We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

207 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark
See the most recent reviews
Showing 207: English reviews
Presque Isle, Michigan
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

I've never been to a dirtier hotel or been more grossed out. Garbage behind our bed. Hair in bathroom--NOT ours. Filth on walls, carpet, ceiling fans, patios and yes at the water park. Clumps of hair, band aids, bugs and broken equipment--checked next day after pool closed and reopened--all still there! So disappointing, especially for the price and potential--the view...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
Reviewed 22 September 2016

The front counter staff was good and gave us FREE coupons to the waterpark down the street. Our room was fine. Everything working, clean, plenty of towels and pillows. The large hot tub was HOT, 10am-10pm and the kiddie waterpark there was working and families were using it. The free breakfast was next door hotel and was more than a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thane G
Missouri
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We made our reservation 3 months in advance, and It was confirmed. I called when I needed to give them a new expiration date on my debit card. All was good. Upon arrival, I was told they did not have our room and had tried to contact us that day. What good would that have done?? They found us another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KansasCityJo
Reviewed 8 September 2016

First off, this is a motel, not a hotel. We stayed in the only first floor XL Beach Front Suite for two nights. It was ok -- it met most of our needs, it walked out to the beach, it was quiet, it was clean, there was a lot (a lot) of space. It's not high end (I'm picky, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudette Z
Burton, Michigan
Reviewed 30 August 2016

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel, accommodations was very clean, had balcony view of beach/lakefront and absolutely loved the view that this hotel offered. Front desk was very pleasant and helpful. Only exception was the complimentary breakfast. There wasn't enough seating, we left and had breakfast elsewhere. Definitely will be returning customers, very pleased.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mtrethewey80
Management response:

Dear guest, Thank you for your review, your compliments and regards will be passed on to the front desk staff as well as those in housekeeping. We apologize for the inconvenience you had with the free breakfast we will definitely follow up and ensure this shortage is corrected. Again we thank you see you soon!!!

Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Reviewed 22 August 2016

It was very busy in Mackinaw City recently and we tried to get a last minute room. They had one available here for $299 plus taxes. We took it and proceeded to our room, it didn't take long for us to realize we were not staying here for that amount of money. I don't mind paying that much if it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dexter5
Management response:

Dear guest, We must apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with your room. Your comments will be passed on the housekeeping and all rooms will be thoroughly checked. Again we thank you for your feedback and hope you will give us a chance to change your perception of our establishment.

Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

This hotel is terrible. Significantly understaffed at the front desk. We had five people staying and were given two towels. When we asked for more we were told we would have to come get them. It was very rude. Beach and surrounding of hotel was littered with trash and most lounge chairs were broken. Our screen door to the balcony...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wendyendres
Management response:

Dear Guest, We must apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying. These issues in no way truly represents our top notch customer service and accommodations we provide. We take your views seriously and will be working on the issues you experienced. We hope sometime in the future you will give us a chance to correct the perception you have...

Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Worst experience in Macinaw thus far. Poorly run hotel. Had nothing but issues that the front desk couldn't and wouldn't address. First time ever staying at a hotel when you remove the do not disturb sign at 10 am and room never got cleaned. Try the super 8 lakefront as a budget alternative and it's pet friendly as well.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ken W
Management response:

Dear guest, We must apologize for the inconvenience experienced while staying with us. Unfortunately, no matter which hotel you stay with animal friendly rooms no room attendant will enter with an unattended animal inside that will pose a grave risk to that individuals safety . We at the Fairview respect and value our staff. Thus, we could not in good...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This place was terrible !! The pools were filthy the hot tub was cold and didn't work !! We had to beg for towels as the housekeeper did not leave any! All I can say positive is the rooms were clean and the beach was nice the water was so clear !! The breakfast was decent !

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle K
Management response:

Dear guest, We thank you for reviewing our property. We loved the fact that you said our rooms were clean and beach was well maintained. We apologize for the issues you had with pool and the hot tub our hardworking maintenance personnel do their best to ensure the pool and hot tub is working your complaint will be forwarded to...

Mackinaw City, Michigan
Reviewed 5 August 2016 via mobile

Before you stay here, ask yourself one simple question: How absolutely low can my standards get? We booked a beachside room, and upon arrival found that we were staying in the single level row of rooms running perpendicular to the beachside one. The room (108) absolutely reeked of some strange, untraceable scent, that permeated every facet of the room. Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magjung
Management response:

Dear guest, We are so shocked and sorry to read your review. Unfortunately, we are seeing where did in fact not book a lakefront room you instead booked a room on the courtside. We will definitely pass on your experiences to our housekeepers. We at the Fairview have a promise of clean rooms for an affordable rate having said that...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinaw City hotels
0.2 km away
Mackinaw Beach and Bay - Inn & Suites
0.1 km away
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
Clarion Hotel Beachfront
#13 of 39 in Mackinaw City
578 reviews
0.6 km away
Comfort Inn Lakeside
Comfort Inn Lakeside
#16 of 39 in Mackinaw City
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Bridge Vista Beach Hotel & Convention Center
1.1 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mackinaw City
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Dockside Waterfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark

Address: 907 S Huron Ave, Mackinaw City, MI 49701-9500 (Formerly Aqua Grand Inn & Waterpark)
Region: United States > Michigan > Cheboygan County > Mackinaw City
Price Range: €59 - €221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark Hotel Mackinaw City
Fairview Beachfront Inn And Waterpark
Aqua Grand Hotel Waterpark
Aqua Grand Motel Waterpark
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mackinaw City
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fairview Beachfront Inn & Waterpark staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Good place if you're just going to the Island or touring and not spending lots of time in your room.”
 of 5 bubbles majill45, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The XL "suite" on the first floor does have beach access from the room.”
 of 5 bubbles claudettez2016, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Beachfront view from balcony 👍”
 of 5 bubbles mtrethewey80, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room facing the beach. Those are a bit better.”
 of 5 bubbles 591annettev, 11 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Don't get a room on the two storie sides”
 of 5 bubbles 823lorir, 3 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5