We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Capital Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Capital Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 169: English reviews
Start your review of Capital Plaza Hotel
 Click to rate
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I attended this hotel for a business trip to the Capitol and then business meeting the following day. The hotel is somewhat dated but very clean. The front desk staff was absolutely amazing!! Very helpful. Terrie Monie, Front Desk Manager went above and beyond to provide assistance on my checkout as well as some of my co-workers! Would recommend to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimfen
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! I am happy to hear that my staff made a great impression on you and your coworkers. We are in the process of updating our rooms and will address the issue you mentioned. Thank you so much for taking the time to write and I will let Terry know how much you appreciated her...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I chose this for proximity to a meeting I was attending. All the personnel were polite and helpful. The room was clean and well appointed. There were only two small hitches. The signage in the lobby was a little confusing and there were no USB ports in the room. As I said, small hitches only. I would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful feedback. USB ports are a nice amenity and I appreciate the suggestion. We are very happy to hear you would choose to stay with us on a return visit. We look forward to serving you.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came here to work a basketball tourney, it's my second consecutive trip. Had visited hotel in the late 90s, was not impressed the. Place was outdated and smelled of old cigarettes and bourbon from state workers from long ago. However this trip, I am really pleased. Updated rooms and very very clean personal areas. The shower is sharp and this...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cshaunwilliams
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful feedback on your recent stay. We have been working hard to update our hotel and it's nice to hear that you were impressed with the changes. We do hope that you will return again soon!

Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is minimal in its lobby decor, but it's very pretty. You can tell it's decades old, but it's clean and comfortable. The hallway carpet is in pretty rough condition but the room was fine. The bed was comfortable and we slept well. The location is a plus because we walked to all our destinations and parking in the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kellandgarland
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. I am glad that you were satisfied with your accommodations and that you would stay again. We agree with you about the hallway carpeting and we are in the process of remodeling and replacing it. We have already completed 3 corridors and we plan to have the rest completed in the...

Reviewed 26 December 2016 via mobile

My now husband and I are from Washington, DC and got married at Buffalo Trace. All of our guests had to travel in for the wedding. Capital Plaza Hotel is just down the street from Buffalo Trace so as soon as we set the date we grabbed a large hotel block. During the planning process the hotel switched booking systems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
Fenton, Michigan
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

My husband and I went to Buffalo Trace and just needed someplace to stay. Read other reviews but liked the location and wanted to support a local business rather than a chain. Garage is funky, but the desk staff was super friendly and had great dinner suggestions. Room was tired and dated but the bed was comfy. They need new...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay. I am so glad my staff provided you with helpful information. We are working on upgrading our rooms and we be getting new pillows very soon. Thanks again for sharing your experience! We hope to see you on a return visit to Frankfort.

Reviewed 30 November 2016

We had a large group of people stay at the Capital Plaza Hotel recently for a business trip. Upon return, there was one hotel receipt still needed to reconcile our financial account. Between two people, at least 5 attempts were made via telephone to the front desk of the hotel to obtain said receipt. The clerk's name is Katara and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travelingdaytripper
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

I am extremely disappointed that you have had this experience at our desk. Your receipt was not as straight forward as most, but that is no excuse as to anyone being able to find your receipt and provide it to you as you gave her the necessary information she needed. We are retraining the desk clerk in question. I also...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 October 2016

The hotel was dirty and old. The phones in the room were replaced twice, and still did not work. The lobby staff was rude and did not even know what was served for breakfast. The rooms were horrible. Dust balls in every corver, the furniture was old and worn and the tub floor was stained. The staff in the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jcdiaz1967
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time write and share your experience. Something obviously went wrong on your stay and I apologize for my staff not handling it to your satisfaction. I am glad you at least found my breakfast staff friendly and helpful. We are under renovation as we speak so a lot of your issues with fixtures and furniture...

Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewed 23 October 2016

Ditto on the comments about the parking garage. It was neglected and run-down and the lighting was poor. There was standing water and trash all over that no one cleaned up. When we checked in, they advised us to park close to the door- that was a no-brainer! The breakfast was just barely edible. Even the bar was disgusting. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ASELAGE
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences. I am sorry if you were not pleased with your accommodations. We are under renovation at this time in both the public areas and guest rooms. Much of the issues you mentioned will be addressed in the changes we are making. As for the parking garage, the state owns...

Wisconsin
Reviewed 11 October 2016

Cons: ugly, scary, dirty, parking garage ick. Desk clerk gave us little to no info how to manouver from dungeon garage to the 7th floor. Garage floor so sticky and gross my shoes almost got pulled off, in closer look this is Ky government property, guess no maintainence, sad. Bourbon country and hotel bar has no bitters, reallly? Poor bartender...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jill2508
Carol J, General Manager at Capital Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. Unfortunately most of your complaints were regarding state owned property, the parking garage and fountain plaza are not under our control. We do contact them on a regular basis on upkeep, but again, we do not control their schedule. As for my hallways, I am concerned, since we have runners twice...

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfort
4.5 km away
Hampton Inn Frankfort
Hampton Inn Frankfort
#1 of 9 in Frankfort
501 reviews
6.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Frankfort
4.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Frankfort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Bluegrass Inn
Bluegrass Inn
#5 of 9 in Frankfort
65 reviews
20.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
BEST WESTERN Lawrenceburg Inn
#1 of 1 in Lawrenceburg
230 reviews
29.7 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Georgetown Corporate Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Capital Plaza Hotel

Address: 405 Wilkinson Blvd., Frankfort, KY 40601 (Formerly Holiday Inn Frankfort - Capital Plaza)
Region: United States > Kentucky > Frankfort
Price Range: €106 - €127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Capital Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Frankfort
Frankfort Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Capital Plaza Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Shelbyville, Kentucky
over a year ago
Sedalia, Missouri
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Capital Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“River view rooms are noisier. Your choice.”
 of 5 bubbles CharlotteF341, 9 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles travelpr0123, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Easy to access directly from Hwy 127”
 of 5 bubbles yvonne070216, 6 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for room 618 if need two beds and you want a great view”
 of 5 bubbles 229me, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
“One side has a street view that also has a river view. The other side overlooks a beautiful fountain courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles et7351, 19 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5