We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 308: English reviews
Start your review of Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
 Click to rate
Shelby
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Overall it was a nice-ish hotel. I liked the setting on the river and the historicity of the hotel. We had made a reservation for a riverside room, but ended up overlooking a parking lot. We were told there were no other options. The room was pretty clean. But the walls were thin and we're awakened in the early morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeff S
RobRivHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Thank you very kindly for your review of your stay at the Roberts Riverwalk Hotel. We appreciate the time you took to provide your experience. Please contact us to find out about your room reservation as we would love to have you back at a discount to have the type of room you wanted. Thank you for your compliments and...

Pataskala, Ohio
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

smelled like marajuana rude receptionist mr coronado inconvienient parking bug crawling on ceiling dust webbs on drapes broken handle on the jack and jill door light switch didnt work had to turn on the lights from the lamp no microwave(it was located in the lobby) no refrige had to pay extra. for real seriously we paid for a chairmans suite!!!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank doughboy6684
North Branch, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked over 3 weeks in advance and when we checked in they had NO reservation even tho I had a confirmation. Finally got a room but wish we hadn't....No blankets for the beds, phones didn't work, TV didn't work, Pot smells thru out the hall to the point we were getting high.,,with the security guard standing there. So cold...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Gayle C
RobRivHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide this review Gayle. This is the first we are hearing of this complaint from the reservation issues to the accounting of your experience you described on property. We have no record of your complaints and would invite you to speak with us directly to learn more. We have in our files that...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stay away from this hotel. It is not reliable and you'll end up on the streets just like I did. I'm from Canada and arrived at the Roberts Riverwalk to be told my reservation does not exist. Even after showing them my confirmation number. They did nothing to help me. When I first arrived at the hotel there were beer...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Scarlett L
RobRivHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Hello Scarlett and thank you for taking the time to review the Roberts Riverwalk Hotel. Unfortunately you made your reservation shortly before your arrival via a 3rd party site and we were in fact overbooked by that site. We have since rectified that situation and though it was not at our fault or control, we do apologize for your inconvenience...

Decatur, Texas
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Do yourself a favor and stay away from this hotel. I could write about the slow and tedious check-in with a front desk staff that did not understand the process or the antiquated computers. I could write about the dingy outdated poorly stocked rooms and the marginal food. But this all pales to the fact that someone tried to enter...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank robc310
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was impressed with the views of the river. And all the old architecture was a bonus. Our room was clean and quite. Staff during our whole stay where accommodating and very helpful. Would stay here again. These rooms are huge and inviting.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
RobRivHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Thank you very kindly Angela for your very kind review! We appreciate your business and the time you have taken to share your experience. We will look forward to your return! Sincerely, Guest Services Mgr. Roberts Riverwalk Hotel

Reviewed 7 March 2017 via mobile

Very surprised how nice it was for an older building. Rooms were great, staff not so much. My husband and I stayed Friday night and left both (yes both) our phone chargers in the room and did not realize until we got home (45 minutes away). We called the hotel and asked if they could please check the room, they...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carly R
RobRivHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and for taking the time to provide your review. We understand any frustration with leaving personal belongings behind. Hopefully it is reasonable for you to understand that our staff begins cleaning rooms immediately after check out. If anything was found and left behind, it was placed in lost and found. Checking the room was too...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

Our first visit to Detroit and I'm wondering where the did my lovely wife book us for 2 nights? Set just 10 minutes from the heart of the city and 6 minutes from Greek town this hotel is staged in an old building next to the river. If you stay riverside you have a great view of Windsor. Upon walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
RobRivHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Thank you for your very kind review of your stay at the Roberts Riverwalk Hotel recently! We look forward to your return and always appreciate feedback with great positive detail about our beautiful and conveniently located property. Kindly, Guest Relations Mgr. Roberts Riverwalk Hotel

Fairfield, California
Reviewed 2 March 2017

This place couldn't find our reservation to start with,so we had to make another. Requested a fridge that we never received, but was charged for. No wash cloths in bathroom, notified Front Desk and was given a large towel and was told to make our own. What does that even mean? No hot water for most of our stay. Again...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank whitefeather12
NW Ohio
Reviewed 24 February 2017

Despite some of these reviews we went and I'm so glad we did, as we were able to discover a new side of Detroit. We really enjoyed our stay at this establishment. It was dated in the rooms, but it's beautiful!! I loved the high ceilings and the gorgeous view of the river from our room. The only real complaint...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FrugaliciousDiva
RobRivHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your very kind review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Roberts Riverwalk Hotel, our location and attentive staff. We will look forward to your return! Sincerely, Guest Relations Mgr. Roberts Riverwalk Hotel

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit

Address: 1000 River Place Dr, Detroit, MI 48207-4243
Region: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Price Range: €101 - €173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel And Residence Detroit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“what looks good online isnt always as it appears”
doughboy6684, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The odd number rooms has the view of the river. You'll love the view!!”
FrugaliciousDiva, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“stay somewhere else where they actually keep a reservation!”
raz1691, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay there!”
961kavitar, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Dont book this hotel”
82nancyo, 16 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5