We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Discovery Inn & Suites

Save
Share
120 E Kaliste Saloom Rd, Lafayette, LA 70508-8307
Lowest prices for your stay
US$76
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
travelup.com
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (8)
Room & Suite (7)
Dining (3)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#34 of 56 hotels in Lafayette
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Discovery Inn of Lafayette, LA is located in the heart of Cajun Country near downtown Lafayette. Just minutes away from UL, Acadian Village, Acadiana Mall, Lafayette Airport & other tourist attractions. The Discovery Inn of Lafayette is a family owned business and run by a family. We offers affordable, Clean & comfortable accommodations. Each of our guest rooms offer complimentary High Speed Wireless Internet Access (HSIA) , free local phone calls, cable T.V., complimentary Continental Breakfast with hot items, free parking, and Airport transportation available upon request.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Secured parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Breakfast available
Snack bar
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Gift shop
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS

Location

Full view
49Car recommended
Grade: 49 out of 100
40Restaurantswithin 1 km
1Attractionwithin 1 km
47Reviews1Q+A6Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 13
  • 7
  • 13
  • 7
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Margo F wrote a review May 2019
Park City, Utah28 contributions2 helpful votes
On extended road trip and all I’m really looking for is a clean , quiet place with a comfortable bed and a reasonable price. The gentleman who checked us in was very friendly and accommodating. We asked for a non-smoking room, but the room given smelled like cigarettes...we were changed to another room without a fuss. Beds were comfy, parts of the room were dated, but didn’t bother me. Breakfast room very clean with basic breakfast items...I appreciate that they use mostly paper products instead of styrofoam! Thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Paresh Patel , Owner at Discovery Inn & Suites
Responded 17 Oct 2020
Thank you, MargoF66, for your fantastic review of your stay at our hotel. We do aim to always give our guest the very best! We hope you will come back and stay with us again very soon!
Read more
leebrad672 wrote a review Oct 2018
Lafayette, Louisiana1 contribution2 helpful votes
This hotel is a low level Drug addict hotel! Don’t bring your kids there. The room was unclean and the breakfast food was stale. Don’t use your credit card because unexplainable charges will appear. Don’t stay there!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There lots of affordable hotels in the area. No rooms are good there!
See more room tips
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Richard H wrote a review Oct 2017
Friendswood, Texas16 contributions4 helpful votes
The hotel is right on the main drag so it was easy to find. The room was eazy to find and close to the breakfast area but a long way from the ice machine. The a/c in the room was loud and the bed was lumpy,but it had a nice one piece shower/tub that was clean.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: the hotel was close to the wendy's but the south side rooms look onto an empty lot.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
rachel s wrote a review Jul 2017
1 contribution
On 6/13 I rented and paid in full the small meeting room for a gender reveal party. Doing the weeks leading up to the party there was unpredicted sickness in the family, so relatives from out of town was in. This meant I would need a larger room for more guest. I called Discovery inn on 6/28/2017 (all calls times are from my call logs) @732pm spoke with Kai did not identify myself but inquired about the larger meeting room, she informed me that it was available for July 2nd all day. This was the same day I rented the smaller room. The price of the larger room was $350, which I had already paid $175 for the smaller room so I was ready and able to pay the difference. )n 6/29 @3:01pm I called Discovery Inn to inquire about the larger room , it was still available for July 2nd, so after work around 430pm I arrived at Discovery Inn. Upon arrival Kai was the clerk she showed me the larger room, informed me of the price. I than informed her that I would like to upgrade to a larger room , she stated that the larger room was not available, stated some one had booked it after I called. I said I just called an hour ago she stated she had got there and the room was booked earlier that morning. I didn't argue with her but knew she was lying because she had just said it was booked after I called at 3pm. I left hurt and upset!! Brainstorming that maybe I could have the room later or another day I called back and asked if I pay and extra fee or change the date could I have the other room, she placed me on hold and came back and said I could change the date once without a fee. ( the contract did state about the date, but doesn't state anything about not being able to upgrade to a larger room). on 6/30/17 at 7:30am I went back to discovery inn thinking someone else would be there to help me, because I felt she was not being honest about the other room being rented , Kai was there again, she stated the manager wasn't available for me to talk to. She said the small room only hold 44 and if it is more , we will shut the whole function down. So not wanting to have my daughter's first baby reveal ruined , 0n 6/30/17 at around 430pm I went back and cancelled the reservation. As per contract I only will receive half my money back. Which now that is my issue no one can tell me when I will receive my money back. I than rented a room down the road at the Wyngate (great staff, friendly, clean, Please stay/go there instead). Well passing by the Discovery inn on our way there several times, no cars were even at the Discovery Inn , some of the guest wasn't aware of the change of location so went to Discovery Inn and I had to go meet them, there was no other function going on. I called Discovery Inn at 9:48pm because I was so upset that Kai was not honest about renting me the other room, spoke with Michelle she stated there was no booking on the larger room that day. I left a message for the manager to call me in the am. She stated his hours were 8am - 4pm. I called at 8:28am on 7/3/2017, Susan answered the phone she stated the manager was available , I asked to leave a message, she said ohh this is R. Sam, I said how do you know this is me , she than stumble on her words, I than proceed to ask when will my funds be credited to my card, she stated I don't know check with your bank. I demanded to talk to a manger or I would come with the local police to talk with him. she said whatever and hung up. Please don't go here , please avoid having to deal with the unprofessional desk clerks that is you are first greeted with. They should treat every one equally and with courtesy. Plus if you have an issue Management is not available . I deserve to receive my entire $175.00 back due to these stressful events.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Paresh P, Manager at Discovery Inn & Suites
Responded 4 Jul 2017
I apologize for your experience and feel sorry for your misunderstanding. Unfortunately, we don't have any control over the circumstances you have described in your extensive article. We have rooms to rent and it is based on first come first serve. I apologize for not able to book the room after you came from your work. Kai may have given you the impression of giving you false info but the room was under use by other hotel guests and it was blocked for carpet cleaning and maintenance for later dates. Why would we be able to book you the first room for $175 and would not be able to rent the bigger room for more money??? May be because it was not available.
Read more
Amanda C wrote a review Jun 2017
Lake Charles, Louisiana1 contribution
Ashley and Susan and Jude were above average employees. Ashley being above average made our stay excellent! Kia on the other hand made things very difficult. She was rude and made the stay of getting the same room very hard. She was just RUDE. Housekeeping was the worst ever. They never set foot in the bathroom the entire stay. There was a strong odor of urine in the room when we got there. We had to buy our on air fresheners​. Above all I would come back due to the location and the price and ASHLEY. But hope they change housekeeping and rude service such as Kia before we return. Hope to see Ashley again soon. ThAnks for taking care of us!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2017Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Paresh P, Manager at Discovery Inn & Suites
Responded 4 Jul 2017
Sorry for your experience. We certainly want you to come stay at our hotel and enjoy our pool with your grand kids. Unfortunately, due to your different type of room selection online was causing us to NOT let you stay in the same room. Your selection online was "smoking" and you wanted to stay in a "non smoking" room close to pool. That puts us in a bind with other guests who want non smoking room close to the pool area. If the room smell was bothering you then all you had to do was go to the front desk and change to a different room. At the end of the day you stayed in a room of your liking for your entire stay period but by giving our property 1/5 star you put all of us at fault and that is not fair. Also, our housekeepers are properly trained to clean the hotel rooms and they do a fantastic job on daily basis. I disagree with your rating about us.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$57 - US$75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United StatesLouisianaLafayette ParishLafayette
NUMBER OF ROOMS
85
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Discovery Inn & Suites
Which popular attractions are close to Discovery Inn & Suites?
Nearby attractions include Painting with a Twist (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Discovery Inn & Suites?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Discovery Inn & Suites?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at Discovery Inn & Suites?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Discovery Inn & Suites?
Conveniently located restaurants include Poupart Bakery, T-Coon's Restaurant, and Marcello's Lafayette.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Discovery Inn & Suites?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Discovery Inn & Suites have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Discovery Inn & Suites offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Discovery Inn & Suites?
Yes, dry cleaning and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Discovery Inn & Suites offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Discovery Inn & Suites?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Acadian Village (8.0 km) and Alexandre Mouton House (3.5 km).