We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Lakeside Motel & Cottages

    515 Park St, Bus US 127, M-61, Harrison, MI 48625-9222
    Hotel website
    Save
    May 7
    May 8
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Lock in the lowest price from our partners
    View Deal
    Traveller (14)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Days Inn of Clare
    451 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Clare
     
    American Oak Resort
    73 reviews
    #8 of 15 hotels in Houghton Lake
     
    Super 8 Houghton Lake
    320 reviews
    #1 of 15 hotels in Houghton Lake
     
    Overview

    • Excellent47%
    • Very good24%
    • Average13%
    • Poor9%
    • Terrible5%
    19 Aug 2016
    “Very functional, albeit quaint ”
    25 Jul 2016
    “Always a nice stay”
    Free Wifi
    Free Parking
    Beachfront
    All hotel details
    Offers from Lakeside Motel & Cottages
    Special Offer: Book Direct for Best Rate
    {"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
    Days Inn of Clare
    451 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Clare
     
    American Oak Resort
    73 reviews
    #8 of 15 hotels in Houghton Lake
     
    Super 8 Houghton Lake
    320 reviews
    #1 of 15 hotels in Houghton Lake
     
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    Reviewed 10 January 2017

    The owner (im guessing) was rude right from check in. Going over rules several times as though we were children. The room smelled like musty mildew when we arrived. Left the door open to try to clear out smell even though it was freezing temps....More

    Helpful?
    Response from LadyMichigander, Manager at Lakeside Motel & Cottages

    We are sorry for any inconvenience you experienced. We did have alternate rooms without wool carpet available the evening you stayed and we would have been happy to switch you. Sadly, in our rural area, we still have people that will smoke in the rooms...More

    Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

    If I could give this motel negative stars I would. The rooms were dirty and the shower was EXTREMELY tiny. Yes the motel allows pets but is far from friendly. The beach is not nice and the website says you can rent boats, that is...More

    Helpful?
    Response from LadyMichigander, General Manager at Lakeside Motel & Cottages

    Blane replies: TripAdvisor reviews should be helpful for both the business and future customers. This reviewer came to our business angry and prepared to be disappointed, perhaps because we had to contact her regarding the invalid credit card she used to make her Labor Day...More

    Reviewed 19 August 2016 via mobile

    My family stays at the Lakeside when we come to Harrison to visit family. With this being said, we are repeat customers and choose to stay here at least once a year for several consecutive nights. The cottages have enough space for a small family...More

    Helpful?
    Response from LadyMichigander, Manager at Lakeside Motel & Cottages

    Thank you for your kind review. We will be taking your comments to heart when we decide on new flooring for the cottages!

    Reviewed 12 August 2016 via mobile

    The "beach" access is not swim quality water. Weeds everywhere. Spiders in cottage and webs. Boat for rental in need of seat repair,missing screws. No stove available. Had to waste a bunch of food we brought. Had to take kids to state beach to swim...More

    Helpful?1  
    Response from LadyMichigander, Manager at Lakeside Motel & Cottages

    Thank you for taking the time to review our cozy cottage. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay. In response to specific concerns: Our peat-bottom lake (the same lake as at the state park) is clean and healthy with fish and weed...More

    Reviewed 31 July 2016

    My husband and I just wanted a nice relaxing no rush no hurry vacation on a lake with fishing and nice lake views. Lakeside did not disappoint. The cabin was cozy with plenty of room and amenities. Will recommend to family and friends. The owners...More

    Helpful?
    Days Inn of Clare
    451 reviews
    #2 of 4 hotels in Clare
     
    American Oak Resort
    73 reviews
    #8 of 15 hotels in Houghton Lake
     
    Super 8 Houghton Lake
    320 reviews
    #1 of 15 hotels in Houghton Lake
     
    About
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Beachfront
    • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Room amenities
    • Air Conditioning
    • Refrigerator in room
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$66 - US$76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Kitchenette ,
    • Accessible rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 15
    Photos
    Traveller (14)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Room & Suite (1)
    Hotel & Grounds (14)
    Nearby
    Nearby Restaurants
    Jackies Airport Resturant
    21 reviews
    4.39 km away
    Chuck Wagon Family Restaurant & Pizzeria
    8 reviews
    1.72 km away
    Jack Pine Restaurant
    22 reviews
    .80 km away
    Budd Lake Bar & Restaurant
    21 reviews
    .82 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Snow Snake Ski & Golf
    15 reviews
    6.57 km away
    The Ideal Theatre
    28 reviews
    21.71 km away
    Oasis Salon & Spa
    8 reviews
    24.17 km away
    Pineview Highlands Golf Course
    15 reviews
    31.97 km away
    Questions & Answers
    Get quick answers from Lakeside Motel & Cottages staff and past guests.
    Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
    Posting guidelines
    Submit
    Room Tips
    "we stayed in cabin#2 had a nice lake view. Most of the rooms at the motel are lake view"
    Read review
    "Not sure about the motel, stayed in the cottage"
    Read review
    "The cottages have a fire pit, bbq, and place for your vehicle. I didn't see inside the rooms so I..."
    Read review
    "Check with them if you need accomodations."
    Read review