We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Golden Lion Hotel & Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

180 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 178: English reviews
Coventry
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Visited with family for a birthday Sunday lunch. I have been before and as with previous reviews was more than satisfied with the quality of food and the service. This was a visit paid for by a voucher given to me at Xmas. I still feel it a little expensive for what it is, and that's why I only give...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oliver1813
EleanorMaynard, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

Oliver, thank you for taking the time to complete a review on TripAdvisor. Unfortunately as a privately owned business, we don't reap the benefits of mass buying power and this means that our costs are higher to provide you with the quality of food we produce. We do hope you return to us soon, maybe you will receive some more...

Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2016

We had arranged a school reunion to celebrate our 65th years having all started at Dunsmore Boys School, Rugby in 1962, having been there five years ago. This family run hotel could not have been more helpful. As with all such things our numbers were flexible right up to the day and they were happy to adjust the menu and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rod M
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

Rod, many thanks for taking the time to send us a review via Trip Advisor. We are really pleased you had such an enjoyable evening reminiscing.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

We came here as a group of six of us for Sunday Lunch. When you first arrive it looks great and there's a lovely smell of the food cooking. Once we sat at our tables I looked at the menu and there's not a great choice for a Sunday lunch time, a choice of 4 starters and 3 mains or...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, although I was sorry to read that we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. Were you able to speak to any of our team on the day to rectify your issues with the carvery meat?

Hailsham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

This was a lovely surprise Lunch with family, food, staff & the restaurant all first class, service first class, we are even considering staying there for our Granddaughters wedding next year. Certainly look forward to dinning there again when in the area.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John C
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

John, great to hear, we would love you and other family members to stay with us when your granddaughter gets married next year. For our best rates please call the hotel direct during office hours.

Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed here over night whilst visiting Newbold Revel. Lovely hotel in a lovely scenic area. Room ok, very dated. Bed was lovely and comfortable and we both slept well. We ate in the restaurant and food was to a very high standard, drinks were very pricey!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DonandNick
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

We are pleased to read you had a comfortable stay and you enjoyed your dinner. As a family owned hotel, we do not benefit from the buying power of chain pubs and restaurants and unfortunately this results in our drink prices being higher.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

You can tell the chef enjoys their job. The food was cooked to a very high standard. i had the beer battered cod and there was not an ounce of grease. The staff were excellent, hotel very clean and quiet.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

"Amazing" says it all! Thank you very much! We're delighted you have taken time to give The Golden Lion a five star review here on Trip Advisor, and hope to see you again very soon. Best wishes from Jim, Caroline and the team

Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Once again we enjoyed a fantastic meal at the Golden Lion. The food was perfect and the hospitality was absolutely fabulous. I don't know why it took us so long to have a meal there but it is definitely my new favourite local restaurant. Will be back as often I can find a good excuse.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

Chris, "new favorite local restaurant" we are all happy to be honoured with this title and look forward to seeing you again soon.

nuneaton
Reviewed 24 August 2016

Pitched up here with 5 former work colleagues for dinner and a catch up. Service was spot on from the start from ordering drinks at the bar, to be shown to the table and for our food and further drinks orders being taken. Food was well presented and tasted good. There was fish and chips, steakburger and the 4 having...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank popesterNuneaton
EllyRat, Guest Relations Manager at Golden Lion Hotel & Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your visit to The Golden Lion, we very much appreciate it and are really pleased you enjoyed your dinner and catch up.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 August 2016

We arrived at the hotel after a very scenic drive, the sat nav had taken us all through the hills and dales!! We arrived a little later than planned due to heavy traffic and got there around 9pm. The hotel reception was closed so we went to the bar were a lovely young man showed us to our room. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen C
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

Stopped for lunch with grand daughter. Inn was very (well behaved) child friendly. Staff efficient and food delivered promptly and to a high standard. One small complaint dealt with with a smile and grand daughter treated to a pudding. Will try again for dinner with friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken M

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Easenhall
4.8 km away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
5.9 km away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rugby
197 reviews
3.7 km away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Premier Inn Rugby North (M6 Jct1) Hotel
6.0 km away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#2 of 39 in Coventry
2,495 reviews
5.9 km away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#11 of 12 in Rugby
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy the atmosphere of this 16th-century village inn, its welcoming bar, range of traditional ales and delicious, freshly cooked food. Menus are available throughout lunchtime and evening, offering a wide range of food from light snacks to a la carte meals, complimented by an extensive list of fine wines. The en-suite bedrooms are individually styled to suit the character of this historic inn and have been rated 3 Stars by the AA. Two bedrooms feature Four Poster Bed and Spa Baths. A lovely rural location just 4 miles from Rugby, 13 miles from Coventry. Enjoy a romantic break with your partner, here in a beautiful tranquil village location. Package includes bottle of sparkling wine on arrival, three course dinner from our a la carte menu, one night overnight accommodation in one of our four poster bedrooms featuring a spa bath and traditional full English breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Golden Lion Hotel & Inn

Address: Main Street, Easenhall, Rugby CV23 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby > Easenhall
Price Range: €75 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Lion Hotel & Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Golden Lion Hotel & Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Lion Rugby
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Golden Lion Hotel & Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Golden Lion Hotel & Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring an umbrella!”
 of 5 bubbles philinda24, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“OK if you are tee total”
 of 5 bubbles DougJ925, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not sure but the hotel is in a quiet area.”
 of 5 bubbles 595eileenc, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Our room was very quiet - as was the whole hotel during the night.”
 of 5 bubbles moddlane, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a summer duvet in summer.”
 of 5 bubbles Mike_com, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay