We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Inn on the Green

About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Old Inn on the Green is the centerpiece of the historic and scenic village of New Marlborough. With authentically restored rooms, you'll feel like you've just stepped back in time to the tranquility of the eighteenth century. Our Inn preserves the understated elegance of classic decor, down to the tiny details, like a restaurant that is entirely lit by candle light. Escape with us to a serene and relaxing environment in one of our 11 rooms complete with wifi, a pool, and lounge areas for your enjoyment. Located just outside a broad cultural base, when you stay with us, you are a close to a variety of cultural institutions such as Norman Rockwell Museum, Clark Art Institute, and various natural wonders and trails. Join us for a meal in our cozy and intimate dining room with top quality cuisine by Chef Peter. We also have a newly renovated bar where you can have a drink by the glow of candle light and fireplace. When it's nice outside, dining is open on our canopied garden terrace in the back of the Inn. Your complete satisfaction and relaxation are our top priorities. Our friendly and accommodating staff is here to be sure that your stay is peaceful, and we can be your escape home away from home.
Read more
Property amenities
Pool
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting Rooms
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Bradley Intl Airport50 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
262Reviews
128Photos
5Q+A
78Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 162
  • 54
  • 21
  • 18
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
Needed a weekend away from daily hubbub. This was perfect. Quaint rustic ,lovely hosts. Meals were great. Sad jacuzzi in our room did not work. Might not be right for those looking for fancy amenities but we really loved the ambiance and decor
Read more
What a setting for a memorable birthday celebration: The Old Inn has a room somewhat set aside from the main dining room, perfect for private gatherings. This past weekend I attended a birthday - attended by 12 people. The Inn (and the "private" room) are a perfect setting for a
Read more
We had a wonderful experience staying at the Old Inn, but, to be honest, it may not be for everyone (or at least be prepared). We stayed for two nights, via a Groupon deal which included dinner one night, breakfast for both days, and lunch nearby for one day. It was well worth it
Read more
Response from Peter P, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green
Responded 3 Nov 2018
Thank you very much for this thoughtful review. We're so glad that you had an enjoyable stay! This whole area is rich in history and we are an historic inn. In fact, we were chosen by Yankee Magazine as the #1 historic inn in New England! However, we do understand the need for modern conveniences(thank goodness for the A/C in warmer months), and we try to strike a balance. That said, we do agree that it is important for people to call and ask us any questions they may have prior to their visit, as we want people to have a pleasurable experience with us. Sincerely, Peter Platt & Meredith Kennard, Owners
Read more
This quaint historic inn was charming, if a little worn. The main problem was the stairs to the room. They were extremely steep with very high steps. The really GREAT thing about he inn was the restaurant - 5 stars.
Read more
Response from Peter P, Owner at The Old Inn on the Green
Responded 3 Nov 2018
Priscilla, thank you so much for your review. Sorry you had difficulty with the stairs. It's an 18th century building that comes with quirks! We're thrilled that overall, you enjoyed your stay. Hope to have you back again. All the best, Peter Platt & Meredith Kennard, Owners
Read more
+10
This was our first time visiting this part of the country. The area was recommended by friends who met us here. Pros and cons to the inn.

We stayed in the Thayer House on the second floor. Know there are no elevators or bell boys to handle your luggage, it’s all on you. When
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play Areas
room 204 window screens in the closet Thayer House
Room 204 Thayer House
Room 204 Thayer House
Room 204 Thayer House
Previous
we travel with a 7 pound mini dog. Do you accept small dogs? thanks
I don't know if they allow dogs. I would call the inn on a land line to ask. The internet and wireless service is terrible at the Inn. They might not ever get your email.
0 votes
Show all answers
I am trying to find a menu for your Inn. Thank You
I don't have a menu - but there is both a prix fixe and an a la carte menu. The a la carte is very extensive, and I believe could satisfy anyone's needs.
0 votes
How long a drive to Stockbridge/Lenox area?
From The Old Inn, it's an easy 20 min. drive to Stockbridge and Lenox is another 10 min. further up Route 7
0 votes
An addendum to my review. We stayed on a Groupon offer, however months after our stay we received a regular price bill from the Inn, which my companion inadvertently paid. Not cool at all but also our fault for not paying better attention. So beware.
I don't see a question either....but I agree with Carrottop that we found Peter to be a straight up guy....but not so good with the details. We mentioned a coupon offer when we made our reservation...but didn't actually use that coupon, and he didn't charge us because he thought we had the coupon. We had to tell him that we owed him money, so I think the billing was totally a mistake and they will correct it.
0 votes
Show all answers
I believe someone deleted my review of the Inn. I contacted tripadvisor about it. Hopefully someone reposts my review since it wasn't a completely positive one and I think readers deserve to hear everything.
An Answer for "Mary Hogan": We're truly sorry that you didn't have a better experience when you visited. Although it's not always easy to hear the negative, it can help us to improve the experience for our guests. It would also have been helpful if you had chosen to talk to us as well while you were here. It seems you were mistaken about a number of things which could have been clarified at the time. We agree entirely that readers deserve to hear about the pros and cons. They also deserve to hear the truth. Property owners do not have the ability to remove or alter posts, good or bad. Nor do they have the power to make the ultimate decision regarding which posts stay and which are removed. Your post was removed not by us but by Tripadvisor. And not because it was negative but because Tripadvisor thought it was inappropriate. We would be happy to discuss your stay with you in more detail. Please feel free to email us personally.
2 votes
Show all answers
"Do not stay in the Thayer House, which lacks Wi-Fi altogether."
"Country-style rooms with communal seating areas/dvds/vhsmagazines to use for free"
"206 perfect for dogs"
"It doesn’t matter whether you are in the main inn or the Thayer House. Both great."
"Not all rooms have fireplaces so check if that's important to you."
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$301 - US$348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the old inn on the green hotel new marlborough
LOCATION
United StatesMassachusettsBerkshiresNew Marlborough
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing