We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Super 8 Houghton

Expedia.comUS$108*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Super 8 Houghton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 644: English reviews
Start your review of Super 8 Houghton
 Click to rate
Lakeview, Arkansas
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank katherineh236
MI
HOTEL’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our last stay was great, so we tried it again. Same lovely view, same friendly people. Room had 2 double beds, fridge and coffee maker. Excellent location and close to some great places to eat. Did not use the pool or hot tub but did see some other folks enjoying it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CrusinCrew
About Hotel's Favourite Review
Kalamazoo
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Nice to see the updates being done to the guestrooms and building in general. Need to do some updating on the bathrooms; good but not great. Still a really good value and place to stay.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room layout with bathroom sink and entry to bathroom was a little unusual but worked. Some of the stairs to the 2nd floor had narrow steps and step grade.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank weakestlnk
Battle Creek, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bbarea
Marinette, Wisconsin
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tamis980
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Remodeling of common areas and rooms was occurring when we stayed (info, not a complaint). They are nice -sized rooms that are located (if you pay for lake view) overlooking the Portage Canal. Comfortable beds and very clean rooms which are my necessities from a basic, reasonably-priced motel. Very friendly staff, didn't check out the pool. Stayed here 2 nights...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clarice V
Roscommon, Michigan
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In general, all was well. However, we requested and got a room handicap accessible. Right next to the main entrance and check-in/check-out/lobby. Very noisy.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank markgQ1912HJ
Traverse City, Michigan
Reviewed 21 April 2017

I called the Super 8 in Houghton to inquire about rates for a weekend that I was going to be staying there. I spoke to Sandy the hotel manager and booked a reservation with the rate she quoted me because it was a few dollars cheaper than online. When I got to the hotel to check in I was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 47667emily
Eric W, General Manager at Super 8 Houghton, responded to this review

Dear Emily Thomas Thank you for sharing your comments with us concerning your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry that you were most unhappy with the rates that we offer at our hotel. However, I do belief that there was a misunderstanding that you had with the rates provided. Per my phone conversation with you on April 17,...

Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Nice location and the views of the water are worth the premium. There were maintenance problems when we were there with the electronic locks. Breakfast left a lot to be desired, but I guess that is Super8 standard.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
Eric W, General Manager at Super 8 Houghton, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your review. I will check with maintenance to make sure that they are cleaning locks per schedule. We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again.

50 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Houghton
2.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Houghton
1.5 km away
Ramada Hancock Waterfront
1.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 7 in Houghton
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 km away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Calumet
0.5 km away
Magnuson Franklin Square Inn
39.6 km away
Baraga Lakeside Inn
Baraga Lakeside Inn
#1 of 4 in Baraga
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Babysitting
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Super 8 Houghton

Address: 1200 E Lakeshore Dr, N on Lake St From US 41, Houghton, MI 49931-1300
Region: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Houghton
Price Range: €93 - €100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Houghton 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Houghton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Houghton Hotel Houghton
Super Eight Houghton
Houghton Super Eight
Houghton Super 8
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Super 8 Houghton staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Super 8 Houghton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a lake view, second floor won't have people walking by on the path.”
5mamec, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Call Ahead, if possible.”
jamesj269, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Has water front views and good boardwalk along water front”
W1253XDdavidb, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Kinda hard to locate. Road construction could have been the issue.”
carrieh715, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Riverside rooms have the best views.”
J4030AWrichardb, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$108* /night
View Deal
HotelQuicklyUS$127
Hotels.comUS$108
TravelocityUS$108
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates