We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough\/Portland
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

197 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
Milwaukee,Wi
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent a night at ABV Inn in Scarborough. The location was great for our purposes. Easy to access from the main highway and easy to get to Portland, our eventual destination. Upon arrival, I must agree with other posters. There was an odor in the lobby/house where you go to check in. This lobby building is not pictured in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank untired26
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We have been traveling all over New England and found this to be the worst place that we stayed at. We normally follow Trip Advisors ratings and are unsure of how others rated this so high. First of all, the motel is not as the picture appears on the internet. I will try and provide a clear analysis of our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rbemiller
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review

It is very disapponting 2 rooms was not charged although the cancellation policy was passed and at time of checking in we canceled 2 rooms without charging to guest. I would let the guest know when you book reservation with third party, you can only cancel room with them, that way we avoid paying commissions to third party. We have...

Melrose
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here one night and were quite satisfied. The room we had was quite large, a king sized bed, and two arm chairs, and a refrigerator. The bathroom was quite large. The entire place was very clean. Breakfast was just basic - coffee and packaged danish, but that was fine. The price of the room was half of what...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teddysdad
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review

Thank you.

Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I liked the location of this place because we were driving into Portland most days and it was very easy to get there from here. (Portland hotels were too expensive) I also liked that it was set off by itself on a neighborhood dead end street. We walked down this street several mornings for a pleasant stroll. We felt very...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank AnnaItaly2014
Reviewed 24 September 2013

It was nice place to stay and staff was friendly. Nicely located on US 1, closely to where we need to visit. Well kept grounds and nice flowers. Clean large room was plus with refrigerater. Will return.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank GreatLarry
Maine
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Firstly I had very nice and pleasant conversation with some lady employee over the phone who quoted the price and potential "AAA" discount. So, we made a reservation. When we showed up manager (Jayesh) seemed to be in a very bad mood and very rude from the very start. Then I mentioned possibitiIy of "AAA" discount. He immediately accused me...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank plunger007
Jay P, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland, responded to this review

I do apologies for inconvenience you experienced while you were at Americas Best Value Inn Scarborough Maine. Since you booked room online at rate which was lower than AAA rate I have no authority to reduce your lower rate. I would suggest you to book on www.americasbestvalueinn.com in order get your desire rate. We have few different rates available there....

Goshen, Indiana
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Clean place, everything as advertised. She brought us extra towels and was helpfull when asked about local restaurants Its located in a nice area and there is a micro brewery close by .Portland is real close and kinda expensive and Kennebunkport .in the other direction is real expensive .Nice big and clean bathroom and just hard to beat for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Randy H
New Glasgow, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed here last October while shopping and exploring the area. The service was great, the room was extremely clean and comfortable. I am returning this year with girlfriends! Highly recommend! It is central to many of the shopping areas, and close to lots of amenities!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelvirgin1
Massachusetts
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My daughter and her friends had evening plans in Portland, so I needed a place that was not too far away. There were very few rooms available in Portland itself, and they were very expensive, so I broadened my search and found this motel. It was only 15 minutes away and reasonably priced. The room was very clean, the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Moc123
Ontario Canada
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel/motel was a reasonable place to spend the night. The room was clean, the reception staff were friendly. Bathroom was clean and lots of room. Nothing special but also a decent price. Restaurants were a drive away. Free parking outside the rooms. Although air conditioned, you could open the windows for a bit of outside air.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnG

49 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Scarborough
0.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#12 of 13 in Scarborough
201 reviews
4.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portland
3.3 km away
Extended Stay America - Portland - Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
BEST WESTERN Merry Manor Inn
#2 of 12 in South Portland
1,234 reviews
10.6 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,486 reviews
3.6 km away
Residence Inn Portland Scarborough
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of Scarborough, Maine, nestled near many great attractions surrounding Portland. Beaches are what draw many people to Maine and there are five just within the town limits of Scarborough itself. If dining is your preference we have two of the top 10 restaurants in the state which are located here in town as well. For kids of all ages, Funtown/Splashtown and Aquaboggan Water Park are but a few miles down the road. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland

Address: 321 US Route 1, Scarborough, ME 04074-9703
Region: United States > Maine > Scarborough
Price Range: €62 - €169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland Hotel Scarborough
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Leominster, Massachusetts
Halifa Nova Scotia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Americas Best Value Inn-Scarborough/Portland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I prefer the second floor.”
I2404WPjanec, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are on two levels, facing the same direction. Ask the owner-manager for particular needs.”
jwb20162016, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Not sure how to get the room you request.”
504annettel, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you are senior citizens, you will enjoy the bottom floor rooms.”
esoral, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“most rooms have a view of the flower gardens; second floor has a balcony so you can sit outside and have an evening cocktail.”
floridatravelerssss, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5