We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Inn By the Sea

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Inn By the Sea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

893 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Inn By the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Showing 881: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Love the location of Inn By The Sea, especially in the fall foliage season. Pathway leads to a gorgeous beach. 1 bedroom suite was beautiful with gorgeous ocean views of the from our private deck. Not too far from the great city of Portland for sight seeing and a wonderful dinner! Will return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
BriggsGM, General Manager at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary getaway and are delighted you celebrated with us! We agree- fall in Maine is lovely- especially at the beach. We are also pleased you enjoyed the location and our close proximity to Portland- the combination of the beach location yet being so close to Portland is...

Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Very comfortable bed, the bathroom overdue a makeover. The facilities at the hotel are very good and the beach and views are stunning. The bar is very convivial and located at the side of reception. Ample parking available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iansS7343GB
BriggsGM, General Manager at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear iansS7343GB Thank you for the review! We are so pleased you enjoyed the Sea Glass lounge, the facilities and beach at the Inn. We agree there is a need for updating in the outer building, and are very excited to report that over the winter we will be doing just that! We do hope you'll visit again to enjoy...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 4 October 2016

This is a very nice property, with especially nice, friendly people working there. They could not have been more accommodating. We stayed in a two bed/two bath suite which was really nice, with water view, a balcony, fireplace, the works. Super comfortable. We all had a great time and would stay again. Now, for the tweaks...the dining room service needs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RdSxfn
BriggsGM, General Manager at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear RdSxfn: Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We greatly appreciate you found the staff to be friendly and accommodating, and are very pleased you enjoyed the two bedroom beach suite. We are disappointed we fell below both yours and our expectation for service in Sea Glass. We will certainly share your comments with the staff...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Hotel was nice but definitely overpriced for the money. The grounds are very scenic and the location is great. The rooms themselves are nice but nothing special. The same goes for the cottages. Came as a large family group which seems to be there specialty but there were a lot of problems both with checking in, getting housekeeping, and getting...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MayaChi
BriggsGM, General Manager at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear MayaChi: Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Inn. While we are very pleased you enjoyed the grounds and location, we are disappointed we did not meet your expectations or ours on service. We will certainly share your comments with the staff and departments for improvement. Delighted you enjoyed the foster...

Roseland, New Jersey
Reviewed 28 September 2016

We brought our small dog this time and I have to say they had us at hello! From the first greeting upon arrival throughout our 5 day stay, we had no complaints. Our room was appointed well and was easy to take our dog out for walks. The only issue we had was that we had come back to our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cdhtourist
BriggsGM, General Manager at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear cdhtourist: Thank you for the wonderful review of your experience at the Inn. We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit, and our dog friendly policies. We are delighted you found the Sea Glass menus to be the best! Chef Andrew Chadwick joined us this spring and we are very pleased to hear his new vision and menus in...

Salem, New Hampshire
Reviewed 26 September 2016

The location is spectacular, the beach is beautiful. The restaurant is magnificent, delicious, creative recipes. I enjoyed the room, excellent amenities. Lilly's yoga class was a great start to the day. I hope to be able to visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank brendabdmd
BriggsGM, General Manager at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear brendabdmd: Thank you for visiting the Inn. We are very pleased you enjoyed the beach location, daily yoga and Crescent Beach. We are delighted you enjoyed Sea Glass- Chef Chadwick has completely revamped the menus and we are pleased you enjoyed the changes. We hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes, Michael Briggs General manager, Inn by...

Greensboro, Georgia
Reviewed 25 September 2016

This is a lovely spot with views of the water. Employees at front desk and restaurant were friendly and professional. The two bedroom suite was beautifully decorated. The problem was housekeeping. I spoke to the front desk before I checked out to make sure they became aware of the problems, however, at the cost of the room and the hotel's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patricia G
BriggsGM, Public Relations Manager at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Patricia G: Thank you for your candid remarks about your experience while staying with us. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed the views of the ocean, the accommodations and especially our staff. I am very sorry we fell short of both your and our expectations in housekeeping. We have shared your comments with staff and thank you...

Bonita Springs, Florida
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

We only had one night but it was a beautiful resort and a great place to finish our one week road trip. The hotel and grounds were immaculate and the service was excellent. Although we didn't leave the resort once we arrived, it was a short drive to Portland if desired. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
BriggsGM, General Manager at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear Dave M: Thank you for staying with us at the end of your road trip! Hope you will return and spend more time with us in the future. Many thanks for the great review- we are delighted you found the service to be excellent! Safe travels, and many thanks. Michael Briggs, General Manager Inn by the Sea

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 21 September 2016

We have been guests at IBTS every year since 1990 and can say without reservation that this was our finest experience yet. The new General Manager, Mr. Briggs, has the staff, the kitchen and the grounds running at peak performance. Absolutely a top shelf experience!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathecobb
BriggsGM, General Manager at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear kathecobb: Thank you for the kind review! We are delighted you had a top shelf stay! Thank you for your long loyalty to the Inn- we all are looking forward to your next visit. Many thanks. Warm wishes, Michael Briggs, General Manager, Inn by the Sea

New York City
Reviewed 20 September 2016

The inn is classy, modern and simply a treat. Rooms are simple, well decorated, and have some great views. The grounds are picturesque. The pool- Very clean. Apparently heated, but the heater was apparently broke during our stay, so we did not do any swimming. There is nightly turn down service. Water and a sweet treat are left in room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank salexi72
BriggsGM, General Manager at Inn By the Sea, responded to this review

Dear salexi72: Thank you for your candid and complete remarks about your stay at the Inn. We are very pleased you enjoyed the room and the grounds, the beach, the proximity to Portland and also the sounds of waves crashing! I will definitely share your housekeeping comments with staff as we seem to have fallen short of expectations for both...

480 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (454)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (107)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (46)
Viewed
Room/Suite (97)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:11
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (115)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cape Elizabeth
10.1 km away
Portland Harbor Hotel
Portland Harbor Hotel
#3 of 19 in Portland
1,207 reviews
10.5 km away
The Press Hotel, Autograph Collection
31.1 km away
White Barn Inn
White Barn Inn
#4 of 7 in Kennebunk
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Black Point Inn Resort
Black Point Inn Resort
#3 of 13 in Scarborough
189 reviews
10.2 km away
The Westin Portland Harborview
10.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Portland Downtown Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
After a multi million dollar renovation the eco luxury Inn by the Sea is Maine's premier beach destination. Located on a mile of unspoiled beach guests enjoy intimate dining in the ocean view Sea Glass celebrating Maine fare, relax in the spa or fireplace lounge. Spacious redesigned suites, rooms & cottages w oversized bathrooms, or full kitchens, or fireplaces. Child & Pet friendly! 5 acre indigenous garden,pool, bocce, fire pit, golf nearby. 10 mins to Portland. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inn By the Sea

Address: 40 Bowery Beach Road, Cape Elizabeth, ME 04107
Region: United States > Maine > Cape Elizabeth
Price Range: €246 - €368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn By the Sea 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn By the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn By The Sea Hotel Cape Elizabeth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Inn By the Sea staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Inn By the Sea staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms have fireplaces. But great 2 story suites are nice”
 of 5 bubbles bradcasey, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are no bad rooms”
 of 5 bubbles NJNora, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor has sweeping views, however first floor has walk out access and beautiful views of the property”
 of 5 bubbles CPMO2013, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Garden Suites allow you to walk out from your room to the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles F8657IOfreds, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Beach Cottage is Great Choice!!”
 of 5 bubbles LetaW651, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay