We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

256 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 251: English reviews
Denver, Colorado
Reviewed 21 July 2015

I have stayed at this location many times over the years and although it is a old facility it is always clean, comfortable and consistent. They have gone through renovations in recent years to improve the inside décor and it works. The bar has limited hours through the afternoons which is the only downside but other than that it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 07BigBlue
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear 07BigBlue, First of all, thank you for your continued patronage throughout the years. It is wonderful to hear that you find our property to be clean and comfortable as we take great pride in that. I have shared your thoughts regarding lounge hours with management for consideration. Thank you for the review. We look forward to your next visit.

Dublin, Ohio
Reviewed 16 July 2015

Everyone was so friendly and helpful. The shuttle driver picked me up from the airport, then went inside after to help me get a upgrade! I think her name was Tiffany and I really appreciate her going out of her way to do that.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elyse M
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kari M, I am so pleased that you found your stay with us to be a five star stay. It is so nice to hear that you were pleased with our shuttle service and that Tiffany offered five star service as well. Please think of us again if you return to Des Moines. Thank you for your review.

Reviewed 16 July 2015 via mobile

We found the hotel lobby is very nice for meeting friends and talking. The room we had was on the 9th floor which was very clean with a comfortable bed and chair. The view of the city was beautiful except for the noise from the highway. We were surprised how noisy it was in this day and age of window...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlene W
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Charlene W, Thank you for your kind and thorough review. It is wonderful to know that you were pleased with the lobby area, your guest room and the view. I'm do apologize that you found noise to be an issue. I do want you to know that issue is being addressed with our guest room renovations. I hope we...

Burlington, Iowa
Reviewed 29 June 2015

We stayed here 2 nights because it was within walking distance of the Event Center. The room we were in was worn and very noisy. Located over the Interstate was bad enough, but it was also above a stop sign on the local street. Cars and motorcycles revved engines there until early morning. Our room was also directly across from...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kathilinn
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear kathilinn, Thank you for your thorough review of your stay. I want to let you know that we are currently renovating each and every room in our hotel. A part of those renovations will be taking measures to reduce any noise issues. I'm sorry you felt we were difficult to find, we take pride in being in a convenient...

Avoca, Iowa
Reviewed 25 June 2015

It appears they have started some updates but our room looked nice but was not up to the standard of most of the hotels we stay in. We stayed May 2015 and it was overcast and rainy outside but our room was warm and humid. No matter what we set the thermostat on ...it could not keep up. I can't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kim G
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear Kim G, I want to thank you for taking the time out of a busy day to bring issues you experienced while at our hotel to our attention. I have shared your input with the management team for review. I hope you allow us an opportunity to offer you a problem free stay in the future. Thank you again...

Iowa
Reviewed 17 June 2015

This hotel is located very close to the Iowa Events Center, and the free shuttle service makes it easy to get to quickly. The staff were friendly and helpful. We ordered room service and the meal was excellent. I had requested a renovated room and upon arrival was told that only 8th floor was remodeled and it was full. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank bojirptr
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear bojirptr, First of all, I am so pleased that you found our staff, shuttle service, and room service to meet your expectations. However, I am very upset that you were not pleased with your room. In regards to your room service tray- that is unacceptable, and we are addressing it with our staff. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 15 June 2015

Staff at the Holiday Inn in downtown Des Moines is among the nicest, most helpful team I've encountered. The building itself is old, but the lobby has been beautifully remodeled and the rooms are fine, especially for a quick business trip. Stayed here for a gathering at the convention center which is nearby, but too far to walk. I never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JeanineAZ2014
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear JeanineAZ2014, Thank you for taking the time out of a busy day to offer a thorough review of your stay with us. I love being able to relay to the team a job well done. It is so nice to hear that you would stay with us again if you return to Des Moines, and I sincerely hope we...

Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Reviewed 9 June 2015

This was a great location for downtown Des Moines! Great, friendly service at the front desk, standard size, comfortable rooms with a great view. Easy to find parking, and although I wasn't able to take advantage of the restaurant or bar they both looked nice. This hotel is a very quick drive to the center of downtown Des Moines and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hotelstaff1234
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear hotelstaff1234, Thank you so much for your kind and thorough five star review. It is always nice to hear when we have met a guest's expectations and know they had the kind of stay they deserve. Please come and see us again if you return to Des Moines. We would love the privilege of accommodating you again.

Midwest
Reviewed 29 May 2015

This hotel maybe is technically downtown, but its a ways from any other downtown hotel. About a 20 minute walk to get to the actual downtown area with restaurants. Nothing close by to the hotel - no gas station, no restaurant (besides hotel restaurant). The room was what you'd expect from a Holiday Inn. Maybe a bit more dated. Nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kearnsisawesome
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear kearnisawesome, I want to thank you for offering a review of your stay at our hotel. There is a gas station less than one block from our property and I am sorry that was not communicated with you properly and for any inconvenience that caused you. I would like to let you know that our guest rooms are currently...

Reviewed 26 May 2015 via mobile

When we arrived for a large sport competition, we were assigned a room that was awful. I took pictures of how bad it was. I was very disappointed with the hotel. HOWEVER, the front desk moved us and from then on, the stay was wonderful. Everyone was so kind, from the drivers to the coaching staff to the restaurant staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karaybon
GretchenT81, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown, responded to this review

Dear karaybon, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am very sorry to hear that your first impression was not the kind that we strive to offer every guest every time. However, I am very pleased to know that we were able to address the situation in a way that met your expectations...

266 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (225)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (20)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (108)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Des Moines hotels
1.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Des Moines Downtown
0.5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Event Center
1.0 km away
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
Des Moines Marriott Downtown
#10 of 49 in Des Moines
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Des Moines Downtown
1.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
1.5 km away
Residence Inn Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Downtown, Des Moines, Iowa. Our convenient downtown location provides the ideal setting for both business and leisure travel. With convenient access to Wells Fargo Arena, Hy-Vee Hall, Veterans Auditorium, Des Moines Civic Center, Iowa State Fairgrounds, and Mercy Hospital, you can not go wrong when you stay at the Holiday Inn Downtown. Located in the heart of Des Moines, we are minutes away from an assortment of entertainment options. Indulge and have a ball at Prairie Meadows Race Track and Casino, Adventureland Park, Blank Park Zoo or the Science Center. Also, exceptional dining and nightlife are just blocks away at the Court Avenue Entertainment District and the trendy Historic East Village. Downtown Des Moines is alive with special events every weekend, and our area shuttle makes navigating downtown a breeze! Relax, it's Holiday Inn. We offer free parking and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, an indoor pool, and a complimentary downtown/airport shuttle. If you love classic American cuisine set in a casual but elegant dining atmosphere, then Genevieve's Restaurant and Cityscape Lounge are the place to go. Whether your visit brings you to Des Moines for business or pleasure, allow the Holiday Inn Downtown to be your hotel of choice! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown

Address: 1050 6th Ave., Des Moines, IA 50314
Region: United States > Iowa > Des Moines
Price Range: €118 - €184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown Hotel Des Moines
Des Moines Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Des Moines Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a room not on the interstate side.”
 of 5 bubbles Julie2257, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles sasheriff, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no tip all are nice”
 of 5 bubbles 404josephn, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would ask for a room on opposite side as hospital. (But not sure if side of interstate is way to go either)”
 of 5 bubbles LBJ2014, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Do not get a room on the highway side”
 of 5 bubbles 106lynneb, 10 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay