We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Inn at St. John

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Inn at St. John
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

633 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 612: English reviews
Start your review of Inn at St. John
 Click to rate
Lynn, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Recently stayed one night and booked on-line, not having seen the hotel before. We enjoyed our stay, four visitors , three rooms. Everyone liked their room, all rooms different, unique. There is no elevator so stairs is the way to go, however, front desk, support staff were amazingly helpful and offered to carry all bags up steep stairs. I have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
Manchester, NH
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I wish there were half stars, this would be a 3.5. I didn't feel right giving it just a 3, but it's not quite a 4. PROS: We liked our room (8B), it was roomy enough with a spacious bathroom. Mini fridge and tv with 40+ channels. We didn't have any noise problems. Those who complain need to realize this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FoodLustNH
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

FoodLustNH- On behalf of the Inn at St. John I would like to thank you for offering both positive and negative feedback. Your positive comments about the spacious room and accommodations are greatly appreciated. We take constructive feedback seriously and do the best we can to make appropriate changes in timely manor. Some of the changes we will be making...

South Lancaster, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to stay in Portland for a few nights and had seen this Inn on a previous day trip into the City. The Inn is very nicely decorated and very charming. Our room was one the first floor and located in the back which is nice as you aren't facing Congress Street which can get busy. The room is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Alan B- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland, Maine. your comments about our decor and friendly staff is greatly appreciated. We offer a variety of amenities to insure every guest has a relaxing and comfortable stay while visiting the city. Thanks again and look forward to seeing you in the future!

Manchester, NH
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a beautiful room! Staying here is more like being in a lovely, historic bed and breakfast than a hotel room. There are lots of little touches like colored towels, robes, a Keurig, mini fridge and complimentary cookies and beverages. Amused that the toilet paper and tissues are folded into little fans. Nice breakfast in a charming lobby. Not your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lillygemily
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

lillygemily- Thank you so much for writing a beautiful review about your stay with us here at the Inn! We think all the personal touches are important for guests to feel comfortable and at home. From check in to check out, out staff take a tremendous amount of pride in the presentation so every guest has a pleasant experience. Thanks...

Woodbridge, Virginia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked through my travel agency and requested a room for a few nights with my husband. The hospital next door had sirens going off all night and ambulances in and out. When we arrived to the hotel we were given a very small room with a very small bed. Then we also had a shared bath which was terrible...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sashaandshanejones88
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

DON'T BE FOOLED BY THIS REVIEW! These guests were incredibly rude to my staff and failed to mention their uncalled for behavior. 1. The guests chose/booked the particular room style that was just remodeled with new carpets, wallpaper, and window treatments. 2. The Housekeeper notified me the guests were lighting candles in the room. I called and respectfully explained, due...

New Sharon, Maine
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Really a nice, comfortable inn. Rooms were very clean and nice and the staff was very helpful and friendly. There were many nice amenities, too (such as free cookies!). It is also very conveniently located, just 2-3 minute drive from downtown Portland. Will stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mainegeographer
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

mainegeographer- On behalf of all of us here at the Inn, we are thrilled you had a wonderful stay. Our hope is that every guest has a memorable stay in a clean, cozy, and friendly atmosphere. Thank you for the positive feedback and hope to see you again in the future!

Intervale
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We picked this inn because it was so close to Maine Medical Center. It was delightful. We had a ground floor room with exposed brick on one wall. It was nicely decorated. The bathroom was well appointed with robes and slippers; even toothbrushes. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmoreskier
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

cmoreskier- Thank you for choosing the Inn at St John for your stay in Portland, Maine. Your wonderful feedback is greatly appreciated and we are thrilled you thought highly of us. Hope to see you again in the future!

Canon
Reviewed 1 February 2017

I have stayed at the Inn at St. John several times and have always loved it. The rooms are quaint and well appointed and have an old world charm. The staff is always pleasant and the location is great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ernest R
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Ernest R- Thank you for being a loyal repeat guest and for the wonderful comments about your stay. It was a pleasure having you and hope to see you again in the future!

massachusetts
Reviewed 22 January 2017

Spent one night as a last minute getaway. Great value, great location, wonderful staff, comfortable room. Why just four stars? Sorry, had to. Nice room, one of last two available. On busy Main Street side so noisy. Will definitely be back and try for another room. Free parking, good continental breakfast and friendly, helpful staff on all shifts we met....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tpdstag
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

tpdstag- Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. We appreciate the great comments about service, room quality, parking, breakfast and are very sorry the street noise disturbed you. Being located in the heart of Portland, there are bound to be unavoidable times when the traffic is louder than usual. Thanks for choosing the...

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I loved this place and plan to go back next time I'm in Portland. It is a beautiful old Victorian Inn on the outside and luxurious on the inside. Staff is so friendly and accommodating. They serve a Continental breakfast and also keep snacks and drinks out for guests. The beds are comfortable and even though the bathroom was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelofmcy
Terry M, General Manager at Inn at St. John, responded to this review

Angelofmcy- Your comments about our beautiful Inn are greatly appreciated! It mean so much to us that travelers have a wonderful overall experience that is reflected in a positive review. From our well decorated clean rooms, amenities, and great service, a lot of time and energy goes into every detail to make sure guests feel welcomed and at home. We...

149 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (141)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portland hotels
1.9 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
1,268 reviews
1.2 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
2.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
1.9 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
2.4 km away
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Inn at St. John

Address: 939 Congress St, Portland, ME 04102-3031
Region: United States > Maine > Portland
Price Range: €60 - €99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at St. John 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Inn at St. John reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At St. John Hotel Portland
Inn At St. John Portland, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn at St. John staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Inn at St. John staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Some rooms are on a main Street with a hospital near by”
 of 5 bubbles 854kathleenc, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for rear of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles tpdstag, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask if the baths are in the room, some are shared, but was never a problem for us.”
 of 5 bubbles Angelofmcy, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“5A is a beautiful room. Facing the back of the building, it is not noisy at all. The tiny shower could be a problem for VERY BIG people.”
 of 5 bubbles AndreSalgado, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There's no elevators, so if stairs are an issue, go with the first floor.”
 of 5 bubbles daniellemI5214NE, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5