We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

American Inn of Bethesda

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
American Inn of Bethesda
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

285 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for American Inn of Bethesda
See the most recent reviews
Showing 269: English reviews
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My family had our family reunion at the hotel and the overall experience was wonderful. The staff was excellent from the time we checked in till we checked out. The parking garage was being worked on so they took care of all of our parking fees during the weekend. The breakfast was excellent. The staff was wonderful, friendly. The rooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gina f
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We really enjoyed hosting you and your family at our hotel. I'm glad to hear that our service and accommodations met and exceeded your expectations. I hope that you will chose us again for your next reunion. We appreciate your business.

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We chose the hotel for its location, which was great for doing what we needed to do. We appreciated being able to park for free and have breakfast on site. Our room was small but had everything we needed and was clean. What made the stay memorable, however, was the friendly, helpful service that Sam and Dipshan, managers, provided. They...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pat S
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on our service and accommodations. I'm happy to hear that our staff created a memorable experience for you at the American Inn. We hope that you will choose us again during your next visit to Bethesda.

Dana point
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Paying $100 a night, I had modest expectations for my stay here. A clean room, competent housekeeping, and basic safety would have been enough. None of those expectations were met. Within my first few days, I found mice running around the room. I had to buy and set up my own mousetraps . If this place isn't in violation of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sam_ocuc
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that your stay went so miserably, especially since you were here with us for such a long time. I am disappointed that, despite our efforts, we were still unable to resolve the challenges you reported to your complete satisfaction. We are committed to providing a safe and comfortable experience to every guest, which is why it...

New Canaan, Connecticut
Reviewed 26 July 2014

I was literally blown away with the service, kindness and professionalism that was shown by Manager on duty Sam. In a difficult situation he was really helpful and went above and beyond to accommodate me ending my trip in most positive way In addition, he secured a complimentary shuttle service, much needed by me from Will, who was also so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Blossum123
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm happy to hear that our staff was responsive to your needs and expectations. We hope that you will choose our hotel again for your next visit to Bethesda.

Toronto
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Except the price... you get what you pay for. 1) Smallest room I've ever seen. You could barely make you're way around. Like a closet 2) Terrible service. Housekeeping never showed up, request for towels ignored. 3) Only few (and very tight) parking spaces. Buffet breakfast was not edible

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sasso74
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm sorry to hear that we fell short of your expectations during your last stay. I understand how frustrating it can be when things don't go as well as you expect. Although some of our rooms are more cozy than others, we make every effort to honor the specific requests for room types and sizes. It's also disappointing to hear...

Hamilton
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our stay was very good. Front desk staff were helpful and friendly. Thoroughly enjoyed the outdoor pool with the warm weather. Very convenient location to DC using the metro or driving. Would go back to Rockville for shopping. Breakfast was a great start to the day of sightseeing. Parking at the hotel is very limited. All in all would stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sherno
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and our location. We appreciate your comments and your business. We hope that you will stay with us again.

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed at the American Inn of Bethesda over 4th of July weekend and booked through Expedia. We ended up booking the wrong dates by mistake, and didn't realize it until we got a call saying we were supposed to have checked out at 11:00. We were in the middle of DC at this point, and because we were so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank larry c
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

I'm glad that our staff was accommodating to you. Thanks for leaving your feedback. We appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit to Bethesda.

Montana
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in the south tower and found a quirky room that resembled grandmas attic as far as the ceiling. That was really cool. The room was clean, cool and really what more is needed? Breakfast was excellent, really liked the breakfast sandwiches which are and excellent idea for hotel breakfast but I've never seen that before. The desk staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank goldfishcastle
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. It's exciting to hear that our efforts to create memorable experiences for our guests are beginning to bear fruit. I hope that you will choose the American Inn during your next visit to the DC Metro Area.

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I enjoy staying at this hotel everytime i visit Maryland. Viola is awesome and takes very good care of me when i visit and almost always checks me in. The breakfast is amazing I recommend this hotel for anyone that desrves good customer service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LAMARCUS T
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

Thanks for your comments. I'm glad to hear that Viola create a memorable experience for you during your last stay. We look forward to your next visit with us!

Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Clean rooms, friendly lobby staff, tasty full hot breakfast. It's not the Four Seasons so don't expect that but honestly, everything was just right for the price I paid or better than expected. I was nicely surprised. I highly recommend to anyone who needs a comfortable place to stay on the budget.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lu79
Darryl C, General Manager at American Inn of Bethesda, responded to this review

We appreciate your honest feedback. I'm glad that we exceeded your expectations. Thanks for your visit and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethesda hotels
0.1 km away
Doubletree Hotel Bethesda
0.5 km away
Bethesda Court Hotel
Bethesda Court Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bethesda
388 reviews
0.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
Hyatt Regency Bethesda
#7 of 11 in Bethesda
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Bethesda
4.9 km away
Bethesda Marriott Suites
Bethesda Marriott Suites
#2 of 11 in Bethesda
379 reviews
1.0 km away
Residence Inn Bethesda Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delight to come home to, our Maryland hotel is designed to keep you comfortable and relaxed with stylish furnishings and a host of contemporary living amenities. Spacious and well-appointed with modern decor, our Bethesda hotel rooms are equipped with work desks, blackout drapes, premium cable television channels, clock radio, hair dryer, iron with ironing board, multi-line telephones and large in-room laptop safes. Free local calls and complimentary high-speed wireless Internet service (Wi-Fi) are provided in all of our accommodations to keep you connected on the go. We offer two different buildings to stay in, and a mini-fridge and rollaway beds are also available upon request. ... more   less 

Additional Information about American Inn of Bethesda

Address: 8130 Wisconsin Ave, Bethesda, MD 20814-3640
Region: United States > Maryland > Bethesda
Price Range: €70 - €161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — American Inn of Bethesda 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your American Inn of Bethesda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
American Inn Of Bethesda Hotel Bethesda
American Hotel Bethesda
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bethesda
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from American Inn of Bethesda staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from American Inn of Bethesda staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can't suggest what you should do if you arrive to find that there are no rooms left in the modern version of this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles VaBookwriter, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Corner suite - quiet and restful”
 of 5 bubbles 531indranid, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The Bethesda Court Hotel was recommended to us”
 of 5 bubbles kbtexan, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay in any of the rooms”
 of 5 bubbles 130abbyl, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“3rd floor was quiet, facing away from Wisoconsin Ave”
 of 5 bubbles Turkoize, 16 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay