We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
1021 Wilkinson Trce, Bowling Green, KY 42103-2445
HolidayInn.com
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 14 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (88)
Room & Suite (32)
Dining (6)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel
Updated 20/11/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#24 of 40 hotels in Bowling Green
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
This Bowling Green, KY hotel is great for work or play!The unique, atrium style high-rise structure and warm, southern hospitality welcomes you to the Holiday Inn® University Plaza - Bowling Green. Leisure travelers find that there is plenty to see and do in Bowling Green, KY. Car aficionados enjoy our proximity to the National Corvette Museum, General Motors Corvette Assembly Plant, and NCM Motorsports Park. If you're feeling adventurous, take a tour of the nearby Mammoth Cave National Park, Beech Bend Amusement Park, and Lost River Cave!Business travelers appreciate our hotel's locality. We're near Western Kentucky University and companies such as Fruit of the Loom, Sumitomo, and Bendix. Convention attendees and planners alike will adore our location, which is adjacent to the Sloan Convention Center and able to host meetings ranging from 10 to 1,700 guests.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Parking
Wifi
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Breakfast buffet
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
ATM on site
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Bosnian and 1 more
363Reviews4Q+A61Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 123
  • 121
  • 73
  • 24
  • 22
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Leadville98 wrote a review Feb 2022
Athens, Georgia181 contributions57 helpful votes
+1
We chose the hotel for an overnight stop on our way to Indianapolis, noting it was convenient to restaurants. We were able to walk to a neighboring restaurant (Toro) and had a nice meal which was the highlight of our stopover. Now the bad: The hotel is showing its age, but that alone would not be reason to rate it as poor. There were significant issues with cleanliness of the room. The tub area needs a good scrubbing (I actually wore shower shoes, which I normally reserve for campground showers), carpet at the doorway to the bath was filthy, there was a stay bit of plastic film on the counter (which should have been caught had the whole countertop been wiped between guests). A used K-cup remained in the coffee maker, so clearly those aren’t being checked. The view from our room was dismal. When looking for an outlet to plug in a phone charger, I found a rather alarming hanging surge protector behind the cabinet. All in all, I’d say just save the extra $40 a night and go to a hotel that’s not pretending to be more than it is.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Feb 2022
Dear Leadville98, Thank you for taking the time to share your important feedback. On behalf of our housekeeping staff, I would like to apologize for your experience. We have a dedicated staff who normally receive high marks for cleanliness, so I regret that we fell short on providing acceptable accommodations and for your overall poor impression. The details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark. I appreciate your feedback as it allows us to positively impact future guest experiences. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Seth McClain General Manager
Read more
David B wrote a review Jan 2022
Athens, Georgia590 contributions193 helpful votes
+1
This property is located by the airport and has small convention potential. It is within walking distance of several restaurants. Plenty of parking on site. Weekend stay and the property was not overly busy. The staff was pleasant, but question how on top of things they are. For example, we went for our complimentary water and the cooler was empty of water and almost empty of soda. Mentioned this to the front desk and the response was they hadn’t worked a shift in awhile and didn’t know. The next morning, it still had not been addressed. As for the room, it was a mix of mostly updated with some glaring things that showed the properties age. The bathroom had a facelift, except the tub was still original and the drain was rusted. Sloppy install on the tub surround. The biggest issue was the HVAC in the room. It was warm when we got to the room. Turned down the thermostat and walked to dinner. We got back a few hours later and the room had not cooled at all. Was actually hotter (74) than when we got there (72), despite being set at 65. It was later than we wanted to deal with changing rooms, so we elected to deal with it for a night. When we left in the morning, I didn’t see anyone at the front to report the issue. There are too many other options where this property is located. Next time, I’ll choose one of those.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel
Responded 22 Jan 2022
Dear Bulldog82, Thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. We strive to provide a WOW experience, so I regret that your visit was just okay. The details definitely do make a trip and I'm sorry we missed the mark. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will reconsider a return visit. Sincerely, Seth McClain General Manager
Read more
Scenic270406 wrote a review Jan 2022
11 contributions
+1
I entered my bathroom and immediately noticed a pee stain on the toilet, and a fingernail behind the door. Shaved hairs were around the sink. I went to the lobby, said I was going to be gone for awhile. And asked for a reclean. When I returned, the room had not been touched. I went downstairs and again asked for a reclean. The worker said, I will ask but housekeeping isn’t here right now. I went back upstairs and upon further review saw…. A dirty towel and washcloth hanging up, dirty floor, toothpaste spit on the faucet, a rumpled bed with hairs around the pillows. I pull the bedsheet back…. And there is a spot of blood on the sheet! I went downstairs and told the front desk that I needed to be reroomed because of the issues. He gave me a room and said, “let me know if that room doesn’t meet your standards of clean.” What about IHG’s posted clean promise? Is IHG ok with blood stain on the sheet, dirty towels in the bathroom, etc? I never received an apology, a refund—nothing, and I have premier status. We are loyal customers of IHG and are willing to pay more because of their standard—but no more! The new room sounded like a freight train coming through as the HVAC system wasn’t working properly, but at least it was clean. We tried emailing and calling the manager with no results. We have emailed IHG corporate and have also not received a reply. I hope this experience was just a fluke, but I’m not going back to see. I wasted money and points on a horrible stay. Next time, I’ll pay for a cheaper hotel that actually stands by their clean promise.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Jan 2022
Dear Scenic270406, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and for being our valued guest. Providing fresh accommodations is our top priority and I regret that we let you down in this area. Additionally, I apologize that you found your room conditions to be poor and that you did not find us to be a good value. The details definitely do make a trip and we regret we missed the mark. Your feedback provides us with the valuable information we need to improve the guest experience. We hope to WOW you on a return trip. Sincerely, Seth McClain General Manager
Read more
Susan Dawson wrote a review Dec 2021
Niles, Michigan155 contributions88 helpful votes
I was a little worried when we pulled up and there were 6 school busses but this staff was on it!!! No noise after 10 pm. The restaurant closed at 9 , we had been looking to have a drink after 10 hours on the road. Room was spotlessly clean! Staff was amazing. The only complaint I had was that the room never really cooled down like we wanted but it wasn’t bad enough to complain. I know it’s hard to find workers now but keeping the restaurant open later during the week would be awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 Jan 2022
Dear Home2Indy, Sincere thanks for taking the time to share your review. It’s encouraging to know that your stay was pleasant. Our goal is to provide comfort and friendly service to all our guests who are away from home; your feedback, which highlight’s both successes and recommendations for areas of improvement, allows us to monitor how we are doing. We appreciate your choosing to stay with us at our Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green location and look forward to your return trip. Best, Seth McClain General Manager
Read more
Mimi123 wrote a review Sep 2021
Lake Charles, Louisiana2 contributions1 helpful vote
We had a king suite. A separate living room with couch and chair, tv, dining table and two chairs, microwave, small refrigerator, counter with sink. Separate bedroom with another tv. Guest laundry on our floor. $128 per night plus tax. Staff seemed to be mostly college students and they were extremely pleasant and helpful in every way. Because of COVID, housekeeping only came daily if requested. We requested more towels and supplies during our stay from the front desk, and the front desk staff immediately filled our requests themselves.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel
Responded 10 Sep 2021
Dear susanbE5998EO, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. It is wonderful to know that you found our rooms comfortable and our associates friendly. Your review and recommendation are welcomed and appreciated. Thank you for staying with us. Best, Seth McClain General Manager
Read more
James C wrote a review Jul 2021
Bowling Green, Kentucky53 contributions19 helpful votes
I have done business with them for years and even bringing in out of town guest to stay here. Recently I sold my home and was in a transitional phase for a little over a week and stayed with them for one of my longest stays ever. Normally, I would spend a few days here or days over when I had events going on and so on. However, due to the circumstances this was a little different. However, this turned out to by far my best week stay in any Hotel ever and I continue to highly recommend this Hotel for both locals who need a night away or two and certainly out of town guest when they come to Bowling Green. This Hotel is one of the best in town because of its Management and Staff who go out of their way to always be helpful and to this day after 17 years plus of doing Business with them I can personally say nothing would change my opinion of them. In fact, I think they have just gotten better in the quality of the Management and Staffing over the years. A great place to stay!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel
Responded 15 Jul 2021
Dear James C, Our associates understand and believe that our valued guests deserve an exceptional stay and we will continue to push daily to find new ways to WOW our guests. I will be sure to share your very nice comments with our team; they work hard to ensure guests have a pleasant stay. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and we are humbled to be your hotel of choice. Best, Seth McClain General Manager
Read more
Courtney H wrote a review Jun 2021
19 contributions2 helpful votes
Beautifully kept inside and out. Beautiful indoor fountain. Staff were very personable and genuine. Offered great advise about the area. Quiet hours were taken seriously. Very happy about our stay. Will definitely be back to this location.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Hotel Management, General Manager at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel
Responded 17 Jun 2021
Dear Courtney R, Our associates make sincere hospitality their priority. We appreciate hearing from you and are glad to know you enjoyed our hotel and the level of service we provide. Thank you especially for recognizing the staff, I will be sure to share your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you upon your return to the area! Best, Seth McClain General Manager
Read more
Fred W wrote a review Dec 2020
Proctorville, Ohio23 contributions18 helpful votes
Our room was nice and clean, 2 day stay. There for Marshall v western Kentucky football game. Pretty close to stadium and nice area for hospitality and close to nice restaurants. Will stay there again. Bowling Green is very nice city, very friendly people.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
BrandiandMike wrote a review Oct 2020
Northern Kentucky, Kentucky42 contributions3 helpful votes
Hotel was somewhat dated and pricey compared to others in the area. We got a corner executive suite for our family on 7th floor. Breakfast was expensive and typical hotel breakfast by order since covid. Went to bar but not paying $12 for a tiny drink. Room was clean and large enough but hotel just needs a facelift inside in general!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 Nov 2020
Hello brandiandmikej, Providing the best hotel experience begins with excellent service. It has always been our pleasure to assist our guests in whatever way we can. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to leave us feedback. I am sorry that we were not able to meet your expectations with our breakfast and bar service.I will make sure to let the hotel management know about your concerns about the necessary improvements needed. I hope we get the chance to serve you again and create a better experience for you in the future. Warm thoughts, Deborah R. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Mack2424 wrote a review Sep 2020
Huntington, West Virginia238 contributions116 helpful votes
We arrived for a convention and was disappointed. Our room was supposed to be smoke free and it smelled like smoke . The food was very disappointing they had served us at the convention. The staff was very nice
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from IHG Service, Owner at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel
Responded 12 Oct 2020
Hi Mack2424, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your most recent stay. We always strive to provide excellent service to all. We're sorry that your recent experience with us wasn't perfect because of the scent of smoke in the room, and the letdowns with the food served. Despite this, I'm still happy that you're delighted with our friendly staff. I have sent you a private message to get more details so I can share this with the local team and help you further. We're looking forward to your response. Regards, Virgil N. Case Manager IHGService
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
holiday inn university plaza - bowling green hotel bowling green, holiday inn bowling green, bowling green holiday inn
LOCATION
United StatesKentuckyBowling Green
NUMBER OF ROOMS
218
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel
What are some of the property amenities at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant during their stay.
Is parking available at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Rafferty's Restaurant & Bar, Double Dogs Chow House, and Montana Grille.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel have airport transportation?
Yes, Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, Turkish, and Bosnian.
Are there any historical sites close to Holiday Inn University Plaza-Bowling Green, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Riverview at Hobson Grove (4.9 km), Old Richardsville Road Bridge (5.9 km), and Eloise B. Houchens Center (3.3 km).