We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fireside Inn & Suites Portland
See the most recent reviews
Showing 571: English reviews
Augusta, Maine
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Everything about this hotel was great! Very convenient location, close to everything we needed! Loved that we could just cross the street and go to Ruby Tuesday for dinner. The outdoor pool and patio area was gorgeous even though we didn't have enough time to use it. The decor is a little dated, but clean and inviting, so no complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zadakiska9
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

Glad you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you again soon.

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 9 August 2015

The hotel is terribly outdated and not clean. Mold in the bathroom, torn curtains and filthy carpeting. The food is awful which I didn't mind because they never had enough food for our group anyway. There were other groups that came in and there was not enough food for them either.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nmtx2015
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

Sounds like you weren't very happy with your stay. We apologize. We would like to hear more about what we could have done better. Please email us if you would like to chat at info@firesideinnportland.com

Niceville, Florida
Reviewed 8 August 2015

Found the hotel shuttle system to be extremely accommodating regarding my needs in regards to airport pickup, rental car pickup/return and transportation to our cruise ship. the food service was excellent. Would stay there again if the opportunity arises.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred E
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

We might not be the newest property in Portland but we have darn good employees who really love their jobs! Thanks for sharing your kind words with us.

Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewed 5 August 2015

Hotel is in bad need of repair. Peeling wall paper and ceiling, trash on floor by bed and hair in bathroom. Front desk personnel more interested in their cell phone than checking us in. Offered no info on amenities. Room listed for $299, we paid $100 but only worth $40. Very Poor Wi-Fi. When checking out no one asked how...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rdyrtr99
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

Our apologies for your not so pleasant stay. Thanks for pointing out some real opportunities for us.

Saint John, Canada
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

We are just back from our vacation this past weekend and we stayed here for two nights one on way to Boston and the other on the way back. Great rates compared to our hotels in the area. The hotel itself is extremely out dated, it is now smoke free but you can still smell the smoke, the beds are...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABDZThomson
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your family vacation with us! We hope you will come back again some time.

nyc
Reviewed 4 August 2015

My cruise ship company recommended this hotel which I find strange as there was a Hilton Garden Inn one block away from actual ship. If you are traveling on 95 and need a nights sleep that would be the only reason to stay here. Dated decor and attitude. Bar was so hokey I barely could stand to wait to get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vross
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Yes we are an older hotel , 1964 as a matter of fact! We are working on updating several things at this time. Hopefully you will give us another chance in the future!

Denver, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 August 2015

Arrived without a reservation and accomodated very well. Room was clean and comfy.After driving all day was tired and staff made us feel welcome.Will stay again when in the area. Price was very resonable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank enjoyingretirement65
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

We are thrilled to hear your kinds words! Glad you had a great stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again!

Reviewed 31 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed at the Fireside Inn for a class reunion. The reunion it self was done very well with great food and a great host from the hotel. Her name was Laura and she was very friendly, professional and made sure everything was perfect including fixing a couple guest room issues. Over all the rooms were fine but dated.On the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jay l
Reviewed 29 July 2015 via mobile

Very clean facility. My husband and I arrived at the hotel early and the front desk agent was able to get us checked into our room several hours before check in. The room was very clean and comfortable. The TV was an older tube style so no Netflix or Amazon through an HDMI.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seth B
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

We are so glad you had a nice stay with us. We are slowly but surely working on replacing the old tube tv's! Did you like the Keurig coffee maker in the room? Hope to see you again soon!

Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 July 2015

We spent 3 nights here recently, having booked about 1 week prior to travel. Carpetting around the pool is well-worn & in need of replacement. There was also a wooden beam, part of a pergola, which was rotted. The sheer curtains on the window were water-stained as if there had been a leak, but no one bothered to change them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rbs360
firesideinnportland, Guest Relations Manager at Fireside Inn & Suites Portland, responded to this review

Thank you for pointing out some opportunities for our our property. We are working on fixing and replacing things right now!

332 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (252)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Fireplace King Room (24)
Viewed
Fireplace Suite (45)
Viewed
Hot Tub Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool (13)
Viewed
Poolside Double Room (19)
Viewed
Poolside King Room (21)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (21)
Viewed
Standard King Room (24)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
0.3 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,487 reviews
5.9 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
6.5 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Portland Maine
6.6 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
6.2 km away
Holiday Inn Portland By The Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Zackery's Fireside Restaurant & Lounge
Zackery's Fireside Restaurant & Lounge
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We offer today’s features with yesterday’s charm. Just minutes from the Portland Jetport and situated directly off I-95 Exit 48, our travel-friendly location is easily accessible. With its comfortable rooms, courtyard views and hospitality, the Fireside Inn & Suites Portland is the ideal choice for you and your family while visiting the Greater Portland Area.While staying with us, we invite you to enjoy Zackery’s Fireside Restaurant for dinner and evening entertainment. Our menus appeal to a wide set of tastes and we are extremely proud of our Staff. Please browse them at your leisure. We serve breakfast, dinner and wonderful desserts! We also have a full bar in Zack’s Club Lounge and offer drink specials for Happy Hour. We are pretty creative with martinis too! Whether you are joining us for business or pleasure, we are waiting for you! While you are here, why not relax by our Lobby Fireplace. Enjoy our late afternoon complimentary fresh coffee right here! Stay with us and each guest will receive a FREE Isamax Snacks Wicked Whoopie Pie! The Whoopie Pie is Maine’s Official State Treat (officially becoming law on September 28, 2011)! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fireside Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 81 Riverside Street, Portland, ME 04103 (Formerly Holiday Inn Portland West)
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range: €85 - €206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fireside Inn & Suites Portland 3*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fireside Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
Fireside Inn And Suites Portland
Holiday Inn Portland
Portland Holiday Inn
Fireside Inn & Suites Portland Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fireside Inn & Suites Portland staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Oceanside, New York
Dakar
19 days ago
Cochrane, Wisconsin
1 month ago
Hadley, Massachusetts
8 months ago
11 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Fireside Inn & Suites Portland staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I've stayed in several room types and I like them all.”
jingleflora, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Check your local newspaper as we found a coupon to use for our stay. It saved us $15-$20!!!”
countygrl, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for queen rooms as those have new mattresses. Rooms also have carpets removed so better for those with asthma & allergy-prone.”
680dicks, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Accessibility to the interstate”
P8215RVdebbiel, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“check out the fireplace king rooms”
jackiewA4776YO, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5