We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ogunquit River Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ogunquit River Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ogunquit River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Boston
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We enjoyed our stay at the Ogunquit River Inn and Suites. Very nice rooms and a great continental breakfast. This hotel is definitely not for the handicapped. There are steep stairways everywhere with no elevators in sight. We enjoyed kayaking which is available in the back of the hotel. If you are in good shape and don't have a fear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank memento
Manager4143, Manager at Ogunquit River Inn, responded to this review

Hello Momento. Thanks for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and our amenities. We do have rooms that are available where no stairs are involved-called window rooms-right off the parking lot in 2 of our buildings. We usually advise that guests call ahead if they have cannot do stairs. Again, thanks...

Reviewed 21 July 2016

We had a wonderful stay at the Ogunquit River Inn. Our shared balcony room was clean and had a wonderful view of the river. Despite being the height of the summer, the inn was quiet and peaceful. Breakfast was good and my kids LOVED the pool. My husband and I loved how close it was to our favorite beach and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
Manager4143, Manager at Ogunquit River Inn, responded to this review

Hello Jessica W, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review and were so happy that your enjoyed your stay with us, as you said these past couple of weeks have been by far the warmest and were so glade to hear that you were able to cool off in your room as...

Marshfield, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 July 2016

Just stayed at this location, was very pleased with room size, view and comfort. Employees couldn't have been nicer. New mattress with pillow tops. very comfortable. full breakfast. Would recommend mattress covers. definitely would consider this hotel again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilsonsheila295
Manager4143, Manager at Ogunquit River Inn, responded to this review

Hello Sheila, Thanks for the wonderful review. We take pride in our employees so it's great that you noticed. We have many compliments on how comfortable our beds are and, yes, we're working on getting mattress covers. Again, thanks for the great review and hope to see you again soon.

Arlington, Massachusetts
Reviewed 20 July 2016

We have been going to this hotel/inn for many years, and that in and of itself speaks volumes. With all the choices available to us, we always choose The Ogunquit River Inn and Suites. We have been coming to this gem for so long that we were guests long before the current owns bought and renovated the property. The entire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Loretta C
Manager4143, Manager at Ogunquit River Inn, responded to this review

Hello Loretta, Thanks for the flattering review. Indeed, we think this resort is a gem as well. Oddly enough, this is the 1st resort I worked in 18 years ago, working for the original owner when it was the Plantation, so I've come full circle. This place has always been a gem. Again, thanks for the wonderful review and hope...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

Given that the cost of this hotel was significantly higher than others in the area, I would have expected much more: - incredibly rude front staff. It was like we were a bother! - staff provided incorrect information about trolley stop (and the trolley driver says this keeps occurring) - kayaking, which is offered at the hotel (and is great!),...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra G
Manager4143, Manager at Ogunquit River Inn, responded to this review

Alexandra G, I want to thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your previous stay. I am sorry to hear that your time with us, was not satisfactory and your interaction with our staff was unwelcoming. The trolley runs every 20 minutes, picks you up at the entrance to our hotel and will take you to...

Whitman, Massachusetts
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We had a king balcony room which was large and well furnished, the bed was very comfortable. I really love a good shower and this one did not disappoint, the water was hot and the pressure was great. We cannot say enough about the view, it was gorgeous, overlooking the river and saltmarsh. Eveyone was courteous and helpful. A perfect...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WhitmanBB
Manager4143, Manager at Ogunquit River Inn, responded to this review

WhitmanBB, We are overjoyed by your kind review! We are happy to hear that your stay was perfect, here at the Ogunquit River Inn! As you mentioned, our hotel is located on the Rachel Carson Wildlife Refuge and offers exceptional views of the river, marsh and ocean. We take pride in our staff providing excellent customer service, so I am...

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

I went on a second "honeymoon" with my husband. We stayed two nights. The room was comfortable. We had a parking lot facing room on the bottom floor, and would have preferred the other side with views of the Ogunquit river, but I didn't ask, so I did think that's their fault. The a/c worked great and the beds were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
Manager4143, Manager at Ogunquit River Inn, responded to this review

Angela M, I want to thank you for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us. All of our rooms face the water and backside of the property. Parking lot level rooms are level 3, and only have window views of the water. These rooms are the least expensive and require no stairs. We would have been happy...

Laconia, New Hampshire
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

Our family checked in on Monday and stayed a couple nights. From the moment we walked in we felt welcome. From the beautiful setting to the super friendly staff, they were more than accommodating. When I booked on booking.com I didn't realize I booked a room without a view. As soon as Polly at the front desk saw that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeeJay101
Manager4143, Manager at Ogunquit River Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thanks for the review. We're so glad you ended up enjoying your stay and that you felt welcome. We always try to make our guests feel as much at home as possible this is why we're always so willing to accommodate guests. Were glad you and your kids had a good time. Thanks again for the positive review...

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

My family and I just returned from our second stay at the Ogunquit River Inn. Both times we have stayed in the Penthouse suite. It has 2 bedrooms, a large living room/dining room and kitchen. It also has a large private balcony overlooking the river. It works perfectly for our family of 5. The rooms are clean and modern. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leenicolas
Manager4143, Manager at Ogunquit River Inn, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for the kind review. We're glad you loved our hotel so much. Our location is a peaceful one with the convenience of being just a minutes drive from the center of Ogunquit yet being at the quiet location on the river. The penthouse really is something special with a perfect view from its private balcony and...

Stow, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 July 2016

We arrived at the Inn just around 3:30 to check-in. There was one gentleman working behind the desk who was responsible for check-in, answering the phone and just about everything else. Once it was our turn he was extremely helpful and give us all the information about our room and the Inn. Our room was comfortable and we had a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Janet M
Manager4143, Owner at Ogunquit River Inn, responded to this review

Hello Janet M, Thank you so much for such a great review, as a staff here we all work together to make your stay with us the most relaxing and enjoyable experience, and thank you for such gracious complements as far as our location and property even though we are built into the slope leading to the river bed and...

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
4.9 km away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#5 of 28 in Wells
721 reviews
0.7 km away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
3.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Gorges Grant Hotel
Gorges Grant Hotel
#2 of 36 in Ogunquit
523 reviews
2.9 km away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#9 of 36 in Ogunquit
991 reviews
5.0 km away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#4 of 28 in Wells
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ogunquit River Inn and Suites has 81 elegant rooms overlooking the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve, offering river and ocean views. We have an expanded complimentary continental breakfast. Stay with us and enjoy our heated outdoor pool and hot tub or leave your car while you enjoy the beach. Come relax and unwind with us! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ogunquit River Inn

Address: 17 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-3807 (Formerly Ogunquit River Plantation)
Region: United States > Maine > Wells
Price Range: €79 - €266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ogunquit River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ogunquit River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogunquit River Plantation Hotel Wells
River Plantation Hotel Ogunquit
River Plantation Ogunquit
Ogunquit River Inn Wells, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ogunquit River Inn staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Spofford, New Hampshire
6 months ago
11 months ago
Orlando, Florida
11 months ago
Milton, United States
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Ogunquit River Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request room without stairs if you prefer.”
  • TV and Desk
  • Comfortable room
  • Great queen beds
  • Separate from toile/shower
719royw, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony”
  • Comfortable room
bunkerman, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best Views”
, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go for the 2nd floor balconies.”
DaisyDiva07, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the second and third floors offer balconies”
lauried75, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5