We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

77 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale
See the most recent reviews
Showing 77: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 20 April 2016 via mobile

Staff were very friendly, nice room and kitchen, Wi-Fi was ok, when we first got in the room the phone wasn't working and the sink was leaking but that got taken care of quickly, the maintenance guy came the next morning to fix the sink and they brought a new phone. I thought it was over priced and the location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Roxie_Tyler
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. Please accept our apologies that we were unable to exceed your expectations. I will be sure to work with our staff to ensure we are thoroughly inspecting rooms prior to guest arrivals. Still, I am glad to read that we were able to quickly...

Reviewed 20 March 2016 via mobile

Not a fan. No dishes or silverware in the room. Uncomfortable beds. Location is not near any attractions. Pre packed muffins does not constitute as a breakfast. No drink choices for kids. Hot tea and coffee only. Not a good setup with bathroom door opening into kitchen.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chad N
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. Please know that we are sincerely sorry that we failed to meet your expectations. While we no longer keep dishes in guest rooms, these items are available upon request at the front desk. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have shared your comments...

Moline, Illinois
Reviewed 31 December 2015

no smoking rooms staf not doing nothing but worry about getting u in rooms r dirty they don't care about clean ness at all no tp in my room because they ran out under budget motel wouldn't let no body go there for any mount of money paid to me

 Report
Helpful?
Thank steven4613
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. The situation you described regarding the service and cleanliness during your stay is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will be coaching and retraining our staff to make sure your experience is not repeated. Thank you very...

Saint Joseph, Minnesota
Reviewed 8 October 2015

When I first moved to Des Moines, Extended Stay America in Urbandale was my home away from home. I stayed there for two months as I settled into a new job and searched for a new place to live. It was a good choice as I found the staff extremely friendly, supportive and inviting. I worked with the front desk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charles c
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I am so pleased to read that we were able to accommodate your needs with excellent customer service as well as a comfortable room. I truly appreciate your comments about our grab-and-go breakfast and fully equipped kitchens. The staff and I would like to thank you again for posting...

Ligonier
Reviewed 1 September 2015

We work over the road and REALLY appreciate it when we can get a place where we can cook a meal ourselves and have some place that has more of a "Apartment" feel to it. This chain really fits the bill and this particular property was one of the best that we have stayed at. This review is being done...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank horizontransport
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting a review of our property. I’m so pleased to read that you had a great stay at our hotel! I truly appreciate your kind comments regarding our convenient location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms. Once more, thank you for posting your review. We look forward to having you visit with us again in the...

Shenandoah, Iowa
Reviewed 27 August 2015

We booked our stay through Priceline as an Express Deal - so we didn't get to choose the hotel. After booking and then reading reviews, I was very leery of staying here. We booked non-smoking rooms and got non-smoking rooms. The rooms were clean. There were no dishes in the room, not even glasses. I would think they could replace...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John O
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am pleased to read your remarks about the cleanliness of our room; however, I apologize that our amenities were not to your expectations. In response to your feedback, I am reviewing your comments with our housekeeping and maintenance staff to ensure that all equipment...

Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 30 June 2015

We stayed there to take a break from the long journey. It is an OK place if you are used to extended stay. There is a kitchenette which we found it to be useful because the location is not great to go out and eat. A light breakfast is served.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Espi52
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read that you were pleased with the full size kitchenette in your room. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 30 May 2015

Stayed here while in town for one night for business. We had to wait for over a half hour for someone to get to the front desk to check us in and at night there is no one and I mean no one at the hotel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wpierce3
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

Your review for our hotel was recently brought to my attention. The situation you described regarding the long wait to check-in is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have talked to our overnight staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thanks to your feedback, we can...

Waukesha, Wisconsin
Reviewed 29 May 2015

Terrible place to stay. No room service. I had to take my dirty towels to the front desk to get fresh towels. There were spider webs in the corners of the room and ants in the room. The one chair in the room had a broken arm. The place advertises a kitchen, however, if you want any pots, pans, coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joecool11
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am so disappointed to hear about the cleanliness issues you experienced. Please accept my apology. Your comments were reviewed by the staff, and we will make sure your experience is not repeated by making sure we inspect all rooms thoroughly before guest arrivals....

Minnesota
Reviewed 23 May 2015 via mobile

First time booking this hotel. Went through Hotwire which was my first mistake. The front desk staff were apathetic and the lobby carried a faint unrecognizable stench. In a classic bait and switch, we were placed in a smoking room after requesting a non-smoking. The room was filthy and the floor of the kitchenette was covered in water leaking from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RamblinTrav
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale, responded to this review

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. Please accept our most sincere apologies that your stay did not meet our company’s high standards. In response to your feedback, we will do our best to honor all room type requests, unfortunately until we complete our remodel this fall we will still have a...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Urbandale
3.6 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Urbandale/Des Moines
1.9 km away
Hotel Renovo
Hotel Renovo
#2 of 11 in Urbandale
124 reviews
4.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Des Moines/Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
Super 8 Clive/W Des Moines
#12 of 49 in Des Moines
554 reviews
4.9 km away
Extended Stay America - Des Moines - West Des Moines
Extended Stay America - Des Moin...
#18 of 22 in West Des Moines
88 reviews
3.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Urbandale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale

Address: 3940 114th Street, Urbandale, IA 50322
Region: United States > Iowa > Urbandale
Price Range: €71 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Extended Stay so you can book your Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extended Stay Urbandale
Urbandale Extended Stay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Des Moines - Urbandale staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“226 was ours and very good.”
 of 5 bubbles frickster519, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I'm on first floor in front and it is plenty quiet for me.”
 of 5 bubbles GrannyEllen, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I am on the first floor facing parking and across hall from laundry. Amazingly quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles GrannyEllen, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a blow dryer when you check in. The rooms do not have them”
 of 5 bubbles OmahaFamily, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“none of them no good looks but a high way”
 of 5 bubbles steven4613, 30 Dec 2015 | Read review
5 of 5