We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore

Save
Share
1 York Street, Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064-2919
E-mail hotel
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
Priceline
View all 7 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (24)
Room & Suite (37)
Pool & Beach (6)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#22 of 44 hotels in Old Orchard Beach
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
We are located directly on the Surfside section of Old Orchard Beach, Maine. Our shorefront offers you 7 miles of sandy beach, panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean and amazing sunrises. We offer 21 different room types with a variety of accommodations from guest rooms, kitchenettes, jacuzzi rooms and family suites for up to 8 guests. All jacuzzi rooms and guest rooms are equipped with a mini refrigerator, microwave, single cup coffee maker, flat screen TV, air conditioning and wi-fi. Kitchenettes also come with a stovetop cooking surface, cookware, toaster, utensils and dishes. Take a stroll, ride the waves, build sand castles, fly a kite or just relax in your beach chair with your toes in the sand. After a fun filled day in the sun enjoy our indoor heated pool. We are a 10 minute walk from the Old Orchard Beach Pier and the vibrant town center, featuring New England's only beachfront amusement area and family fun for all ages. During your stay, the Abellona Team will assist you in making lifetime memories. Let’s Beach Together!
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Kids' meals
Beach
Children's television networks
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Street parking
Outdoor dining area
Vending machine
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
ATM on site
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Telephone
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Cable / satellite TV
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Ocean View
Languages Spoken
English, French
62Reviews9Q+A12Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 45
  • 5
  • 1
  • 2
  • 9
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Allen C wrote a review 21 Jun
1 contribution
This hotel is beyond despicable. The owner is an outright arrogant and unfriendly person who doesn’t care for the customer at all. We had a terrible experience there. Do yourself a favora learn from our mistake and don’t book here!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy Ahearn, Owner at Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore
Responded yesterday
You never even stayed here, so I'm not sure how you could relay your experience here? You are disgruntled due to an issue with Booking.com. That had nothing to do with us, as you were a no-show for your scheduled reservation. Tammy
Read more
Kimmy wrote a review 8 Jun
1 contribution3 helpful votes
Beware of owner the most! Got a call before arriving that the pool on Thursday night would in fact be open until 8. HOWEVER, closed at 7pm! Told it was a mix up and that it should have been 8 on Thursday and 9 on Friday, but nope 8 on Friday. I can deal with that...Stayed in Room R8 couldn't sleep on mattress it was sooooo horrible and I smelled a urine odor near the back door next to the bathroom! THEN at 4AM the tenant upstairs decided to do laundry! I swear she had sneakers in the dryer at 5 AM! Complete torture and no sleep In short, the owner was p.o. for me complaining to 3 of her staff and says in her replies, I was the disturbance! No refund and thrown out! Told if I didn't leave in 30 mins. she'd call cops in front of kids! Tammy is so unprofessional and feels control by throwing you out if you complain or she simply doesn't like you! I am traumatized by the way I was treated! I hope karma takes care of this! P.s. I have never posted reviews before and this is only part of her horrible behavior! Swear on my Mothers Soul this is all true!! Nothing to gain! Tammy you are in need of help! Do you get some thrill throwing people out of your run down hotel! Thanks take care!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy Ahearn, Owner at Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore
Responded 2 weeks ago
Abellona strives for the best possible experience for all and our staff goes above and beyond for our guests. You were a complete disturbance to our staff from the moment of your arrival. Your children damaged our property and your behavior was why you were forced to leave. You had no recognition of those around you and how your behavior was a problem. I hope anyone reading this will go to our website - www.abellonainn.com and look at our Family Suites - R8 - and see what a “dump” she is referring to. Thanks, Tammy
Read more
Kim M wrote a review 8 Jun
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Stay clear of this place! If you complain about things, the owner will turn things on you! She is a narc. First, I got a call before arriving saying "the pool on Thursday will actually be open until 8 not 7". I was so glad because we had to leave late. Got there and told it was closed at 7PM! Next night Friday thought it would be open until 9pm NOPE closed at 8PM. Thursday night, I couldn't sleep because the bed was like sleeping on coils! When I finally got comfortable, the Tenant that lived upstairs (R8) decided to do her laundry at 4AM thru 6AM, leaving me with absolutely no sleep! I was sooo mad and spoke to several staff about it in the AM. Finally, later Friday AM the owner half heartedly apologized about the pool, but as far as the disturbance with the laundry, she made light of it. She actually said "well you were up til 4AM"? At that point, I started to realize she was trying to turn blame on me! I told /owner/her how glad i was to see her leave at 6:30 AM and then she came back with all these bags! Tammy/Owner then stated "what does it matter that she had bags"!? I replied "it didn't, i just knew she was back"!!! Then, she proceeded to Scold me and tell that I best not talk to her staff about issues, and all she heard all morning was my complaint! God forbid if I did mention the urine smell near the back door next to the bathroom and the horrible bed and tiny rooms (which i hit my foot on the frame twice)! We seemed to be ok, and then Friday Night i went to the office to ask about the pool AGAIN and told not 9 but 8! I thank April for her kindness and told her "we must take the good with the bad"! Note: On Friday Am when the owner was "scolding me" because I complained about the laundry disturbance and lack of sleep, my 8 year olds drew on her slate walk way, she actually saw them doing it and had i not had to have a conversation with her about the Laundry room above my head, it wouldn't have happened. Saturday AM she was approaching me and I was glad, as i wanted to ask her where the parking was for my BF who was on his way! I was told there was parking next door, not true!! She told me he would have to go downtown. So, lied to on phone! Instead, she said to me "I want you to pack your things and be out of here in 30 mins."! I was shocked! I asked why and she said "your kids damaged my property and I want you out!" she proceeded to show me the scratches on the slate walk way, which clearly could be washed off, EVEN IF NOT, I would have had a professional conversation about it and paid for it! NOPE she actually said it so my kids could hear her "if you are not out of here in 30 mins. I'm calling the cops"! I apologized over and over offered to clean it and pleaded with her to stay. What a mistake! We finally left and went to the WAVE/SEAVIEW. No smell of Urine, beds were so comfortable and made up so pretty! The customer service was Awesome! Oh and the pool was open until 10pm. They even gave us a late check out and said we could enjoy the beach and park there if we wanted! The Abellona's website goes on and on about customer service LOL just don't complain and don't talk to several staff about issues either! This owner will respond unsympathetic and will turn things around on you! Read her negative reviews and responses! Which is why I am writing my first review EVER! I believe this woman to be a narrcissist and she will find anything she can that you do, to turn things around on you! Kim!!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Go somewhere else! The Seaview was great!
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy Ahearn, Owner at Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore
Responded 2 weeks ago
Since your review was removed from Google, (which NEVER happens!) I can understand you choosing other platforms. You were a disturbance upon your arrival and 2 days later, after my staff brought to my attention that your children did property damage, you were told to leave. Continue on with your fabrication of our facility and myself. Tammy
Read more
Mike-in-Maine wrote a review May 2021
Mid Coast Maine, Maine5 contributions2 helpful votes
This is our third year staying at Abellona and you know what they say, Third times a charm! We had a great time. The room had a beautiful view of the ocean, the room was clean and well organized with everything you need! Tammy and her son Mitchell (the owners) are fantastic hosts and continue to modernize and update the property. We love that it has its own access to the beach! We very much look forward to next years weekend away! We will absolutely be back!! The picture is the view from our door!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy Ahearn, Owner at Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore
Responded 10 May 2021
Hi Mike-in-Maine, We are so grateful for this review! We are working tirelessly to update the property and offer first-class customer service. It is very challenging in this “covid” era. The Team and I appreciate you more than you could know! Thank you, Tammy
Read more
Kayleigh S wrote a review May 2021
2 contributions
My husband and myself wanted to get away for the night and found Abellona inn. We opted for the ocean view room and it was absolutely perfect. It was so cozy and perfect with the window open you could hear the ocean. It was a perfect night away. We plan on going back for a longer stay a little later into the small!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Tammy Ahearn, Owner at Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore
Responded 6 May 2021
That’s wonderful to hear. We look forward to seeing you again! Tammy
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$87 - US$415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
normandie oceanfront motor hotel old orchard beach, normandie oceanfront hotel, normandie oceanfront motel
LOCATION
United StatesMaineOld Orchard Beach
NUMBER OF ROOMS
66
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore
Which popular attractions are close to Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore?
Nearby attractions include Old Orchard Beach (0.9 km), Palace Playland (0.8 km), and Beach Lobster & Farmstand (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore?
Conveniently located restaurants include Pier French Fries, Big Daddy's Bar & Grill, and Beach Bagels.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Old Orchard Beach.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Are there any historical sites close to Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Stroudwater Burying Ground (15.7 km) and Western Cemetery (15.6 km).
Does Abellona Inn & Suites On The Shore have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.