We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Knights Inn Mackinaw City

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Knights Inn Mackinaw City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

73 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 72: English reviews
Meadville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 17 October 2016

was there 8/7/16-8/10/16 and the rooms were the worst i have ever been in and the manager or owner made sure they were never around because they knew they had ripped us off. after returning home i tried 8 times to call carol & she was never there. i was scared to use the electric as the fixtures were falling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ANN C
Carol B, Manager at Knights Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

I don't know where it was that you stayed. We apologize that you didn't have a good stay wherever it was. It could not have been with us because when you shut our doors they automatically lock because we have keyless entry system. No electrical lighting or any other electrical are falling iff the walls. If they are please let...

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We arrived around 3:00pm. This was to be our last stay during a five day/four night trip mostly spent in the western UP of Michigan. We checked in at the desk and went to our assigned room. The room was dingy, run down and just disgusting. There was a old hair brush and old worn socks just outside our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn M
Carol B, Manager at Knights Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

We are a family owned business. Sorry you did not stay.. We recently purchased property and have made numerous improvements. Just 2 weeks ago the finished putting a new roof on. Many rooms have been renovated. A customer had asked we put their things outside their room they had checked out of and they would be by to get them....

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

When we booked this hotel we had read all the reviews so we were expecting the worst. Well we have stayed in two hotels worse than this one by far. The hotel was better than the reviews. I suppose it depends on what room you stayed in. Our room was clean. The bathroom was the worst room, in need of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marquette50
Carol B, Owner at Knights Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

We just finished getting the roof on and that seemed to take forever. You room and one other are being totally redone in the Spring. Thank you for staying with us. See you next year.

Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Room was filthy with spiders in the corner, bathroom door broken, tiny tv, steel bar sticking out from bottom of bed, breakfast was a bagel and a empty jelly container, mold in bathroom. We will never go back there

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
cannspeer, Manager at Knights Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

I do not know what room you were in but we have new flat screen TV's and new beds in many rooms. Our continental breakfast is yogurt, Assorted breads, Muffins, coffee cake, Bagels, tea and coffee. Sorry tou did not like your room. Please let office know when you have an issue and we will resolve the issue. Thank you,...

Lansing, Michigan
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We knowingly booked the cheapest hotel we could find since we were only staying one night on our way to the UP. Keeping the price in mind, Knights Inn was the perfect place to catch some sleep and take a break from driving.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank walks017
Carol B, Manager at Knights Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

As two young adults, my fiancé and I chose the cheapest priced hotel we could find, and I thought the reviews looked good. I just wanted a place to sleep and get ready and figured if we spent less on a hotel we could spend more on the island. Let's just say We regret it. It smells, wifi is not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah E
Oconto, Wisconsin
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

Did not expect much as this an economy hotel. Good points are that the room does come with microwave and refrigerator which was not listed on their website room description. Bathroom recently remodeled but small. However, entire room was not cleaned very well the first day and not at all on our 2nd day there. Front desk did apoligize and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hamaside
Bay city, United States
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

M wife and I showed up after seeing decent reviews and good location. The room smelled very bad. The shower handle kept falling off so the shower didn't work well. I would t even consider giving our son a bath in it. After the first night we packed and left even though we already paid for day two. We are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Branden A
cannspeer, Manager at Knights Inn Mackinaw City, responded to this review

The handle on the faucet in the tub had been pulled hard on. I went in there as soon as you mentioned the issue and it took 1 minute to fix. Sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We work hard at making sure things are good for our customers . Each person has their own comfort level.

Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

All we wanted was a bed and shower while traveling. I can get by the lack of amenities (no hair dryer, only 2 pillows), the room being VERY run down, and the mini TV. However the shower curtain was DISGUSTING. The managers response was "it is hard to keep it clean with all the humidity." I replied "This was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Great play for family stay has had recent updates to the exterior and interior and is a great place for future stay. Has Coffee, hot showers , clean sheets and best after all free breakfast. Overall great place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank devinbrown

10 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.1 km away
Parkside Inn -  Bridgeside
Parkside Inn - Bridgeside
#19 of 39 in Mackinaw City
147 reviews
1.8 km away
Americas Best Value Inn Mackinaw City
1.7 km away
Budget Inn Mackinaw
Budget Inn Mackinaw
#18 of 39 in Mackinaw City
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Thunderbird Inn
Thunderbird Inn
#14 of 39 in Mackinaw City
183 reviews
0.5 km away
Super 8 Mackinaw City/Beachfront Area
0.4 km away
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
American Boutique Inn - Lakeview
#7 of 39 in Mackinaw City
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Knights Inn Mackinaw City

Address: 412 S Nicolet St, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9657 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range: €399 - €517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Knights Inn Mackinaw City 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your Knights Inn Mackinaw City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Mackinaw City
Mackinaw City Econo Lodge
Econolodge Mackinaw City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Knights Inn Mackinaw City staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Salvisa
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Knights Inn Mackinaw City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“don't stay here”
 of 5 bubbles anncT6575EY, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Back pain? Ask for a room with a pillow-top mattress.”
 of 5 bubbles 885fb, 7 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The corner room was very roomy.”
 of 5 bubbles 467eloiseb, 26 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Go Somewhere Else”
  • Stain in bathtub
 of 5 bubbles Robinandtom, 9 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Our experience has been good in any room we are put in.”
 of 5 bubbles 830leslieb, 26 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay