We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern

View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

275 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 270: English reviews
Start your review of The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went for a weeknight dinner. Food was great with good portion size. Drinks and dessert were also great. Went on whiskey Wednesday. Definitely recommend the crab cakes crab artichoke dip and lobster scampi.

Thank Sherri Y
Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location by Bowdoin.Dinner and breakfast were decent, but good burger. Nice rooms, comfortable bed and lobby. Accommodating with computer use. Helpful with what to see. Messed up with reservation and they were accommodating.

Thank Julie C
Management response:

Thank you Julie for your comments. I am happy that we were able to resolve your reservation requests. Good Luck on the college tours. Rick Martin

New York City, New York
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Thank you for being so kind to my college-student daughter and my dog!! It was a wonderful welcome with dog biscuits. Then coffee in the lobby the next morning. The room was great. The only downside was the small parking lot and no room service...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lucy Victoria P
Management response:

Hello Lucy Victoria P, we happily welcome all family members who travel to MidCoast Maine. I am pleased to say that the large snow pile in the parking lot has been removed opening up a number of parking spaces. We hope to see you again soon. Rick

Nashua, New Hampshire
Reviewed 21 March 2017

Loved this hotel. It is within walking distance of shops and restaurants. The restaurant in the hotel had great food and a good selection of beer. All of the employees were extremely nice. We will definitely be back soon!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KrisB19
Management response:

We are happy to offer only local craft beers on tap! Maine street Brunswick even offers museums, movies, and bowling as well, for all ages. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Until next time... Rick

Reviewed 28 February 2017 via mobile

Tried this property vs. a reliable chain hotel--glad we did. We found it quaint, yet offering the comforts of a large hotel. Great in-town location and parking was a breeze in their on premise lot. The staff was friendly & helpful. We truly felt welcomed by the staff members during our stay. I requested a corner room and it spacious....

Thank Lat70
Management response:

We feel we are a refreshing departure from a chain hotel product; I am happy you agree. Our beds are the Best!! We can even help you obtain one if you'd like, in addition to a bag of our locally brewed, Wicked Joe's, "special blend" coffee. I look forward to your next visit. Please be sure to say hello. Rick...

Kittery, Maine
Reviewed 29 January 2017

Check-in couldn't be until 4pm. No refrigerator in the room. No ice bucket or ice machine available, had to go to the downstairs bar for ice, outside traffic noise was loud, heard the guy in the room below us snoring, room was cold, the exterior wall was cold to the touch, the heater was really noisy, the shower took forever...

Thank rjcejka
Management response:

I am very sorry to hear about your stay. We do have rooms with refrigerators and microwaves on request, as well as ice being available for delivery. I have reminded our team to communicate this on arrival as is customary. Our staff typically has our rooms available prior to the 4pm check-in time as well, and I am sorry they...

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The hotel is very nice and can tell new in the past couple of years. The rooms are cozy and quiet. I guess the one complaint would be that they seemed a little stingy on giving you more soap/shampoo/conditioner. We stayed for 4 days and didn't get replenished with these amenities daily. The Tavern was great for both breakfast and...

Thank Clever8
Management response:

Thank you for your comments. Our culinary team is top notch and our staff is happy to serve. I have discussed your comments with our room attendants as it is our policy to replenish your amenities during your stay. I look forward to seeing you again. Best, Rick Martin

Bristol, Maine
Reviewed 25 December 2016 via mobile

While it was nice to have a place for Christmas dinner, the atmosphere was not festive, the service was poor, and the food average. Although we had reservations, and the dinner room wasn't full, they seated us in the bar, with another couple at our elbows. My husband has a handicap and needed some help, however the staff told us...

Thank Kathy R
West Point, New York
Reviewed 30 November 2016

My wife and I took a trip to Maine to see Acadia and the LL Bean store - so we stayed in another Bath hotel over the Holiday Weekend. However, we enjoyed going to a most wonderful Thanksgiving dinner at the Brunswick Hotel and Tavern. They had a great selection of meats, salads, deserts, and a great group of servers....

Thank yugtac
Bath, Maine
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

7 of us for dinner. Started off great with yummy appetizers but then it got busy and when our dinners came, two meat dishes were cold and seared tuna, which was the catch of the day was very overcooked and dry. The waiter specifically told me the chef likes to cook it medium rare and I said that was fine....

Thank Laura H

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (23)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Room/Suite (4)
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Bathroom (1)
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (16)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Room/Suite (6)
Other (5)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brunswick
0.9 km away
The Daniel
The Daniel
#1 of 11 in Brunswick
375 reviews
4.5 km away
2.4 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 11 in Brunswick
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Brunswick Freeport
12.3 km away
Harraseeket Inn
Harraseeket Inn
#1 of 11 in Freeport
903 reviews
1.6 km away
Travelers Inn
Travelers Inn
#4 of 11 in Brunswick
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Directly adjacent to Bowdoin College and steps away from the lively downtown, The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern perfectly positions guests to take advantage of all this college town and the state's picturesque Mid-Coast region have to offer. Handsomely appointed guest rooms feature a mix of heavenly king and queen beds, spacious workstations and sleekly stylish baths. Flat screen televisions, complimentary internet access and in-room coffee add to the comfort and enjoyment. Connecting rooms are available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern

Address: 4 Noble St, Brunswick, ME 04011-2410 (Formerly The Inn at Brunswick Station)
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Brunswick
Price Range: €143 - €446 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At Brunswick Station Hotel Brunswick
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Romantic Hotel in Brunswick
#2 Family Hotel in Brunswick
#3 Business Hotel in Brunswick
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Brunswick Hotel and Tavern staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We cannot comment on the hotel - but staying guests had nice compliments and were very happy with it. We just went for the dinner.”
yugtac, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room overlooked the car-park but was very quiet”
RaySmith48, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room overlooking the parking lots is quieter than the street sides.”
R1904QHsarahl, 8 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Parking's tight, but this is a perfect train destination, no car needed.”
U9861YPtoms, 8 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Third floor rooms are quiet. Windows with screens that can be opened.”
Trigib, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$158* /night
View Deal
View all 10 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates