome restaurants and they're anxious to wait on you. Our staff appreciates that you noticed...

Escanaba, Michigan
Reviewed 17 December 2016

Friendly staff that are very helpful. Pool, sauna and hot tub are small but nice and clean. Rooms are large and clean. Do not get poolside if you want to go to bed before 10:30 but the pool area is cleared promptly at 10:30 and all is quiet. Breakfast is boxed cereal packaged muffins and oatmeal. Basic but free. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelique L
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. You seemed to highlight what we work on the hardest so we appreciate that you recognize the effort our staff puts forth. Our continental is more than the traditional definition but in addition to what you noted, it does include juice, milk, teas, coffee, yogurt, danish and fresh...

mid-Michigan
Reviewed 20 November 2016

stayed one night Nov. 19. Upstairs room overlooking pool and hot tub. Beds were wonderful and cleanliness exceptional. Large room. However, disappointed in unusually small and low toilet, hard to understand while this hasn't been changed out. Kleenex box was empty. Continental breakfast was basic but well attended by friendly staff. Overall, good value and good stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BigAlMuth
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide comments to us. We're happy you had a pleasant stay when you were here and appreciate that you pointed out a few things as well. There's no reason for an empty tissue box and it should have been caught but if we don't have something at the front desk, we can usually...

Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewed 18 November 2016

This was our third trip to Marquette in the last two months so we been trying out different places to stay as I like to experiment. We chose this one this time because one I like motels instead of hotels, it was reasonably priced, it had good reviews, and it's in a good location. We seen it from prior trips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MNLit
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment after your recent stay with us. Without a bit more information, I can't comment on the room change you experienced; perhaps something was being worked on in the room you chose. But the rooms in that price range typically have the same amenities. Yes, booking through a travel agent means you deal...

Chippewa Falls
Reviewed 16 November 2016

Stayed there with a hockey team. Very nice and clean place to stay. Motel is an older place where the rooms are connected by an indoor breezway. This was one of the cleanest places I've ever stayed. Don't let the price or the age of the place turn you away. The staff were all very pleasant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald L
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We appreciate that you recognized how hard our staff works to make sure guests have a clean and comfortable place to stay when they're away from home that's also a good value.

Fond du Lac, Wisconsin
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Built in 1967 and in need of some updates but it was clean. Friendly staff. Extra, extra firm beds! The breakfast wasn't really. Granola bars and biscotti and weak coffee! Had to eat a really early lunch.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judi B
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments after a recent stay with us. Yes, the Cedar has been in the family for 50 years next year and many changes have occurred during that time. We are constantly making upgrades to the rooms as funds permit, primarily in mattresses but recently adding flat-screen TVs and frigs. For folks who have specific wishes, it's...

Reviewed 1 November 2016

we had a very nice experience here, clean and fresh smelling. low cost but not a chaep hotel nice clean pool area. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The pool and hot tub waere wonderful, nice and warm.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank F760FDamyc
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Cedar. I appreciate your line about "low-cost but not a cheap hotel" because that's what we try to explain to folks. Being one of the few year-round independents in the county, we're busy with a clientele that looks for "family and clean" so that's what we...

Waterloo, Canada
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We were pleasantly surprised by our stay here. It is a family run business that the big chains could learn a lot from. The room was very clean and bright. After a long day on the road from Winnipeg we had a very relaxing time in the whirlpool which was spotless and enjoyed a cooling dip in the pool afterwards....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ylvasteve
cedarteam, Owner at Cedar Motor Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your time and response to a recent stay with us. We receive many Canadian travelers who "dip" into the U.P. on their trips back and forth across their country. The Canadian flag flies in appreciation for their patronage as well as our personal heritage on both sides of our family. We're glad you had a pleasant room...

105 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (42)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marquette hotels
0.3 km away
Days Inn Marquette
Days Inn Marquette
#5 of 18 in Marquette
735 reviews
0.2 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#1 of 18 in Marquette
463 reviews
0.2 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Marquette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 km away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#14 of 18 in Marquette
215 reviews
4.1 km away
Hampton Inn Marquette/Waterfront
4.0 km away
Landmark Inn
Landmark Inn
#4 of 18 in Marquette
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Cedar Motor Inn

Address: 2523 US Highway 41 W, Marquette, MI 49855-2258
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Marquette
Price Range: €63 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cedar Motor Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Cedar Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Motor Hotel Marquette
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marquette
#5 Romantic Hotel in Marquette
#6 Family Hotel in Marquette
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cedar Motor Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Boyne City, Michigan
7 months ago
Marquette, Michigan
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Cedar Motor Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from poolside if you need to be to bed before 10:30.”
 of 5 bubbles 354angeliquel, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“no elevator, but rooms close to parking”
 of 5 bubbles BigAlMuth, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“118 was a nice room”
 of 5 bubbles MNLit, 18 Nov 2016 | Read review
“budget friendly”
 of 5 bubbles F760FDamyc, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you stay in the pool area ask for a room as far away from it as possible”
 of 5 bubbles ylvasteve, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5