We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

University Quality Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
University Quality Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 274: English reviews
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Horrendous hotel. We had 14 rooms, each was worse then the next. Filthy everything. Horrible beds, springy, stained bedding, dirty bedding. The common area was a horrible design made it very loud. Pool area never had clean towels. No elevator. Old, stained, splattered, nothing was clean, our lock on our door was broken, not close to anything good, and far... More 

Helpful?
Thank Scarr540
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We chose this hotel because it is near the capital building and the price was reasonable compared to the others in the area. Ugh, big mistake. Pay the extra money for a better hotel. Everything in the room felt dirty. I went to use the outlet under the desk and found dried food bits. It appears they don't vacuum under... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tori W

Travellers are raving about these Lansing hotels

1 review
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Forced into staying here for a hockey tournament through Hockey Time and it was deplorable conditions. Front desk was friendly but did nothing to rectify situation. It was HOT, no a/c or individual thermostats in rooms that work-heat was blasting our whole stay. Floors appeasers to not be vacuumed in weeks, stained & ripped sheets covered in hairs & crumbs.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Meghan C
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Meghan, I would like to apologize on behalf of the entire staff for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us. I would also like to apologize for the temperature you experienced in your room; we unfortunately run on one system heating and cooling. We did switch to heat due to the winter season fast approaching and... More 

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Yes, it's 2 minutes from the MSU campus but..... And that's a very big but if you expect a room with a 'real' window, a clean carpet, walls and bathroom, a bit of a sound barrier from the inside as well as outside noise, and a small area where you can get a bit of work done. So, let's say... More 

Helpful?
Thank PFdBk
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am pleased to see you enjoyed the location of our hotel during your recent stay with us. I would however like to apologize for the cleanliness issues you experienced and for the structure of the rooms. Our building once had exterior facing rooms, since the hotel was enclosed it did not allow for windows facing outside. I... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

weird style, no windows in the room. there is an indoor pool literaly in the middle of the rooms. decent breakfast, good wifi, free parking, clean rooms, but if you miss the house keeping in the morning , they ll never visit unless you ask reception to send them.

Helpful?
Thank Melik O
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Melik, I am pleased to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I would however like to apologize for housekeeping not cleaning your room during your stay. Your feedback will be shared with the team so future guests do not have a similar experience. I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review... More 

Coldwater, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Older hotel, needs many improvements, stained carpets, poor condition. Very loud outside rooms near pool, will need ear plugs for good night sleep. Just not a good experience. Selected to be near MSU, not worth location. Paid way too much for accommodations. Almost $200, about a $79 hotel if that. Heat or air conditioning depends on season. Heat already on... More 

Helpful?
Thank princessbuckeye72
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to apologize for not meeting your expectations during your recent stay with us. Due to the age of our building, we only have the opportunity to have a one system option for AC or heat. I do apologize that the temperature of your room and the noise level of others caused you to have an... More 

Stillwater, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

If you stay at this sort of lower end hotel frequently you know exactly what you are getting. You can expect a clean room, and a relatively comfy bed. The place has a bar, but it is about as sad as a bar can get. It's nearly within spitting distance of the pool which was filled with loud kids the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chris O
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chris, I am pleased to see our staff was able to provide exceptional service during your recent stay with us. I will be sure to share your valuable feedback with our staff so that they continue to provide great service to our guests. I would however like to apologize for the noise level you experienced during your recent stay.... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2016 via mobile

Reception is warm and helpful. Building is old and need renovation. Housekeeping is lazy they do the minimum. Dust all over, you have to tell them what to do. Good swimming pool. Breakfast is them same for 17 days. But is ok.

Helpful?
Thank Ali A
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Ali, I am pleased to see our staff was able to assist you during your recent stay with us and that you had the opportunity to enjoy our pool and courtyard area. I would however like to apologize for the cleanliness you experienced during your stay. I will be sharing your feedback with our housekeeping team so that they... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Exceptional in the design. They have an open space inside with a pool and dining area, TV, snacks and the breakfast room is close by. I liked this ground floor plan very much! Breakfast is very good. They have everything from waffle makers to cereals and scrambled eggs and sausages. Coffee is good. I would stay again at this hotel.

Helpful?
Thank RSH001
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am pleased to see you had the opportunity to enjoy our courtyard and pool area during your recent stay with us. I will be sharing your feedback with our breakfast staff so that they can continue offering the selections you enjoyed with our guests. I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete a... More 

Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

This place is very rundown and old and really needs some updating. Stains on the carpet, ironing board, etc. in the room and our room had a faint smoke smell. The professional pictures of the place online must have been either touched up or are really old because the place does not look that nice in person.

Helpful?
Thank Jacob2016W
Gabby R, Director of Sales at University Quality Inn, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I would like to apologize for your experience during your recent stay with us. Please know that we do have plans to being renovating our sleeping rooms towards the end of this year to better our guest experience. I would like to thank you for taking the time to complete a review based on your stay with us. More 

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (24)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lansing hotels
12.7 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 26 in Lansing
393 reviews
3.0 km away
Hyatt Place Lansing
Hyatt Place Lansing
#3 of 26 in Lansing
163 reviews
12.2 km away
Quality Suites Hotel
Quality Suites Hotel
#4 of 26 in Lansing
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 km away
Causeway Bay Lansing Hotel
12.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lansing West
3.7 km away
Radisson Hotel Lansing at the Capitol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The University Quality Inn is conveniently located right off of US-127, minutes from downtown Lansing, MSU, and within walking distance of 14 restaurants and 70 stores. The University Quality Inn offers rooms that are very spacious, a courtyard where you can enjoy the hotel lounge, indoor pool, hot tub and fitness center. You’ll find that our hotel is a great place to gather with a group or have a relaxing getaway. We offer rooms with luxurious heart shaped Jacuzzis, and comfortable suites for the entire family. We offer special group rates for corporate events and meetings, weddings, sports functions and various other events. Ask us about our special rates for your event. Whether it is for business or pleasure, we are sure you will find just what you need at the University Quality Inn. We offer the utmost in customer service and satisfaction; we are committed to making sure that your event meets all your expectations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about University Quality Inn

Address: 3121 E Grand River Ave, Lansing, MI 48912-4779
Region: United States > Michigan > Ingham County > Lansing
Price Range: €72 - €148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your University Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Quality Hotel Lansing
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn Lansing
Lansing Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from University Quality Inn staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Detroit, Michigan
over a year ago
Commerce Township, Michigan
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from University Quality Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you must stay, upper-level facing the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles PFdBk, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“No elevator and the place has two floors.”
  • Dirty ironing board.
  • Haven't seen a hotel with a straight curtain rod in a while, very tight!
 of 5 bubbles Jacob2016W, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Get a room far from the indoor pool as possible. Many rooms (2 story) open on to indoor pool and breakfast seating atrium.”
 of 5 bubbles scheubox, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Rooms around the atrium might be noisy with people at the bar or pool. Room 230 was a good compromise location.”
  • Looking down on the pool, breakfast area & bar in the atrium outside our room
  • 2nd floor hall in the morning - pool,atrium,breakfast,and tiki bar are to the left over the rail
  • Another view of our hall on the 2nd floor
  • Interior halls were really dark
  • Room 230 door and what used to be an exterior window that now looks onto the hall.
 of 5 bubbles Etoile_of_NE_Ohio, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Second floor rooms overlooking the pool would be great for families with kids”
 of 5 bubbles 451caryw, 3 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay