We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Inn at St. John

Booking.comUS$82*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Inn at St. John
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

636 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Inn at St. John
See the most recent reviews
Showing 614: English reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight in Portland, and was thrilled to find reasonbly priced accomodations just off the main drag. Charming, historical decor and a continental breakfast diverse enough for all tastes. All the emenities one could ask for. Small touches like 24 hr access coffee, cookies, yogurt and bottled water in the lobby seating area just perfect for the weary travellor. Though...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elaina A
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Elaina A- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland Maine. We are thrilled you enjoyed our Victorian style Inn. Top notch guest service is our number one priority and its nice to know you felt welcomed and comfortable. We wish you all the best in the future.

Reviewed 25 August 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of our 'road trip honeymoon'. Immediately upon arrival, we were greeted by the friendly staff at the front desk. They made it clear that they were there to ensure we had a pleasant stay. Our room was on the third floor-- yes, it was a bit of a hike....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank WahooWa2011
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

WahooWa2011- We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us while on your road trip. Our friendly staffs goal is to be a helpful as possible and make everyone feel at home by offering a variety of amenities and snacks. Being an inner city Inn we try our best to provide as much off street parking as possible in...

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

A single night stay on a trip through New England. Other than a questionable stain on the sheets and some shower mold, the place was very clean. Curiously, a bottle of Windex was left in the bathroom (presumably an oversight by the maid). Free WiFi, continental breakfast, free off-street parking with overflow in a nearby neighboring lot. Friendly and accommodating...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ron C
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Ron C- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your trip through New England. Other than a few unintended oversights we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and all we have to offer. Unfortunately installing an elevator in this 118 year old Inn is architecturally challenging. Thanks again and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This place serves it's purpose and I mean that in the most non judgmental way possible. In Portland for the weekend and unfortunately our first choice(The West End Inn) was all booked up so we decided to stay here instead. It's a mix between a hotel and B&B. The rooms for the price leave a bit to be desired(read small)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Mark W- Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Inn. Every review is carefully examined as we continue to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable during their stay. We offer a variety of room style and sizes according to preference and availability when booking. Amenities include robes, slippers,...

Indianapolis
Reviewed 23 August 2014

In Maine for our 30th anniversary - spend three nights at the Inn - too big to be a bed & breakfast, too small to be a hotel - but a great place to stay. Had a room with en suite bathroom, for approx 30 dollars more/night - private baths in the hall also available for some rooms. Room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Indykim
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Indnykim- We are delighted you chose the Inn at St John for your 30th Anniversary get-away. Folks travel form all over to experience Maine's beautiful coastline and enjoy our fresh local seafood. Thank you for making us a part of your celebration and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Clean appearance and smell. Cozy & Quiet room. Friendly staff. Nice assortment of breakfast foods. Good location. Definitely will stay here again, We really liked it! Charming older home converted to a B&B...much more cozy & quaint then any big hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendi S
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Wendi S- We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Inn. Our European style Inn offers a friendly and comfortable environment with plenty of character. We appreciate taking time out of your busy day to write a wonderful review and hope to see you again in the future.

Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I was looking for a budget option that was still close enough to walk into town, and on that count The Inn at St. John pretty much did what was required. It did, however, take a good 20 minutes (uphill) for a speed walker; given that there aren't that many amenities in the immediate vicinity (a McDonald's Drive-Thru, a couple...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank decoline
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

decoline- Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at the Inn. We are glad you liked the daily snacks and found value in the rates. Our 118 year old European style Inn is continually being updated and always look for ways to improve guests experiences. Thanks again and wish you all the best.

Portland, Maine
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I work in downtown Portland and wanted to find a hotel room rather than drive home late at night after entertaining out of town visitors. Several downtown hotels have been built in recent years but the rates are high, particularly in summer, and so I looked for other options. The Inn at St John turned out to be an excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 407Traveler
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

407 Traveler- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John. Our charm, character, friendly service, and value rates sets us apart from all the "cookie cutter" hotels in the city. We are delighted you found our amenities comparable to larger hotels and our friendly staff helpful. Thanks again and wish you all the best in the future.

Binghamton, New York
Reviewed 11 August 2014

I loved this Inn. It was cheap, super cute, and the continental breakfast was awesome. Everyone that worked there was very nice and helpful. It wasn't walking distance to the main city area but it was a short drive. Would definitely go back!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dargentina
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Dargentina- Thank you for writing a wonderful review about the Inn. Our friendly staff takes tremendous pride in providing a relaxing and enjoyable experience for every guest. We also thank you for making us your "go to" place in Portland and wish you all the best in the future.

Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This inn has operated here for over 100 years. The age of the building leads to many quirks, some good, some bad. Good - character, charm, history - very comfortable bed Bad - rooms are a bit small. The shower was tight for a single man of average size. - noise - we were on the second floor facing the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BSchug
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

BSchug- Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us here at the Inn. Every guest comment is read and taken into consideration when planning for the future. We delighted you liked our charm and comfortable beds. No two rooms are alike, every room has different décor and size. With an old Victorian Inn such as this, elevators...

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.9 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#4 of 19 in Portland
1,283 reviews
1.2 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
1.9 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
2.2 km away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
5.0 km away
Ramada Plaza Portland
Ramada Plaza Portland
#13 of 19 in Portland
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Address: 939 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-3031
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range: €62 - €131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn at St. John staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Inn at St. John staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that doesn't face Congress street (or bring earplugs for the traffic).”
444philipf, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms are on a main Street with a hospital near by”
854kathleenc, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rear of hotel”
tpdstag, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask if the baths are in the room, some are shared, but was never a problem for us.”
Angelofmcy, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“5A is a beautiful room. Facing the back of the building, it is not noisy at all. The tiny shower could be a problem for VERY BIG people.”
AndreSalgado, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$82* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUS$82
Hotwire.comUS$82
Expedia.comUS$82
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates