We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

177 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 177: English reviews
Omro, Wisconsin
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Checked into room and there no refrigerator/microwave in room which was suppose to be standard as this was a suite. Called front desk twice before getting the item delivered, took them 45 minutes, and the frig/micro was in the storage room right next to my room. Second night the phone rang at 2:20am. I did not answer. At 2:30am somebody...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gokartracer
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Northwest Indiana
Reviewed 10 December 2016

We stayed one night while in Iowa City for a college visit. Right off the expressway and about 10-15 minute to campus, it was convenient. Definitely an older hotel but it was pretty clean. Bathroom really in need of upgrade. Furnishings and bed were comfortable, free wifi and standard free breakfast, and lower rate made it decent for a stay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cubfans
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Jeffery Hickman...

Reviewed 3 December 2016 via mobile

Very tired property Second floor reeked of cigarette smoke. Could not open windows in the room. This place should close down and get torn down. Probably was first rate 50 years ago. Now just milking the fact that it is in a college town and sometimes it is the only place still with rooms available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte C
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

This was a nice place back in 1990 but it's very clear not a dime has been put back into it since then . It was dirty, everything was falling apart. The decor was awful dusty, rusty, or falling apart. The hallway smelled like smoke and curry. The pool was really big the hot tub was out of order, but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ed S
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Older place. Staff not real helpful. Don't get a room overlooking the pool. Most places close the pool area at 10. Here it's 11 but the noise continues as people are partying around it. When you call the desk the staff tells you it closes at 12, then does nothing about the noise. Second night same problem.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hockeypop55
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

Highway robbery. That's the best I can describe it. The hotel is old, beds worse than cardboard, blanket with holes. I wouldn't go back for $125 a night but these rooms were $229 a night. A better sleep in your car.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank puglover789
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Reviewed 27 October 2016

This room is WAY to expensive for what it is. For 170 dollars a night I received wet towels, a broken door, flickering lights, a mattress spring shoved into my back, and poor service. Even if the service had been great, this place is a depressing dump. The decor is so outdated and dark. My room was not cleaned the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anna S
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Ames, Iowa
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Room was small and not very clean. The pool room was disappointing to say the least. No free breakfast and staff didn't seem to care about anything, Not going back, found a different hotel down the road, AmericInn, much, much better.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lizsue1993
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Dubois, Wyoming
Reviewed 10 September 2016

This was a disappointing overnight - the hotel smelled funky, the room was very dark and outdated. Our room had a sliding door to the courtyard, the door wouldn't open and the courtyard grass was overgrown and it all seemed abandoned. The cost seemed more expensive than what I'd expect (plus additional $20 pet fee), although we did have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Megan B
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Warrenton, Virginia
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Traveling through Iowa on my way to Wyoming from Va. Found Clarion on TA and decided it looked good for the night. No issue making the res, check in quick and desk personnel courteous and informative. Exterior in need of some landscape Maint. I get it that corn is big time in Iowa, but I don't think a little Round...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jm4590
Jeffrey H, General Manager at Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

75 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iowa City
5.7 km away
Hampton Inn Iowa City/University Area
4.6 km away
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
Sheraton Iowa City Hotel
#2 of 6 in Iowa City
414 reviews
5.7 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Coralville - Iowa River Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
6.2 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Iowa City / Coralville
6.0 km away
Quality Inn Coralville
Quality Inn Coralville
#10 of 18 in Coralville
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Conveniently located off Interstate 80, the Clarion Hotel® Highlander Conference Center hotel is less than four miles from the University of Iowa. Local points of interest like the Carver-Hawkeye Arena multipurpose venue, the North Dodge Athletic Club and Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark are all just minutes away from this Iowa City, IA hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 2525 North Dodge Street, Iowa City, IA 52245 (Formerly Quality Inn Highlander Conference)
Region: United States > Iowa > Iowa City
Price Range: €71 - €104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Highlander Hotel Iowa City
Quality Inn Iowa City
Iowa City Quality Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Illinois
over a year ago
Chicago, Illinois
4 months ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Highlander Hotel and Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you HAVE to stay here bring your own towels and mattress.”
 of 5 bubbles annasO5315FS, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a room that is far away from the lobby. If they have a wedding, it can get pretty noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles jeanbA4015XA, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“If you do not wish to climb stairs, ask for a room on the first floor, as there does not seem to be an elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles C0ldinChicag0, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lower floors are closer to vending area”
 of 5 bubbles I7661VIjulief, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The entire second floor is for smokers and smells like it.”
 of 5 bubbles 965brendas, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay