We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Murray Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Murray Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

233 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Murray Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 233: English reviews
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The hotel is absolutely charming, and has a great location (right on the main drag). Right as you walk in you can see all of their fudge and donuts and such, which looked (and were) amazing. The staff was incredibly friendly. The rooms were quaint and very clean. The patio on the second floor (with a hot tub) was also... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Well I was skeptical about staying at the Murray because of it's downtown location but all in all it was a good place, priced right. I am a light sleeper and our room faced the pool which was super quiet. The rooms were old and dark but the bed was one of the best I have ever slept in. For... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kerry B
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you so much for mentioning our great location and friendly staff. We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back the next time you're on the Island. Thanks! More 

Minnesota City, Minnesota
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2016

Positives: The room and bathroom were of a good size. We had a jacuzzi tub, which was the best thing about the room. Negatives: $350/night! Bed and mattress were not good. Any small movement shook the entire bed. Did not have resetful sleep. TV was small (24 inch screen?) with very limited channel selection. Gawdy wallpaper and paint everywhere. Towels... More 

Helpful?
Thank PippaXYZ
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are truly disappointed to learn that your experience was not what you expected. Please accept our sincerest apologies that your experience was not as you had anticipated​. We hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust should you return to Mackinac Island. Thanks! More 

Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

Location on Main St is perfect for local bars and right next to the fort. Despite being on Main stour room was very quiet, a nice size for a 100+ year hotel, although our friends across the hall had much smaller interior room. Clean and the staff was very accommodating . We were a little disappointed the hot tub closed... More 

Helpful?
Thank ANN C
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you so much for mentioning our great location and friendly staff! We thank you for choosing the Murray Hotel for your travels to the Island and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back! Thanks! More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

This is the second year in a row we have stayed here. The outdoor deck and hottub is private and beautiful. The fudge is by far the best. Was a little disappointed that they didn't have the coconut bon bon fudge this year. Maybe next year? Rooms are quaint and comfortable. Staff is very friendly. Received a handwritten postcard close... More 

Helpful?
Thank wonka777
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, We truly appreciate your kind words for our staff and the fudge. We will hopefully have the coconut bon bon next year for you! We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Thanks! More 

Taylor, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2016

This is a very good hotel. Reasonably priced, very clean and great service. Our room was small but comfortable and had nice amenities. The staff was courteous and kind and the breakfast was super. The highlight for us was the outdoor hot tub. Large, with a wonderful waterfall that will give you the massage of your life. We loved it.

Helpful?
Thank ron f
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you so much for mentioning our friendly staff! We appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back! Thanks! More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2016

All of Mackinac is expensive so we weren't really surprised by the size of our room (tiny) but there is so much to do on the island you really shouldn't be spending much time there anyway! The hotel was nice. the staff was helpful and pleasant. We had missed maid service and all the maids had left for the day... More 

Helpful?
Thank CariW427
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to hear that we were able to get your room cleaned after the housekeepers have left and that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back! Thanks! More 

The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2016

The staff at the Murray were very helpful and friendly. Very quaint setting and in the main part of town, convenient to shopping and restaurants. Room was small and arrangement was tight. This was our first stay on Mackinaw so this may be the standard fare on the island. The value was good - we had an inclusive package with... More 

Helpful?
Thank WaterLover915
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you so much for mentioning our great location and friendly staff! We appreciate your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back! Thanks! More 

West Branch, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This is an older hotel but we had a room for 4 and I had been told this hotel is smaller. Our room was fine with plenty of room and clean. We over looked market street and could see and hear the horse tours. The fudge in the lobby is SO creamy and delicious. A lady from Jamaica whose name... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank orrs1999
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you so much for mentioning our great location and friendly staff! We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity​ to welcome you back the next time you are on the Island. Thanks! More 

Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2016

I loved my stay at Murray Hotel with it's "Inn" feel--unique furniture, wallpaper, no telephone, etc. Of course, the bathroom was very small, but that is not uncommon for an historic hotel. Just think of it as adding character! A five minute walk from the ferry, the location can't be beat. It's right in the heart of the main street... More 

Helpful?
Thank lbmac
MurrayHotelMI, Manager at Murray Hotel, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you so much for choosing the Murray Hotel for your travels to the Island and taking the time to share your feedback! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back! Thanks! More 

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mackinac Island hotels
0.7 km away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#5 of 12 in Mackinac Island
2,355 reviews
0.3 km away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
815 reviews
0.4 km away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#10 of 12 in Mackinac Island
426 reviews
0.3 km away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
533 reviews
0.2 km away
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and Waterfront Collection
Bicycle Street Inn & Suites and ...
#9 of 12 in Mackinac Island
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Murray Hotel

Address: 7260 Main Street, Mackinac Island, MI 49757
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Price Range: €232 - €291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Murray Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Murray Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murray Hotel Mackinac Island
Murray Mackinac Island
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Murray Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Purcellville, Virginia
Wixom, Michigan
4 months ago
over a year ago
marion, iowa

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Murray Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you like having open windows, 2nd level inside room bit noisy as it stays open until 11pm.”
  • Another view of the lobby and side-line cafe pub.
  • A view of the long hall lobby, beautifully appointed with old world charm.
 of 5 bubbles Bette-WI, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Want quiet, stay off street. Clip clop of horses, they wash down the streets early morn. at closing time out of the Pink Pony Tavern.”
 of 5 bubbles K7631QOgarym, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a suite if you can. We had a whirlpool tub!”
 of 5 bubbles susieN7518FA, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Wonderful in every way”
 of 5 bubbles 101rachelk, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book early for more room choices.”
 of 5 bubbles sbushzone, 4 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay