We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Stearns Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ludington
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Stearns Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 89: English reviews
Start your review of Stearns Hotel
 Click to rate
Holton, Michigan
Reviewed 4 January 2017

This hotel is fantastic. The historic theme has been persevered to perfection. The hotel was very clean with great friendly staff. We felt like we had stepped back in time without missing any modern conveniences. We cannot wait to go back again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren A
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! Working with a building that was built in 1903 can be challenging so we love to hear when a customer notices our efforts to keep the Stearns Hotel historic while offering modern amenities. We have shared your review with our staff and they appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon! Stearns Hotel Management

Standish, Michigan
Reviewed 4 January 2017

We really enjoyed our stay at Stearns, the staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed on New Year's Eve, Stearns is only about a block and a half from the Ball drop. The New Year's morning breakfast was awesome.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank annallen355
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate your review and are glad you found your stay enjoyable. Our staff always tries to be helpful and they are always happy to hear it is appreciated. We hope that you had a good time at the Ball Drop and that you will take advantage of our convenient location again. Ludington's Downtown holds many great events throughout the...

Livonia, Michigan
Reviewed 2 January 2017

Been going to Ludington for years and have driven by the Stearns a lot. Decided to stay there for the New Years Eve ball drop this year. One block away. The hotel is old and creaky but that adds to its character. Rooms were okay. We had a king sized bed. Full breakfast NY Day. Will stay again for NYE.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonymous838
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for the review. Ludington's New Year's Eve festivities are so popular that it is our busiest night of the year. We already have many reservations for next year. Keep us in mind for your future trips. We are open year-round and Ludington has much to offer in every season. Stearns Hotel Management

Reviewed 30 November 2016 via mobile

I know this hotel is old but nostalgic...no. Bathroom was clean but the room and bed were smelly. Tv was so old, the remote control didn't work. Plastic curtains and carpet that had to be 30 years old. One person at the desk was very friendly and helpful, but the rest needed lessons in customer service. I had to cut...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PAM R
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

When you called to make your reservation, you specifically requested the type of room that your friend had stayed in. It is our most economical room in the older section of the hotel. We normally rent those to people in person that can see them first. Since your friend had stayed there we assumed you were familiar with the type...

Reviewed 22 November 2016 via mobile

We did not say at this hotel, but I stood up in a wedding there and got to see about 4 rooms and deal with a lot of staff during set-up. The ballroom is nice and highly reccommend. They worked with the bride and allowed us in to set up as needed and tear down. The guy at the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WSUnurse
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for recommending our Ballroom for events. We strive to make every wedding reception, Christmas party, Meeting, or other event a success and to help in any way we can so that our guests can enjoy themselves. We apologize if you felt our night clerk wasn’t personable. We have addressed this with him. Since you only saw a few...

Point Pleasant
Reviewed 5 October 2016

Per the owner this hotel was built in 1901... and it shows...but in mostly a good way. If you are going to expect a Marriott, though this is not for you. Everything is clean and neat but it is afterall 115 years old. Not an abundance of outlets, poor wifi (I went out in lobby where fine) so request a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annette B
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

It is great to hear when customers understand the challenges of maintaining a building that is over 100 years old. The electrical system in the hotel has all been replaced and brought up to code. The project started in the mid 1970's and continued for several years as the building was remodeled. Unfortunately, they couldn't forsee all of todays needs...

Mt. pleasant
Reviewed 28 September 2016

So accommodating and helpful for my sisters wedding. Helpful and above and beyond! They have all the extra touches needed to make it a special event. Location was wonderful as well. Tiki bar was a nice touch too, fun to move the party there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank april929
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! We like hearing that people love the Ballroom and our Hotel for their wedding receptions. We always try to be helpful in any way we can so that all events can run as smooth as possible. Stop by and see us the next time you are traveling this way. Stearns Hotel Management

Superior, Wisconsin
Reviewed 27 September 2016

There were a few inconveniences, but overall this was a pleasant, comfortable motel with some old-world charm. Inconveniences: the elevator was VERY slow and the entrance ramp was steep and could only accommodate one vehicle, which caused issues for loading/unloading. The old fashioned key locks on the rooms were somewhat sticky/tricky. BUT - the beds were comfortable, the staff was...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank fmb605
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

It is nice to hear when customers let the historic charm of our 110 year old hotel outweigh a few inconveniences. When the elevator was installed, 50 feet per minute was fast. We feel that the building is telling our customers to slow down and enjoy your stay. The ramp replaced a flight of stairs and is restricted in size...

Livonia, Michigan
Reviewed 20 September 2016

My daughter recently had her wedding at the Stearns Motor Inn and it was amazing! The staff were all wonderful and were so helpful through the entire process, she planed the wedding from out of state. Many of her guests stayed at the hotel for the weekend and we received rave reviews from everyone. We had some reservations of the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank melissahG7793IB
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you! It is true that we have a few rooms above the Tiki which can hear the music but we always inform guests at the time of booking. Some people say they don't notice it and some people are more sensitive to the sound. We are glad to hear that your wedding guests were happy with their accommodations and...

Wyandotte, Michigan, United States
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We stayed here for a wedding weekend. The rooms are very dated but comfortable. The banquet roim is very noce and the public spaces are nice. The staff is friendly. The rooms are clean. The location is very convenient.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louis D
StearnsFrontDesk, Manager at Stearns Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at our HISTORIC (dated) hotel. Our hotel is over 110 years old and we have taken great pains not to disturb the original feel and atmosphere. If you are interested in more modern amenities we do have rooms with fireplaces, hot tubs and kitchenettes. We are trying to provide a nostalgic experience from check in to...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ludington hotels
1.4 km away
Nader's Lakeshore Motor Lodge
2.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 17 in Ludington
412 reviews
1.1 km away
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
Snyder's Shoreline Inn
#11 of 17 in Ludington
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
1.1 km away
Ludington Pier House Hotel/Motel
3.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
BEST WESTERN Lakewinds
#3 of 17 in Ludington
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Stearns Hotel

Address: 212 E. Ludington Avenue, Ludington, MI 49431-3013
Region: United States > Michigan > Ludington
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Stearns Motor Hotel Ludington
Stearns Hotel Ludington
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Stearns Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Muskegon, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Stearns Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Suspect all rooms equally good..ask for room with strong wifi.”
 of 5 bubbles kenb862, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We like the courthouse view the best.”
 of 5 bubbles 17cherries, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Try the east face of the building. Ask to be shown rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Scott06151950, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Bring a blow dryer. The rooms don't have them. ”
 of 5 bubbles 193bethf, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“The jacuzzi fireplace room is really nice. Has a nice bathroom tub/shower. A closet. Full length mirrors, a kitchen area... can't beat it! ”
 of 5 bubbles musicianized, 22 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5