We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

87 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
See the most recent reviews
Showing 86: English reviews
Ventura, California
Reviewed 1 May 2016

This is clearly the worst hotel I have stayed at in my life. Non-smoking room and hallways were very 'smelly' of smoke. Once a week housekeeping unless you want to pay extra. Selection of old apples / oranges, granola bars, stale muffins, is what they call breakfast. If you need more towels go to the front desk. With regard to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank George93001
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. In response to your feedback, I will make sure we are clearly communicating our amenities during guest arrivals as well as reviewing our room inspection procedures. I will also review...

Fort Dodge, Iowa
Reviewed 25 April 2016

I had to obtain a last-minute room due to a family medical situation. The room was just what I needed after a stressful day. It was clean, the bathroom was nice, and the bed was so comfy! The free Wi-Fi was great, and there was a good selection of TV channels. I did not use the kitchen facilities, but that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PamySu
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It’s great to hear you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms. I’m thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience! The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting your review. We look forward to welcoming...

Bloomington, Illinois
Reviewed 30 March 2016

I chose to stay at an Extended Stay America hotel when I recently traveled to Des Moines, IA for a job interview in case it went well (it did!) and my family would be relocating to IA from Illinois. I would be in need of temporary furnished housing until our house in Illinois sells. I will NOT be staying here....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Libby S
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. Please accept our apologies that your stay was not to our company’s high standards. In response to your feedback, I will make sure we are reviewing our room inspection procedures and making sure that everything in our rooms is functioning properly. I will also...

Reviewed 7 March 2016

Stayed 2 nights, with my 16 year old daughter & husband. Great bathroom, kitchen, bed area & sofa bed area. With sofa bed open - there was plenty of room to move around everywhere. Very clean. All items in good shape.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelerfromthenorth
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. It’s great to read that we were able to accommodate your needs with our spacious and comfortable rooms. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the future.

Illinois
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Room number 1 smelled like curry masked by strong deodorizer. Smell so overwhelming it remained on clothing and hair. Requested and received room change. Room #2, no curry smell, but on 2nd day reeked of mold/mildew. Shower water pressure poor and water was cold. Very uncomfortable beds with pillows that were flat and old. No hairdryer in room, had to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyBug929
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The room conditions you described are unacceptable, and I sincerely apologize for your experience. To uphold our company’s high standards, I will be reviewing our cleaning and room inspection procedures with our staff as well as making sure we are better monitoring the noise levels...

Reviewed 5 February 2016 via mobile

Stayed here two nights and chose due to location but won't stay again. It was serviceable and probably better long term, but for short term not. Little to no amenities; clean but basic at best. Rooms were small and of mixed quality. Grab and go breakfast basic at best.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alice D
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that we were unable to exceed your expectations. To uphold our company’s high standards, we will continue to strive to provide each guest with a comfortable room and professional customer service. Our team is committed to satisfying our guests, so we are very...

Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Reviewed 1 October 2015

Room was very nice. Good size flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, free grab and go breakfast, pool, work out room and laundry room. Staff was friendly and would smile and greet you every time you walked in the door. The parking lot was basically full but minimal noise in the rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnnymack5150
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. I am thrilled that we were able to accommodate your needs with a home away from home experience! I truly appreciate your comments regarding our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you...

Milwaukee
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

Arguably the worst hotel I've ever stayed at. Just don't understand other reviews that say different. We were on the 3rd floor and it must have previously been a smoking floor. Smelled like an ash tray with bad that they tried to cover up with some sort of cleaner. Spend another $30 and stay anywhere else, you'll be glad you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DJS_MKE
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are sorry to hear we didn't meet your expectations. The odor issues you mentioned are unacceptable and we will be taking the necessary steps to ensure this is properly addressed. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to seeing you in the future, should...

Xenia, Ohio
Reviewed 12 July 2015

Stayed here one night while passing through on a family trip. Four people in 2 double beds was a bit cozy but the room was clean and quiet, until everybody staying in the hotel started waking up around 5am. No big deal, I think I was the only one who woke up. We stayed in part because it offered free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sojournwithme
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our clean and quiet rooms. We are sorry you were disappointed in our breakfast offering and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you and your family. We appreciate your feedback as we use this to continuously improve the...

Temecula, California
Reviewed 3 July 2015

We stayed here on business during a trip to West Des Moines. The rooms were clean and comfortable. There is a full kitchen and upon request you are provided with cooking pans , dishes and utensils. The stair way was dirty and smelly . The only reason we know this is because we had to use the stair way due...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Debbie T
Manager_11525, Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines, responded to this review

Hi Debbie, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed our clean rooms and friendly staff. I am so sorry the elevator was out of service during your visit. While I tried to get it repaired quickly, I do realize the inconvenience it caused. I will also be monitoring the stairwell...

41 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these West Des Moines hotels
1.0 km away
Valley West Inn
Valley West Inn
#20 of 22 in West Des Moines
123 reviews
6.2 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton West Des Moines / SW Mall Area
Homewood Suites by Hilton West D...
#1 of 22 in West Des Moines
177 reviews
2.6 km away
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
Sheraton West Des Moines Hotel
#15 of 22 in West Des Moines
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Staybridge Suites West Des Moines
Staybridge Suites West Des Moine...
#11 of 22 in West Des Moines
145 reviews
5.3 km away
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
Hampton Inn Des Moines-West
#4 of 22 in West Des Moines
536 reviews
6.0 km away
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
Candlewood Suites - Des Moines
#16 of 22 in West Des Moines
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pool will be temporarily closed this summer for repairs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines

Address: 2701 Westown Parkway, West Des Moines, IA 50266 (Formerly Studio Plus Deluxe Studios)
Region: United States > Iowa > West Des Moines
Price Range: €67 - €101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Extended Stay so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studio Plus Des Moines
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms appear to be excellent”
 of 5 bubbles U8068XTdavidr, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I had a room on the back of the building and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rmusat, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Select a different hotel”
 of 5 bubbles George93001, 1 May 2016 | Read review
“I had a room on the third floor, and it was very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles PamySu, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles LadyBug929, 22 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5