We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Americas Best Value Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 74: English reviews
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed here six times through three owners over 14 years. Current owners putting money into place.... metal roof, room upgrades. Room and bath very clean, fresh smelling. I would like plusher towels. This is old-school motel with cozy rooms. More character than chain motels. Very handy to C&O Trail. Cycle friendly with hose to spray off bikes and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 49jeffreyg
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We stayed here for an overnight while biking and had our puppy with us. The hotel grounds are lovely and the rooms were very quaint and extremely clean. We rode the bike trail and it was very convenient to the trail. Their is a family restaurant directly across the street which is convenient. The hotel is older but they have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
Webster, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2016

I felt we were inconviencing the hotel clerk, by trying to register. It was hard to find someone at the desk. Seems like they had other things to do. Furniture was old. It did have some charm. Beds mattress were dipping to one side. Bathroom old. VERY POOR WI-FI. We tried all night to get on. Nothing. Hotel say "no... More 

Helpful?
Thank susansU8511HT
Kristina S, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

sorry, for the inconveniences, no one got WiFi that night and the few days after it, the WiFi was in fact doing poorly, we couldn't fix it. the no vacancy sign was on because we forgot to turn it off from the night before. More 

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

I was bicycle riding the C & O Canal trail and had this motel recommended. The ONLY negative for a weary cycler was the climb up the hill which wasn't -that- steep or long. At checkin, they had my reservation, handed me a bottle of water and let me know where i could use laundry for my muddy clothing and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank boater87
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2016

This is by far one of the most adorable places to stay. It has a big old style mansion where you can sit on the front porch and eat the included breakfast. With a 1950's vibe it is spotless and decorated with old bicycles as it is a favorite spot for bike riders with a canal path nearby. It is... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank vollms
Kristina S, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

thank you for the positive feed back. More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

rating this place very good based of price relative to other places I looked at. We were on bike ride with car support. It would have been hard to get to if we had not had a car. There is a restaurant right across the road but we didn't eat there. We had room #101 which is the best. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bill R
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2016

I travel through Hancock 3-4 times a year and was always intrigued by its outside appearance. It looked cozy and inviting so I decided to give it a try. I wasn't disappointed. Kristina was quite welcoming in the old-fashioned, family-values way. The room was very reasonably priced and had an appealing country charm. It was clean and tidy and had... More 

Helpful?
Thank tazgolftaz
Kristina S, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

thank you for the positive feed back. More 

Luray
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

Service was terrible. Manager/front desk was rude and very unhelpful . When I asked if I could see one of the rooms he refused. overstuffed armchairs outside the rooms that just looked ridiculous. Not sure what look they were going for. Certainly not anywhere I would recommend to others. Can I say it was a bit scary.

Helpful?
Thank LindLuray
Kristina S, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Excuse us for the inconveniences, the chairs outside are a temporary old look, added to the place. the clerk refused to let you in to the room, because he claims you had registered before coming here, and he apologizes dearly for the caused inconveniences. More 

Beamsville
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Some described this establishment as "Vintage", I would suggest old and tired. Rooms have little or no updating since this Motel was built I would suspect. But...having said this the rooms were extremely clean, with flatscreen TV's. Breakfast was very limited but there is a good restaurant right across the street. The grounds outside could use some maintenance. Owners have... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndDelVio
Kristina S, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

We apologize dearly for the bad look of the place, there isn't a lot we can do right now, we don't get to much business, as you can see why, and thank you for informing us, so that we can be ready for the future. More 

Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The hotel is not actually on the main street of Hancock, it is on a highway above it. The room that I had was #109 and was clean with a comfortable king-sized bed, a couch, table, etc. There is a good restaurant across the street called Potomac Grill. I used Priceline to book the hotel. There is easy walking access... More 

Helpful?
Thank John S
Kristina S, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your compliments of this place, we are sorry for the "blood" spots on the towel, those are actually rust spots made from the washer when wet sheets and towels are left in the for to long that rust gets on the towels and sheets. And we are trying to update all the rooms. More 

81 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hancock
11.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs Inn
BEST WESTERN Berkeley Springs In...
#2 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
329 reviews
8.8 km away
The Country Inn of Berkeley Springs
The Country Inn of Berkeley Spri...
#1 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
153 reviews
24.2 km away
Cacapon Resort State Park
Cacapon Resort State Park
#3 of 6 in Berkeley Springs
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.9 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Clear Spring
29.3 km away
Motel 6 Martinsburg
Motel 6 Martinsburg
#3 of 14 in Martinsburg
165 reviews
36.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Hagerstown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Banquet Room
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Americas Best Value Inn of Hancock is located only 5 miles from both West Virginia and Pennsylvania at the narrowest point of Maryland. This charming, quaint, newly remodeled 22-Guest room Inn is positioned on one of the picturesque hills of the Appalachian Mountains, near the banks of the Potomac River. Our Guest rooms offer luxurious amenities that include cable TV, complimentary local calls, a work station and much more. Complimentary Continental Breakfast is available in the lobby. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 2 Blue Hill Road, Hancock, MD 21750
Region: United States > Maryland > Hancock
Price Range: €48 - €69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn Hancock
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“room #101 slightly larger than others.”
 of 5 bubbles billr2016, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I'll try for the leftmost room next time. Looks a bit larger with a bay window-that's the Back Exterior room picture on their website.”
 of 5 bubbles tazgolftaz, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Room 114 has new beds that are perfect. Small room so don't complain!”
 of 5 bubbles 969vickib, 5 May 2016 | Read review
“Get in a higher room number - they are further away from the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles 513kellyr, 28 Apr 2016 | Read review
“we were in room 106”
 of 5 bubbles sg107e, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay