We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunset Condominiums

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mackinac Island
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Sunset Condominiums
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

59 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 59: English reviews
iowa
Reviewed 9 October 2016

I an staying at Sunset Condos Pinewood Unit 202 so I can only review this unit but I can tell you the construction of the building is very dated. The unit has a loft bedroom and has lock out rooms on each side. I am only in the loft condo. When the people on the other side of the lock...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvonnepi
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Sunset Condominiums! Our goal is for every guest to have an enjoyable stay. If an issue arises, please let us know as soon as possible. Our staff will be more than happy to make things right so that you may have a pleasant experience. We appreciate your review and your input! Each condo...

Melbourne, Florida
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Our daughter was recently married on Mackinac Island, and about 40 of the quests stayed at the Condos. The condo was very nicely furnished (2 BR with own bath with sleeper sofa/a loft with its own BR) and a sleeper in the living room. There were 8 in our unit. Very nice large deck with great view of the lake....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsJJF
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Sunset Condos! It sounds like the condos worked out well for your wedding group. They are ideal for large parties of families and friends - allowing for everyone to stay together in nice spacious accommodations. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the views, quiet setting, large deck, full kitchen, etc....

Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Great accommodation for 6th Wedding Anniversary . Stayed in a Condo suite . It had a full kitchen & washer/dryer . It had BBQ grill . It has a wood fireplace . Was very quite. The staff was helpful . It was a pleasant 30 minute walk into town . Enjoyed the beautiful sunsets . Will return next year !!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noreen S
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed spending your anniversary at Sunset Condos! Looking forward to seeing you next year!

Portage,IN
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Good price. Only reason we stayed there was to get an extra day on the island while waiting for another reservation. Nice view from ours. Dated, but it was clean. Our main problem was that it was warm, but we couldn't open the patio door since they were having a huge party next door. Office closed, so really couldn't complain....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank hoosierref
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Condominiums, responded to this review

Sunset Condos are located away from the bustling downtown area and each one is individually owned and decorated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful view. Thank you for staying with us!

Reviewed 3 August 2016

The condos are about 2 1/2 miles from the downtown/dock area. This means that it is a trek to get there when you arrive. We brought our bikes and the shuttle took our luggage. That worked very well. BUT we had a 4 year old with a bike with training wheels. We did not know that it was against the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Sunset Condos! We appreciate your review and are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Mackinac Island!

Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We went to Mackinac Island for our honeymoon. All I told my husband is that I wanted a kitchen so that I could shop for food and cook as if we were at home, and we wouldn't have to pay tourist-y prices at a restaurant. We got to the condo, and wow! It had absolutely everything we needed. I *did*...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan K
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Condominiums, responded to this review

We are so happy that you chose to spend your honeymoon with us at Sunset Condominiums! It is wonderful that your condo felt like home and that you were able to spend time enjoying the view, cooking and relaxing. The condos are a nice little retreat from the busy downtown area. Thank you for staying with us and we hope...

Fergus Falls, Minnesota
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I was very happily surprised by this condo on the far side of the island from downtown. We stayed there with our son and girlfriend and their 4 kids. They had one central room with bed, living space and kitchen and each adjoining room had a small refrigerator and microwave. Each of these rooms can be closed off and rented...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank judy358
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Sunset Condominiums! The condos offer a nice retreat from the hustle and bustle of downtown. They are tucked away in a part of the island that many visitors have yet to explore. We are so happy to hear that the accommodations worked so well for you and your family! Please come see us...

Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewed 3 July 2016

I'm not here to complain about a bad service experience or to say these condos are "the worst I've ever stayed in", but to share a differing perspective: these condos are mediocre, at best. We stayed in Sunset Condos for 6 nights in June and mostly wished we had stayed elsewhere. Here's a few reasons why: - Walls and connecting...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank RBaugh
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Sunset Condos are away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown area. In addition to the shuttle, walking as you mentioned is an option (it's a nice 40 minute walk to town) or some guests bring their bikes. Each condo is individually owned and decorated, and some condos do have more of a...

Reviewed 24 March 2016

My wife have been to Mackinac Island three times now. Twice we've taken our entire family as well as my parents and Aunt and Uncle. The sunset condominiums is our first choice for a multi day stay with a large group. They offer the conveniences of home with full kitchens (if that is what you rent). They are out of...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank PGritt
Allison S, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us at Sunset Condos! We are happy to hear that they provide a comfortable and relaxing getaway for you and your family. We appreciate your review and hope to see you again on your next trip to Mackinac Island!

Goodrich, Michigan
Reviewed 15 December 2015

We have been going to Mackinac Island in the Fall with close friends for many years. Our grown kids still consider it a tradition, and will come from out-of-state and even out-of-country to join us. Sunset condominiums helps to make it affordable; we are able to configure the lodgings to accommodate >15 people on our weekend...no easy task. The fact...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mibaribie
Alan S, Public Relations Manager at Sunset Condominiums, responded to this review

Thank you for your review! We are pleased to hear that the condos work so well for you! The condos are ideal for large groups - everyone gets to stay together, cook in the fully equipped kitchen, relax on the balcony and watch those amazing sunsets in the evening! It is wonderful to have guests return year after year and...

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mackinac Island
14.8 km away
The Inn at Stonecliffe
The Inn at Stonecliffe
#9 of 12 in Mackinac Island
426 reviews
9.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Harbour Pointe Lakefront
17.3 km away
Harbour View Inn
Harbour View Inn
#6 of 12 in Mackinac Island
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 km away
Murray Hotel
Murray Hotel
#12 of 12 in Mackinac Island
233 reviews
17.1 km away
Lake View Hotel
Lake View Hotel
#7 of 12 in Mackinac Island
815 reviews
17.1 km away
Island House Hotel
Island House Hotel
#11 of 12 in Mackinac Island
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Sunset Condominiums sit secluded on the west end of the Island at Stonecliffe, overlooking Lake Huron and the majestic Mackinac Bridge. Enjoy the outdoor heated pool, outdoor grills & picnic areas, full kitchens, fireplaces, balconies, shuttle to and from the downtown area, free WIFI, golf, restaurants and more!The greatest part is.... the condos are only a two night minimum! One night stays also available in our Patio Rooms. Our condos are perfect for any size family, family and friends, weddings, groups, family reunions or any type of vacation needs! Each one of our condos is individually owned and decorated. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Sunset Condominiums

Address: 8704 Eckel Dr, Mackinac Island, MI
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Mackinac County > Mackinac Island
Number of rooms: 40
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunset Condominiums staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Sunset Condominiums staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Pinewood Condos on the second level had the best views.”
 of 5 bubbles MrMrsJJF, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Might want one of the buildings farther from the mansion.”
 of 5 bubbles P6963AGsarahb, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor if you want a decent sunset view.”
 of 5 bubbles RBaugh, 2 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Bring your bikes to avoid the cab fairs.”
 of 5 bubbles PGritt, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“If you want complete cooking facilities, make sure to reserve a main unit”
 of 5 bubbles mibaribie, 15 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5