We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Garland Lodge & Resort

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewiston
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Garland Lodge & Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

188 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Garland Lodge & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 188: English reviews
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Overall: The golf courses are great, or so my dad tells me, and the little cabins are cute if not outdated, the spa sucks, the people are worse. So here's the story of my stay: My family wanted to have a final weekend trip together before my sister and I went off to college, we decided to go to the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Dana E
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our annual golf group ws very excited about staying at Garland as we havent been there in a few years. We thought we were booked in the remodeled rooms but we weren't. The villa had a grill but no microwave. The refrigerator was totally inadequate. Why have a grill if there is no place to eat? No tables, etc, dishes...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank marcia1214
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Marcia, It is a shame that while your group was at the front desk, working out arrangements allowing the group to break the group contract (because your group wanted to leave a day early due to the 2 inches of rain that our area received the night before and that morning) and your group spoke with all 3 of the...

Saginaw, Michigan
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed at Garland Aug. 23-25, 2013. Compliments on the condition of the 3 courses we played: Monarch, Reflections and Swampfire. The courses were well manicured and maintained. But . . we felt that the villas on site where we stayed needed to be updated. Several years ago we had stayed there, but now the showers and sinks are feeling...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Camille C
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Our managing owner has put much into improvements within our resort since he acquired the resort. Some units have been recently updated, we receive many compliments on these units, and some of our units are slated for updates in the future. Perhaps when you refer to our Spa you actually mean something else, our Spa is in full working condition....

Whitehall, Michigan
Reviewed 11 September 2013

What I saw was disappointing! What happened to all the smiling familiar faces? Many of the employees I got to know or recognize are gone, along with all the golfers who use to come enjoy the beautiful golf courses. I have never seen so few golfers at Garland in my ten years of coming here. I guess making the fountains...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Joe C
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

With many seasonal resorts, such as Garland there can be different staff members from year to year, and each season we have wonderful smiling faces to greet and respond to our guests. As a benefit for our members Fountains golf course has been designated as a private members only course. Our groups and members have been notified of this. Our...

Saint Johns, Michigan
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We had a business meeting booked there. One problem we had there was we had booked three cabins together 2 out of 3 were together made the meeting difficult. The golf was very nice had an awesome time and the food was good on the turn. Cabins were very clean although the beds were like old spring beds not very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian C
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Thank you for the review Brian. Due to the fact that our Golf Cottages are privately owned and not all units are in the Garland rental program, Garland cannot always accommodate a request to have units next to each other. Please contact the sales department for your 2014 stay and ask about renting a meeting space. We look forward to...

Tecumseh, Michigan
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Unfortunately I cannot recommend anyone book golf trips at this resort. In the fall of 2013 I booked a group of golfers (18) with lodging. For booking this group, I received a letter stating I was entitled to one nights free lodging with golf for two in the future. When I attempted to use this "offer", it took about 10...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Jennifer T
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

It’s unfortunate that you did not ask to speak with a Director during your gift card verification process. If you would like to speak with a Director about your concerns please call 989-786-2211 and ask to speak with the Operations Director.

Troy, Michigan
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I was locked out of my condo for 3 hours. They blamed me, despite the fact that their own engineer could not open the door! Rude people with 0 service, The next day I complained and the manager, Gordon, threatened to call the police against me! Do not go to Garland, they are the worst ever! Go to Boyne.

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Stephen D
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Steve, when engineering arrived at your golf cottage they found the door was manually dead bolted from the inside. The engineer went back to the shop to retrieve the dead bolt over ride and attempted to contact the rest of your party in your cottage to see if there was an issue. Our attempts to address this issue with you...

Guelph, Canada
Reviewed 16 August 2013

What a disaster. We booked 10 months in advanced paid our deposit and found out just before we were leaving that we no longer had our cabins. We spoke to management and they refused to make things right. I can not understand how someone can run a business like this. Very unprofessional and I have heard from other friends who...

 Report
Helpful?
11Thank Peter_W_L2013
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Peter, As you will see in our response to Adam_W (the leader of your group) on August 16th. We offered a variety of upgraded room options to accommodate your group. Which were all refused by him. As for your comments on our pace of play, we maintain a four and one half hour (4 ½ ) average pace of play,...

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our group has been going to Garland for 12 years. The reservationist inadvertantly cancelled one of our villas and our group had to split up. I asked Paul, the manager of reservations, to help and there was no accomodation. The front desk staff are unhelpful, rude and act as if they are doing you favor instead of performing great customer...

 Report
Helpful?
10Thank AW1968
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

It’s unfortunate that you didn’t ask to speak to a Director during your stay so we could attempt to resolve any concerns you may have had. If you would like to speak with a Director about any concerns you may have had during your recent stay please call Garland at (989) 786-2211

Milton, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We are a group of 8, we went in September 2012 and had a good time, we rebooked and paid our $800 deposit in November of the same year. Without notice and without making us aware they canceled our trip and kept the deposit. We found out about 1 month before our trip because we called to book an extra...

 Report
Helpful?
20Thank Adam Adam W
Brenda F, Hotel Director at Garland Lodge & Resort, responded to this review

Adam, your statements are not entirely accurate. There was a mistake on our part in canceling your reservation. We did offer you SEVERAL other room options which you informed us that your group is very rowdy (you mentioned your group likes to smoke and drink and can get rather loud) and needed more seclusion then we are offering you. We...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewiston
37.7 km away
Hampton Inn Gaylord
Hampton Inn Gaylord
#1 of 13 in Gaylord
442 reviews
36.9 km away
Ramada Grayling Hotel and Conference Center
40.0 km away
Super 8 Grayling
Super 8 Grayling
#2 of 9 in Grayling
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Gaylord
38.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Gaylord
32.5 km away
Treetops Resort
Treetops Resort
#4 of 13 in Gaylord
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Garland Lodge & Resort

Address: 4700 N Red Oak Rd, Lewiston, MI 49756
Region: United States > Michigan > Lewiston
Number of rooms: 120
Also Known As:
Garland Lodge And Resort
Garland Hotel Lewiston
Garland Resort Lewiston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Garland Lodge & Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Garland Lodge & Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we enjoyed being in the lodge but there are other options .”
adamkurn, 16 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Cabins are nice for a family or friends on a golf outing; very scenic!”
460traceya, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“take bug spray and a lot of golf balls”
out-of-here-arizona, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Go here and relax. Put your electronics away.”
Jfc1234, 1 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a fireplace! Ground floor rooms have walk-out patios onto grounds towards golf course!”
scheetz, 2 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5