We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Towne Motel

Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Management photos
Towne Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

103 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 99: English reviews
Start your review of Towne Motel
 Click to rate
Yarmouth, Maine
Reviewed 9 April 2017

I stayed here 2 years ago. This trip I was very pleased with my room which was clean and comfy. Each room has a dorm fridge and a microwave which was very convenient. The young lady at the front desk was super friendly as was Max the most chilled beagle ever. It is slow this time of year and plenty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgana P
Deborah P, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. We specialize in providing sparkling clean rooms, breakfast and good service. We know when people are away from home they want to be happy, so that is our goal. I'm glad to hear you will be back.

Darien, Connecticut
Reviewed 10 January 2017

As expected, the Towne Motel was simple, clean and efficient. Got nearly 2' of snow while there, and was cleared out quickly. We had to leave before 8am each of the two days we were there, so we could not rate the breakfast (which was served at 8am); but, there was a Dunkin Donuts around the corner. The motel allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David R
Reviewed 3 January 2017

Definitely a bit pricey for the Skowhegan area.Not worth $99 a night! Didn't start breakfast until 8am?? Steps were full of snow and not shoveled? Slippery walkway and had to proceed slowly.Definitely wouldn't stay there again for that price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rod G
Deborah P, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review

I'm sorry you weren't completely satisfied with your stay. Our winter rates range between $78 - $88 per night depending upon the room you choose. I am guessing this guest paid for extra people and or cots in one of our larger rooms. Additionally, winter stairways open to guests are indoors only. We take safety and inclement weather very seriously....

Winston Salem, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Had a kitchenette as we were in town for the week for work. Good thing, cuz breakfast didn't start til 8, after we had left every day (except the last day, and then we realized we weren't missing much). Spacious room, a little dated but comfy. Could have used a bit more maid service too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
Deborah P, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry you missed breakfast. Breakfast will resume being available at 7 am when summer hours commence in May. We offer cereals, breads, bagels, muffins, jams, fresh fruit, yogurt, hardboiled eggs, coffee, tea and hot chocolate. There are coffee makers and refrigerators in every room. I hope you will try again.

Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewed 11 November 2016

Towne Motel is a bit dated and needs a little bit of maintenance but we still think it was a pretty good one night stop over on the way from Maine to Canada. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room okay - reminiscent of motels from the 70s and 80s. But it was clean and had all that we really needed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 69jwjw69
Deborah P, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review

Oops, perhaps you rented one of our older rooms. We do timely renovation projects every few years so their are always newer rooms and a few older rooms. In fact, you will find the newest and largest rooms in Skowhegan at the Towne Motel. We hope you will give us another try, be sure to specify the kind of room...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

This was a very nice and clean hotel with friendly staff. The complementary breakfast was nice and plentiful. There was a coffee pot and refrigerator in our room too. We were just passing thru, glad we stopped here.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Deborah P, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We take pride in providing sparkling clean rooms, breakfast and a friendly face while you are on the road.

Renton, Washington
Reviewed 29 October 2016

It's a very nice place - very clean and cute. We love to stay at Mom & Pop places, and we were glad to stay there and support them. We were very pleased with our stay, and we hope to come back soon!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodney & Ja... R
Deborah P, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We take pride in providing sparkling clean rooms, breakfast and a friendly face while you are on the road.

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

A very clean, quiet well maintained motel. A more than adequate buffet breakfast is included. It is a breath of fresh air after many of the current flashier motels. A pleasant visit to earlier times. Helpful owners. One negative as one helper tried to not give us the room type we reserved. She was reported to the owner and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank atraveler006
Deborah P, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review. We always try the best we can to meet the needs of travelers. I am sorry we misunderstood your request. Hope to see you again on another trip.

Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Passing through on the way to Bar Harbor it was Ok for an overnight stop. A mom & pop owned that is dated but in good condition. It was raining which made the exterior stairs and second floor balcony slippery. There is an interior stairwell I found the next day. The room was spacious, clean and nice décor. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
Deborah P, Owner at Towne Motel, responded to this review

Yes, Skowhegan is a popular stopping point while traveling from Canada to the coast. Once inclement weather begins we normally close the outside stairway with the inside stairway being the only one open. Thank you for letting us know the balcony was slippery.

Rollinsford
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Really nice property in town with plenty of dining options a short drive away. Great pool out front. The room was very spacious with a good sized refrigerator and coffee in the room. Bathroom was immaculate, brand new looking with full size shower and shampoo/bath gel dispensers inside. Individually controlled A/C located on opposite side of the room so as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mll68

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skowhegan
23.5 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites
Fireside Inn & Suites
#2 of 6 in Waterville
254 reviews
23.5 km away
Best Western Plus Waterville Grand Hotel
24.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Waterville - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.7 km away
Hampton Inn Waterville
Hampton Inn Waterville
#1 of 6 in Waterville
385 reviews
39.1 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Wilton
302 reviews
39.8 km away
Herbert Grand Hotel
Herbert Grand Hotel
#1 of 5 in Kingfield
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Towne Motel offers clean comfortable rooms and a complimentary breakfast. We have a large pool, free wifi, AC and have select pet friendly rooms. Online reservations from our website. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Towne Motel

Address: 172 Madison Ave, Skowhegan, ME 04976-1306
Region: United States > Maine > Skowhegan
Price Range: €79 - €107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Towne Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Towne Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towne Hotel Skowhegan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Towne Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“2nd floor might be more quiet than street level.”
davidrJ1972BN, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“King kitchenette is where it's at!”
444brianm444, 26 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are more convenient in inclement weather as you can park right in front of the room.”
69jwjw69, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ok Wi-Fi, cable TV request a ground floor room”
Tomsteffek, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Second floor was very private and quiet.”
MaineRetirement, 30 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Hotwire.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates