We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Charles Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Charles Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Charles Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 154: English reviews
Sherborn, Massachusetts
Reviewed 18 August 2016

I bit worn our but OK, except that we receives a confirmation by email that we would be checking in late, but barely got in the front door(a guest was in the lobby and let us in !) So someone came down and checked us in, but a little confusing . The room was ok, but the lock a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sophill
Reviewed 18 August 2016

Clean sheets, clean bathroom and sink, good hot shower. Toilet gave us trouble when the tank didn't refill, but a little tap on the mechanism got it going again. Shower rod came tumbling down at one point. Elevator floor and surface of bedside table were sticky and dirty. Some strange red substance on the guest information notebook. Vomit on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lm l
Reviewed 10 August 2016

I booked this inn because the description sounded like it was going to be a unique experience. Although the lobby was cute, the room itself was just old, worn furniture. And unfortunately the bed was very uncomfortable. I expected parking but was directed to a parking garage down the block. After questioning the $10 fee for parking, I was told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice D
Charlottetown, Canada
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We love how Bangor is growing a cool urban feel and this hotel is part of the cool. We could walk to pubs and restaurants of all sorts and there was some fun and unique shopping. "Grumpy coffee" at the lovely coffee shop in the lobby was sweet. We're coming back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shetheworld
Danna B, Assistant Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, your opinion is important to us!

Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed here this past weekend and it was super cute. The décor in the main lobby is interesting. Almost like a tiny museum. Very cool. The rooms are outdated. The furniture and the carpets and televisions are definitely from 'their' time. However, it worked. It was clean. The beds were comfortable and roomy. It was really charming. I would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cote M
Danna B, Assistant Manager at The Charles Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, your opinion is important to us!

Portland, ME
Reviewed 1 August 2016

For a historic building that could have so much potential, this inn really falls short. We paid $175 for a king bed room (the "U.S.S. Maine Suite") that overlooks West Market Square, which was probably the only good part of the room. Everything is extremely dated. There was no closet or iron, no extra pillows/blankets, the (very small) TV did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank somainer
Bingley
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed for one night only and for that, the hotel was fine. Bathroom basic but clean, bedding clean and fresh. Everything else in the room was shabby, tired and worn out. The staff are super friendly and the location is great for exploring the city but not for sleep. Very noisy which to be honest, I should've expected in a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grumpling66
Saco, Maine, United States
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Was hesitant about staying here because of previous owners reviews but glad I gave it a shot. Downstairs has great eclectic charm. They are very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and the rooms were very clean. Location is great to go to the concerts. An excellent experience. Will stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Robyn H
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Room was large and clean. Hotel needs some TLC. Extension cord used to run the window mounted air conditioner. Some fire doors on the stair wells did not close automatically, others closed very loudly. Building has fire sprinklers. Our room faced the front square and had thin curtains that did not block the light, we were up with the sun....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M C
St. Johns, Florida
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here one night before heading off to other parts of Maine. It's centrally located, you can walk to a bunch of great restaurants and the Penobscot Theatre. Everyone there was really nice and accommodating, our room was perfect for our needs and it was very clean. We do a lot of traveling through big hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison G

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bangor
1.7 km away
Residence Inn Bangor
Residence Inn Bangor
#7 of 26 in Bangor
122 reviews
4.9 km away
The Country Inn at the Mall
1.5 km away
Hollywood Casino Bangor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Fireside Inn & Suites, Bangor
3.5 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Bangor
2.7 km away
Vacationland Inn
Vacationland Inn
#1 of 5 in Brewer
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come grow with us! Under new management! Enjoy a unique lodging experience in the heart of downtown Bangor. Walk to area restaurants, pubs, museums, and shopping. Large attractive rooms with cable TV, clock radios, irons, hairdryers, and free deluxe continental breakfast. View the historic city from our fourth floor conference room. Just 15 minutes to airport and major shopping malls. Less than an one hour drive to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Improving daily to serve our guests and the local community even better. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Charles Inn

Address: 20 Broad St, Bangor, ME 04401-6302 (Formerly The Phenix Inn)
Region: United States > Maine > Bangor
Price Range: €67 - €124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Charles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Charles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Charles Hotel Bangor
Charles Hotel Bangor
The Charles Inn Bangor, Maine
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Charles Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Charles Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bring your own hair dyer!”
 of 5 bubbles O1863RFsaral, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the back of the inn are away from the busy sidewalk pubs.”
 of 5 bubbles janiced181, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The businesses (bars) to the front of the hotel are loud, so if not a night owl pick a room to the rear of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles U5718APmc, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the front of the hotel have a nice view, but bars have bands at night. The back rooms might be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles jerb2014, 5 Jan 2016 | Read review
“This is not the Marriot and don't expect anything more.”
 of 5 bubbles 808randyb, 21 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5