We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

1896 House - Barnside Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
1896 House - Barnside Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

164 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 163: English reviews
Start your review of 1896 House - Barnside Inn
 Click to rate
Saratoga Springs, New York
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

The Staff is so wonderful, they are very attentive and they make you feel so special. We had a problem with our fireplace and within hours they had a repair man there fixing it. We really enjoy the 1896 House it is so clean. Would we stay there again, yes. And we have stayed many times.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chevy4669
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind comments about the 1896 House and our staff! We are really happy that you have stayed with us many times, and we look forward to your future visits to the 1896 House.

Warrensburg, New York
INNKEEPER’S FAVOURITE REVIEW
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Spent two nights in suite 206 and couldn't have been happier with the accommodations and the staff. The suite is decorated in period antiques with a king-sized four poster bed that was perhaps the most comfortable "hotel" bed I've ever slept in. The sitting area in front of the gas fireplace was the perfect spot for reading, relaxing and planning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MikeM1957
About Innkeeper's Favourite Review
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely comments about the property, the suite that you stayed in, our caring staff members, and the '6 House Pub. We are extremely happy that you chose to visit the 1896 House and the '6 House pub to celebrate your 15th wedding anniversary; it sounds like this was definitely a memorable getaway for the...

Catskill Region, New York
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We booked a suite based on Wendy's recommendation.It was so elegantly decorated and extremely clean.I didn't want to leave the room,it was so peaceful.Thank you Mary!However,we do enjoy eating and left our room.Our stay included breakfast which was terrific! Great atmosphere,and Chef Delores was a delight. Fresh fruits,breads and muffins in addition to an omelette or french toast very filling...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ndorn9
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experiences. We are very happy to hear that all aspects of your stay were memorable! All staff members take great pride in their work, and they will be glad to hear that their efforts were very much appreciated during your stay at the hotel and your visit to the '6 House Pub. All of us...

Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

OK for one night nice bar near by Slightly dark room and need some redecorating Our door closed and we could not get out of the room finally me managed to open without assistance as it was delayed! Reasonably priced

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronny W
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for writing. Our Luxury Barnside Suites have more than enough lighting; between the large windows located at the front of each suite, the overhead dimming lights, and the unique lamps, our guests have the ability to make their room as dark or as light as they wish. You obviously were not locked inside of your room, as you...

Towcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 October 2016

We had just one night and that was one too many! I see all good reviews here are for the suites numbered in the 201 - 206, we were in room 101. Dark, dank smell, blocked bathroom sink, reasonably clean,Very very bad beds, in fact we both had sore backs for three days after. Staff that don,t seem to care...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian G
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

First, to clear up any confusion, you stayed in one of our hotel rooms on Brookside, which is why the only posts that you will find on this page pertain to our Barnside Suites (rooms 201-206). The Brookside rooms are characterized as having a “mountain cabin” feeling to them. There are windows on the front-facing part of the rooms (looking...

Housatonic, Massachusetts
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Was at the 1896 house for a wedding, had planned on staying over there, the room was amazing, very beautiful and comfortable! Would love to stay there again some time! The room had nice amenities, was tastefully decorated and nice and quiet when it came time to sleep. Loved having a porch to sit out on.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Your nice comments are greatly appreciated. We hope that you had a great time at the wedding that you were attending! Each one of the six suites are decorated to resemble a different time period, and we would love if you visited again and got to enjoy another one of our unique rooms. We look forward to your next visit.

Wakefield, Rhode Island
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This was our second visit to the 1896 House. We stayed in one of the suites, very roomy and elegant, with a jacuzzi in the bathroom, a fireplace, a king-size bed and (best of all) a porch of wicker furniture. You can hear the brook bubbling nearby as you relax on the porch. Breakfast is served in a unit at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Betty C
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

We are so happy that you returned to visit us! It is great to hear that you enjoyed all of the amenities that the suites have to offer, and that you spent time relaxing outside by the brook. The breakfast chef prepares a different meal each day for our guests, and she will be delighted to hear the compliments that...

Hoosick Falls, New York
Reviewed 26 July 2016

To begin our stay we checked in and the amazing customer service of the front desk staff set the tone of our trip with The 1896 House! They have three different properties which are all great, this trip was special so we decided on the suites due to an amazing deal they were running on Bedandbreakfast,com! We got into our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KAYMO21
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for posting about your visit with us at the 1896 House and the '6 House Pub. We take pride in the customer service that our guests receive, and the front desk staff will be excited to hear that they played a major role in your enjoyable stay. Being that the ‘6 House Pub is located in the same...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Unfortunate 1night stay at 1896 House to attend Williamstown Theater Festival. Room was dirty, carpet filthy, horrible odor of mold and overpowering aerosol air freshener burned my eyes and mouth. Bugs and spider webs caked the front door lights. TV barely worked, no phone reception, awful pillows, bedding, mattress. I couldn't wait to get out of there---checked out by 8...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank grayaway
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you felt this way about your stay. The night before you checked in, one of our guests spilled wine on the floor of the hotel room that you were staying in. The carpet was cleaned, but unfortunately, a stain remained temporarily. Our housekeepers, with hard work, managed to remove the stain from the carpet. There is...

Scituate, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 July 2016

I booked a room at this hotel for my wife and daughter for last weekend. I should have known that with all the available rooms on a summer weekend in the Berkshires that this wasn't a great hotel. When my wife checked in she immediately called me and said the website pictures don't match the actual hotel. My wife described...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank WalkswithNoCares
Zac O, Manager at 1896 House - Barnside Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for writing. To be clear, we have three unique hotel buildings on our 17-acre property. You mentioned that you looked at pictures of our Barnside Luxury Suites, but you booked a room in one of our Country Rooms. Contrary to your assertion, all of our rooms are continuously updated and include wonderful amenities such as flat screen TV’s, authentic...

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
3.2 km away
The Orchards Hotel
The Orchards Hotel
#5 of 13 in Williamstown
442 reviews
2.6 km away
The Williams Inn
The Williams Inn
#4 of 13 in Williamstown
277 reviews
15.3 km away
Vacation Village in the Berkshires
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
The Porches Inn at MASS MoCA
#1 of 3 in North Adams
590 reviews
26.9 km away
Hotel on North
Hotel on North
#1 of 8 in Pittsfield
377 reviews
0.7 km away
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
Berkshire Hills Country Inn
#8 of 13 in Williamstown
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enchanting 3 building property on a brook and pond. Variety of luxury suites with a candlelight gourmet breakfast and immaculate and charming traditional motel rooms with a hot breakfast buffet. Many bed configurations and some connecting rooms. Some dual whirlpool tubs, fireplaces, canopy beds, and parlor stoves. Seasonal heated pool. Free WiFi and business center. Very popular ‘6 House Pub on site. Gourmet restaurant adjacent. Free parking. All non-smoking. Accessible room. One 3 Room Apartment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about 1896 House - Barnside Inn

Address: 910 Cold Spring Rd, Williamstown, MA 01267-2732
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Berkshires > Williamstown
Price Range: €205 - €287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 1896 House - Barnside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1896 House - Barnside Hotel Williamstown
1896 Hotel Country
1896 Motel Country
Country Inn Williamstown
Williamstown Country Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from 1896 House - Barnside Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The suites are all wonderful. Even the regular rooms are very nice. A very clean hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles chevy4669, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The suites 201-206 are incredible.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeM1957, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay in 201-206 or don't stay at all”
 of 5 bubbles GillianG453, 3 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Although the suites are attached motel-style they are very private - really isn't a "bad" room.”
 of 5 bubbles M6163VWbettyc, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Look at the pictures on their web site. Room 201 is next to the breakfast room.”
 of 5 bubbles Susan10RI, 29 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5