We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Capital Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Capital Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Capital Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 173: English reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2016 via mobile

You can tell this used to be a great place. Not so now. We reserve d a "river" view then was told as we checked in that we many not be able to see it. The bed should had been thrown out. We got a different room, still needing basic repairs- phone does not work, hair dryer does not work,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nelson W
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay. I am so sorry that you were not happy with your accommodations. We are constantly making improvements and I am so sorry you did not feel that during your stay. I will share your comments with the team and we will strive to do a better job. We do...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 19 July 2016

My family recently held our reunion there. I think we were all pleasantly surprised. Rooms were clean, pretty quiet, and beds were comfortable. The lobby area was very nice to gather and the conference room we had was good for us. There were several parties, weddings, and ball teams there, but with being on different floors we had plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank et7351
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed having your event here. Our staff tries very hard to make sure that all everyone has a pleasant stay. We hope you will consider our hotel your home away from home anytime you visit Kentucky.

Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Hotel is dated but comfortable. Beds were OK. Staff is friendly and professional. I ordered the hot brown (Kentucky speciality) and was surprised at how good it was. Had to order and eat in the bar area but service was good. No meat on the breakfast bar is a bummer. We asked for the courtesy van and got a ride...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ole-wd
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the feedback on your recent stay. I am glad you enjoyed the Kentucky Hotbrown. It is truly one of the best meals you can have while visiting Kentucky. I'm sorry you were not happy with our free breakfast bar. We are experimenting with different breakfast formats, but we do want to keep the breakfast as...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Nice hotel, clean, great staff. We stayed in a very large clean room, room 301. Not a brand new place, but perfectly fine for our needs. Comfortable beds. Underground parking, which some may not care for.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mpierson
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for feedback on your recent stay. I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel. I can understand your concerns with parking, but with the kind of weather we have in Kentucky, the underground parking can be a very nice amenity. Cars stay cool in the summer and you do not have to worry about ice...

Paducah, Kentucky
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

The hotel is located downtown within walking distance of a few restaurants. The free breakfast buffet has no protein. It is strictly carbs. The carpet is stained and has wrinkles throughout the lobby that trips you. The decor is outdated. The beds are lumpy and low to the ground. There is excessive street noise and the air conditioning in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank natejewel
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am so sorry that you were unhappy with your stay. We strive hard to provide an excellent product to all of our guests and it is obvious we did not meet your expectations. While you did raise valid issues such as the lobby, I did want to correct a couple...

Erlanger, Kentucky
Reviewed 12 July 2016

The hotel itself was very nice. It was quiet. The rooms are clean. The hotel staff was friendly.The breakfast is free although no meat of any kind (bacon, sausage, ham) and the grave was very salty. I stayed there for business in the area. I arrived on a Sunday and the restaurant is not open on Sundays. That would have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Educ8kids
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am sorry the lounge was not open for you on Sunday when you arrived. We are not open on Sunday's due to the light traffic and low demand. We should definitely do a better job of suggesting alternative dining options for our guests. I will also check on the breakfast...

Danville, Virginia
Reviewed 30 June 2016

We stayed on the 7th floor with a view of the river. Outstanding, clean, and well maintained for its age, Would recommend this property without hesitation. Though we ate breakfast only, I did see it was advantageous to dine off property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oldnacl416
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your feedback on your recent stay! We are conveniently located on the bourbon trail and there are many sites and historical places to see in downtown Frankfort. We are constantly making improvements to our facility and plan to be around for many years to come. We hope to see you again whenever your travels bring...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Capital Plaza is a very clean, well run hotel that is just across from the Kentucky River. Rooms are very well kept, and the beds are very comfortable. Free parking for guests is offered, and a breakfast buffet was included with the room. Would definitely stay here again when doing the bourbon trail.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ron P
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and I will pass your comments on to the staff. We are conveniently located to the bourbon trail and many central Kentucky attractions. We do look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the Frankfort area!!!

Tullahoma, Tennessee
Reviewed 8 June 2016

My wife and I spent two nights at the Capital Plaza. There is plenty of parking in the hotel parking garage, the lobby is convenient to the garage, and our check-in was very smooth and professional. Our room was clean and the A/C worked very well. There was a festival on the adjacent plaza so there was noise at night...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tenntraveller70
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful comments on your recent stay. Capital Expo was the festival in town and it only happens once per year during the first week of June. I am glad to hear that you were satisfied with your room and our A/C. However, I am most pleased that your arrival made such a great impression on you....

Beaver Dam, Kentucky
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

This is a very nice hotel, no complaints. Checking in and out was smooth staff very nice. We came in on Sunday afternoon nothing is open in the downtown area. It was dead. The Restuarant and bar area not open. The room was spacious. They do need to do some renovations I'm sure it was an up scale place to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goldwing1_11
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful comments about our staff on your recent stay with us. Please know that we are working on renovations and have numerous plans for updates. Frankfort, being the state capital, is much more active on the weekdays, but it is slowly changing with the various tourist attractions and upcoming river front development. We do hope you...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 10 in Frankfort
523 reviews
6.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankfort
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#5 of 10 in Frankfort
71 reviews
20.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrenceburg
239 reviews
29.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Capital Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Wilkinson Blvd., Frankfort, KY 40601 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfort - Capital Plaza)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Frankfort
Price Range: €100 - €144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frankfort
Frankfort Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Shelbyville, Kentucky
over a year ago
Sedalia, Missouri
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't bother paying extra for the refrigerator, it may not work and can't be fixed quickly.”
kathrync678, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“River view rooms are noisier. Your choice.”
CharlotteF341, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
travelpr0123, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Easy to access directly from Hwy 127”
yvonne070216, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 618 if need two beds and you want a great view”
229me, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5