We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

AmericInn Spencer

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
AmericInn Spencer
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of two fairly new hotels in Spencer. The rooms were clean and well apportioned. The breakfast included waffles and egg sandwiches to be made with precooked items, basically what you would find in any other similar facility. Cookies and fruit are available in the lobby upon arrival.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gpotvin
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your business and hope that your comments may help another guest who is contemplating a lodging decision. I mean who doesn't like clean rooms and cookies!

Dubuque, Iowa
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Dirty room. Smelled like wet dog at a swamp. Had fecal matter splattered in the toilet bowl all three nights. The hot tub did not work all three nights. On previous trips the hot tub was so hot you couldn't even sit in it, felt good after long day bird hunting. We stayed at this hotel on 3 separate occasions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank burns4503
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear about your experience. I must admit you make it sound awful. I would have appreciated finding out about these issues while you were staying here so that we could have rectified the situation rather than finding out on TripAdvisor. I would suggest in the future if you ever check in to a hotel room...

Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewed 15 October 2016

We found our room to be clean and spacious! We had a king bed, couch, coffee table, hot tub, free internet, TV, large bathroom with shower and tub and free hot breakfast the next morning. The staff at check-in was friendly and knowledgeable. We were exceptionally pleased with our stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank X3239GWlindas
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our property. I am happy to hear that you were EXCEPTIONALLY pleased with your stay. We hope to be your lodging destination whenever you are in the area.

Reviewed 12 September 2016 via mobile

Very impressed with the overall appearance and cleanliness of the hotel and rooms. The staff was very attentive to our needs and happy to help out. The free breakfast was well stocked and good. The pool and hot tub were clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cookandpamper
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking your time to review our hotel. I am pleased to read that everything during your stay was up to par. We hope to see you for the 100th Anniversary of the Clay County Fair in 2017. Thanks for choosing Americinn!!!

Reviewed 2 September 2016 via mobile

Room was nice very clean .staff was great . Breakfast was good lots of choices. Kids enjoyed the pool. Close to anything you need in Spencer and a short drive to the lakes and Arnolds Park. Good price! I'd stay there again and would recommend for families.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michelle A
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Michelle, Thank you so much for your excellent review of our property. Good breakfast, great staff, very clean, good price, close to anything, what more could you ask for?? I truly do appreciate your business and look forward to your next visit to Spencer. It can be difficult making the right decision when it comes to lodging but clearly you...

Wasilla, Alaska
Reviewed 22 August 2016

In town visiting family. Stayed one night. Including our cat as we are doing a crosscountry move. Staff went super out of way to make us feel welcome and accomodate our needs. Especially GM Jeff for his desk demeanor and style. Staff housekeeping very complete and conscientious. Well done.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank james s
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

James, I hope you folks and the cat are enjoying your new home. I really enjoyed meeting you and hearing about your traveling adventures. I tell our staff to treat our guests like they're guests in our own homes so I am happy to hear you felt welcomed. Good luck to all of you and thank you so very much...

Sioux Center
Reviewed 16 August 2016 via mobile

Room was very clean and roomy. Wall between bathroom and bedroom was confining if someone was at sink and someone needed bathroom. The breakfast was outstanding! Great waffles, eggs yogurt, cereal, toast, bakery items, and biscuits and gravy. Bed was firm, but not hard. We slept well and very little traffic noise in the area. It was a great place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Alex, Thank you for your input. I agree completely that we are a great place to stay whenever traveling to Okoboji. I am happy to hear that after a few adjustments over the past year on our breakfast that guests like yourself now find it outstanding. We know you could have choosen to stay anywhere so thank you for choosing...

Omaha
Reviewed 16 August 2016

the room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. had a cinnamon roll at breakfast and it was delicious. we did not use the pool but it looked very nice. rooms were quiet. we would recommend this hotel to our friends.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank barbarawK2347VR
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

Barbara, I know if my friends recommend a hotel to me I listen. I am glad you enjoyed your clean, quiet, comfortable room. Your title on your review says it all! Thank you and please come again.

Durant, Oklahoma
Reviewed 12 August 2016

My job brings me to Spencer, Iowa once every week, We feel lucky to have found this hotel, as some of the other hotels we stay at along our route aren't this impressive. We were happy to have found such a nice hotel for the price. The staff do their best to accommodate guests, and are super friendly. The lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ibeNuggetfan
Indianola, Iowa
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

Overall the hotel was a good place to stay. The room was nice, the staff was friendly, the pool was nice and clean, and the breakfast was decent. However you do not want to get room 203 due to it's location. It is located above the hotels laundry room and you can hear the staff working on the laundry the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jlclone
Jeff G, General Manager at AmericInn Spencer, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear that you had a good stay. In the future please let our staff know if there is an issue with noise and we will be more than happy to quiet down any noise that is bothering you. If our staff or other guests ever prevent you from a good nights sleep during your stay...

24 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spencer
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Spencer
1.3 km away
Days Inn Hotel Spencer IA
1.4 km away
South T Motel
South T Motel
#5 of 6 in Spencer
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#6 of 6 in Spencer
12 reviews
25.1 km away
Boulders Inn & Suites
Boulders Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Milford
53 reviews
1.0 km away
Super 8 Spencer
Super 8 Spencer
#4 of 6 in Spencer
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the AmericInn Spencer, Iowa the ideal location for a getaway to the Iowa Great Lakes area. We're perfect for business, leisure and family travelers in Spencer, the hub of Northwest Iowa. You can count on AmericInn to be your best lodging choice, with unmatched service and remarkable amenities like our free, hot, home-style AmericInn Perk breakfast and free, hotel-wide, high-speed Internet. Guests also enjoy our inviting, indoor pool and hot tub and comfortable, quieter rooms. Our hotel also offers a multi-functional meeting/hospitality room that is great for business stays. The AmericInn Spencer hotel is conveniently located in Spencer, home to the World's Largest County Fair, The Clay County Fair, a nine day fair starting on the first Saturday after Labor Day in September. The AmericInn Spencer is near tennis courts, golf courses, Arts on Grand, Southpark 7 Theatre, over 200 retail stores, Riverview Waterpark, canoe access on the Little Sioux River and miles of bike and hike trails on the Spencer Recreational Trail System. ... more   less 

Additional Information about AmericInn Spencer

Address: 1005 13th St SW, Spencer, IA 51301-5524
Region: United States > Iowa > Spencer
Price Range: €88 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — AmericInn Spencer 2.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your AmericInn Spencer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from AmericInn Spencer staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I like the ground floor rooms; although the stairs do provide exercise”
 of 5 bubbles ibeNuggetfan, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“get a room on the first floor if you have a lot or heavy luggage. (no elevator)”
 of 5 bubbles cmoen1, 15 Oct 2015 | Read review
“ask for a room that doesn't overlook the farm equipment storage lot..”
 of 5 bubbles Heartlandchaz, 19 May 2015 | Read review
“Get a room far from the lobby if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles White_Kong, 20 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Top floor room reduces noise from other rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 879gc, 28 May 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay